We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classically Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classically Comfortable”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Found the staff very helpful and friendly ,didn't wait to be asked if you needed help, they always approached you. Room was large with trad furniture and very comfortable bed. An over abundance of pillows made sure comfort was a priority ( most hotels just stick to two with a spare in the wardrobe if your lucky). Room temperature was absolutely right. En suite was very clean with freebie accessories.
Breakfast was buffet style with good food ( all the usuals, Continental, English or ask for something different) with attentive staff even though the dining room was busy.
For the price , in comparison to other establishments, I'd stay here again as first choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techbink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    535
    184
    83
    64
See reviews for
342
884
38
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The best thing about the stay was the staff. They were all extemely helpful, cheerful and polite. The room was of a good size and clean ( apart from a couple of cobwebs on the ceiling). Excellent room facilites. I did struggle to quite the lights to work. There is a system based around a master switch which defeated me.

Food in the Rib room was very good.Excellent home made chicken kiev. I would recommend it. Breakfast was excellent with everything I needed.

Room Tip: Come here for comfort and service. Don't come here if you are looking for a gym and a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year.The room was fine ,spacious,comfortable and well appointed.However it is not a country house hotel whatever may be claimed.It a very nice hotel with an attached golf course but does most of it's trade from weddings and other events in the complex of function rooms next to the hotel.This proved noisy at times It had two restaurants .one a standard carvery/self service place for breakfast and other meals and the other a better al la carte place.However the attempts there ,at Thai and Indian, had been made bland by the Chef which the server with.So nice place to stay for a few nights with good staff and service but be aware of what it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianmcllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sund, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticHotel was fantasticv

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidhopps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay here - spacious, clean room and service was good. Only gripes were the absence of a pool, rather surprising that a 4 star didn't have anything, and the lack of a snack/bar menu for something light.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidStewart73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Ramside in the McIntyre suite. Everything was beautifully executed. Champagne, belgian chocolates and fantastic bunch of red roses presented tastefully on the table for our arrival. The suite was exceptionally clean, facilities to a high standard and staff absolutely wonderful - really went the extra mile to make our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppi-FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Special deal for 1 night £115 inc. breakfast and £25 credit each in the Rib Steak Room restaurant.
Our room was lovely. Meal - Hubby had the soufflé which was very good and I had the half lobster for starters. Unfortunately sent the lobster back as really chewy. Staff were fine about it and took off the bill. The main course we had chateaubriand cooked perfectly with hand cut chips and 2sauces peppercorn & béarnaise, which was fab. We tried the red Shiraz called the very sexy shiraz, south african 2009, was ok, but had nicer for the money. Finished off with a baileys coffee for me and Irish for hubby, very nice. Great evening, the staff very friendly and looked after us. The hotel now has plans to build a new 18 hole golf course and extend the building to include a spa and leisure club which is well overdue. Aimed to complete in 2014, so definitely return for that.

Room Tip: Stayed in different rooms each time both had 4 posters and recently refurbished both very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing