We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great accommodation deal”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Special deal for 1 night £115 inc. breakfast and £25 credit each in the Rib Steak Room restaurant.
Our room was lovely. Meal - Hubby had the soufflé which was very good and I had the half lobster for starters. Unfortunately sent the lobster back as really chewy. Staff were fine about it and took off the bill. The main course we had chateaubriand cooked perfectly with hand cut chips and 2sauces peppercorn & béarnaise, which was fab. We tried the red Shiraz called the very sexy shiraz, south african 2009, was ok, but had nicer for the money. Finished off with a baileys coffee for me and Irish for hubby, very nice. Great evening, the staff very friendly and looked after us. The hotel now has plans to build a new 18 hole golf course and extend the building to include a spa and leisure club which is well overdue. Aimed to complete in 2014, so definitely return for that.

Room Tip: Stayed in different rooms each time both had 4 posters and recently refurbished both very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    535
    184
    84
    64
See reviews for
343
884
38
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Comfortable hotel with large well furnished and equipped rooms. Stayed B and B and breakfast was good served in a pleasant dining room full of character. Best thing about the hotel for me was the staff and their service. Welcoming and helpful, they made my brief stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyS383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

On the whole, this experience wasn't bad. The rooms are spacious, sleep quality is good, service is friendly and efficient. The issue with this hotel is its appearance. It resembles something from the early 90's - all chintz and dark wood - and makes a poor attempt at contemporary decor by, for example, lining up vast amounts of empty bottles of wine in the restaurant. Breakfast choice was good, however, and as the closest, decent hotel to Doxford Park (Sunderland) it's somewhat of a necessity - I just wish it would move into the 21st century!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday, the room we stayed in had recently been refurbished and was fantastic, the building itself is beautiful. We ate in the steak resteraunt where the food and service were excellent. Overall the staff were a credit to the hotel. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Staff are friendly and courteous, room ( presidential suite) was spacious with 3 piece suite, dining table, balcony and great shower .Breakfast is mainly self service but very nicely done.
The only slight downside was when we were on our way to breakfast and saw matresses being burned in the open with toxic smoke billowing up into the atmosphere, not very eco friendly and took the edge off a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landymanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, well equipped rooms. Booked this stay for business but will defiantly return for a weekend break. Main restaurant whilst a little bit over priced is extremely well run. Free internet which is easily accessible enables you to get on with business.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laticstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We had an overnight stay in the Ramside Hotel, Durham. It was Fab! The hotel decor was lovely and our room had a really big and comfortable bed. We ate in the restaurant and had a carvery. The food was very reasonably priced and very good. All staff were very polite and helpful. There were lots of places to relax and chat. The only negative comment would be that our room was a little cold.
I would definatly stay there again, in fact plan to book another mini break mext month. I may even pay for an upgrade next time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing