We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband after a friends recommendation had a fantastic time at ramside, food superb and staff could not do enough for us! Perfect location for a romantic night away!! We will be back! Thank you so much!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    558
    194
    84
    66
See reviews for
363
931
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, , United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently visited Ramside Hall in Durham, It was a tribute act night with a hot buffet meal. The staff were very freindly, the food was piping hot and delicious and the entertainment second to none. Will be definately going again soon x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just returned from an overnight valentine treat at ramside hall. We stayed in a 4 poster deluxe room which was superb(room331) Refurbished bathroom is amazing.great meal at the carvery and breakfast also first class with plenty of choice.staff all very polite and efficient.highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishndave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This Hotel is beautifully decorated in all the various lounges and dining rooms The staff are polite and helpful - Stayed in ground floor rooms 206 and 208 which were both of good size, being able to easily fit baby cot (supplied) in one . The beds huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms spotlessly clean . French doors opened up to the garden area and would be lovely to sit out in in warm weather - Only down side rooms were very hot over night, even though we turned the heating off, actually opened the french doors at one time during night to let some cool air in - madness in UK in Feb !! perhaps a fan might have helped ??
The carvery (as I have favourably reviewed in the past )is good value and has a relaxing atmosphere and breakfast served also served in this area is plentiful and the choices excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Hotel - check out the deals on prices -for best value - this Hotel as only 5 minute drive form Durham City centre - not only for golfers - will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Having stayed at Lumley Castle, we were expecting a pleasant evening with good food. Our expectations were far exceeded.
Thoroughly recommend at any level, stay over or just go for the restaurant. Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Chris_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as i was attending an awards dinner. My room was large, clean and had the best bed I have ever slept in. The shower was powerful and the staff friendly and efficient. Location is minutes from the A1. My only regret was not bringing my golf clubs as the course looks great.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Muna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have stayed at the Ramside Hall twice in the last month on business. The whole place has a spacious feel, extending to the bedrooms. On both stays I have had a superior room booked on a deal through Booking.Com. Huge room, LCD telly, good free wi-fi and big comfortable bed. I have dined in the carvery on both occasions purely for time and laziness purposes. Again plenty of room, average food (not a carvery fan anyway), but good bar (with a couple of real ales) and decent staff. I will stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted that you have chosen to return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,359 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,482 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing