We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed here on a special deal booked by our children for a Christmas present, and what value for money. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had fantastic views of the golf course, and was huge. The meal was exceptional ( it's a steak house, so "when i Rome" ) and although we both have good appetites we just couldn't finish the steak!
Breakfast next morning again was excellent, and the staff could not be more helpful.
Can't wait to stay again.
The only fly in the ointment was no Earl Grey tea bags in the room, and told by reception that evening that unfortunately they had scoured the hotel and they did not have any!!
Funnily enough there were plenty at breakfast next morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor appeared to have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    518
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
326
835
37
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed at the Ramside about 5 times over the past 4 years with my three young children and they always provide a friendly, flexible and warm welcome. I am usually entertaining my children whilst my husband works so staying with in the family rooms makes the whole experience as pain free as possible!! The rooms are always very clean and comfortable and if there is something particular we needed they have always been able to provide it straightaway. i have read some of the more negative reviews (not many, compared with the positive ones..) in answer to some of them I think it is worth saying that the Carvery looked very tired until it was refurbished recently and now looks great (kids loved the phantom piano player!). Anyone expecting high quality dining from a carvery needs to think again, so it's fine for what it is and the portions are more than generous. The rib room is lovely but not cheap. So if anything to be slightly negative about is the type/choice of food. We don't generally stay at weekends but it is fairly clear that as a popular wedding venue it is likely that there will be discos etc going on..so it might be worth asking to be in a room away from the wedding venues if possible.

Room Tip: When we stay, we generally stay in family rooms to the right of reception which although can be hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of nights in the reduced rate room due to being over the function room. As it was during the week we had no issues with noise. Room was very nice, with great bathroom. Only a minor issue but it states rooms have Sky Sports, but our TV had a scrambled content message on these channels.
Reception were very helpful and pleasure to deal with. First night we ate at the Rib Room and this was an amazing meal. Service was great.
We ate at the carvery the next night and unfortunately this was a different experience. We ordered after half eight when there is 2 for £10 but be warned this is only for carvery, not cooked to order food. Any notification or message about this might have been a good idea instead of only being told after ordering. Rump steak was clearly a much cheaper cut than what is used in Rib Room. Drink prices are also extortionate and more akin to a football stadium.
overall, I'd definitely recommend the hotel but either out or at the Rib Room (they have a good offer of 2x steak and house wine).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband after a friends recommendation had a fantastic time at ramside, food superb and staff could not do enough for us! Perfect location for a romantic night away!! We will be back! Thank you so much!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently visited Ramside Hall in Durham, It was a tribute act night with a hot buffet meal. The staff were very freindly, the food was piping hot and delicious and the entertainment second to none. Will be definately going again soon x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just returned from an overnight valentine treat at ramside hall. We stayed in a 4 poster deluxe room which was superb(room331) Refurbished bathroom is amazing.great meal at the carvery and breakfast also first class with plenty of choice.staff all very polite and efficient.highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishndave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This Hotel is beautifully decorated in all the various lounges and dining rooms The staff are polite and helpful - Stayed in ground floor rooms 206 and 208 which were both of good size, being able to easily fit baby cot (supplied) in one . The beds huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms spotlessly clean . French doors opened up to the garden area and would be lovely to sit out in in warm weather - Only down side rooms were very hot over night, even though we turned the heating off, actually opened the french doors at one time during night to let some cool air in - madness in UK in Feb !! perhaps a fan might have helped ??
The carvery (as I have favourably reviewed in the past )is good value and has a relaxing atmosphere and breakfast served also served in this area is plentiful and the choices excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Hotel - check out the deals on prices -for best value - this Hotel as only 5 minute drive form Durham City centre - not only for golfers - will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing