We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely countryside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely countryside Hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This Hotel is beautifully decorated in all the various lounges and dining rooms The staff are polite and helpful - Stayed in ground floor rooms 206 and 208 which were both of good size, being able to easily fit baby cot (supplied) in one . The beds huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms spotlessly clean . French doors opened up to the garden area and would be lovely to sit out in in warm weather - Only down side rooms were very hot over night, even though we turned the heating off, actually opened the french doors at one time during night to let some cool air in - madness in UK in Feb !! perhaps a fan might have helped ??
The carvery (as I have favourably reviewed in the past )is good value and has a relaxing atmosphere and breakfast served also served in this area is plentiful and the choices excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Hotel - check out the deals on prices -for best value - this Hotel as only 5 minute drive form Durham City centre - not only for golfers - will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    542
    188
    83
    64
See reviews for
352
905
38
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Having stayed at Lumley Castle, we were expecting a pleasant evening with good food. Our expectations were far exceeded.
Thoroughly recommend at any level, stay over or just go for the restaurant. Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Chris_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as i was attending an awards dinner. My room was large, clean and had the best bed I have ever slept in. The shower was powerful and the staff friendly and efficient. Location is minutes from the A1. My only regret was not bringing my golf clubs as the course looks great.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Muna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have stayed at the Ramside Hall twice in the last month on business. The whole place has a spacious feel, extending to the bedrooms. On both stays I have had a superior room booked on a deal through Booking.Com. Huge room, LCD telly, good free wi-fi and big comfortable bed. I have dined in the carvery on both occasions purely for time and laziness purposes. Again plenty of room, average food (not a carvery fan anyway), but good bar (with a couple of real ales) and decent staff. I will stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted that you have chosen to return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Took up the winter offer of £99 per room which includes a £50 credit for the Rib Room. Fantastic value for money. The rooms are good, very spacious and clean, bed was fine but why do hotels insist on making a double bed with two singles- so you end up with that awful ridge in the middle.. As usual the staff at the Ramside were courteous and professional, only one complaint, the maids were very noisy going about their EARLY morning cleaning, woke us up. So with the dodgy bed and the noise I didn't really come home feeling rested. Food in the Rib Room was fantastic, best steak we've had for a while, you won't be disappointed. I agree with Gareth24, there isn't really much to do if you don't like golf, some other leisure activities would make this a much better stay, but for £99 its worth a one night visit at this normally depressing time of year

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

Your comments are appreciated and I am delighted to read that on the whole you were very pleased with your stay and expectations were met.

The future development of our hotel will include Health Club and Spa facilities and we hope you will consider a return visit to us when these are open, if not before.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed just one night the year befor last, but had a week in an exec room earleir this month, stayed for Company training days. Not only are all the facilities excellent, staff keen & enthusiastic and very professional - the food was a treat on a daily basis.
I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone no matter what the occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed at the Farmhouse for 60th birthday treat. Fantastic self catering accommodation for 10 + 2 right in the middle of the golf course. Meals in hotel were excellent. We also booked a few rooms in the hotel itself and they were above expectation. Staff brilliant.

Room Tip: Farmhouse great for family get together
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your birthday celebrations at Ramside Hall Hotel.

The Farmhouse is the perfect venue for an exclusive family gathering and we are delighted how pleased you were with this facility and those in the hotel itself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing