We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a deal whereby we paid in advance (conditions attached), and got 5* luxury at 3* prices. Staff have been excellently trained - calm, friendly and efficient but by no means robotic - and food was delicious and well-presented: we ate in the Rib-Room (and wonder whether under-eights should be discouraged in the evenings, because they sounded the only (loud and) jarring note).
Breakfast food was superb and the ambience perfect.
You can pay more at a Bed & Breakfast in town, but you will not get better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - we had 318 and it lived up to our request, but one of our party in the adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wanderlustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    528
    182
    83
    64
See reviews for
336
862
38
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

A bit pricey even with a Rolls-Royce discount at £88 per night, if you like a drink the get your drinks in the golf club bar they are £1 cheaper per drink.
Rooms superb and can't really fault it apart from price and there are no leisure facilities which is a must at over £100 per night without discount.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Together, with my fellow travellers, we all regularly make use of weekend golfing deals offered by many hotels. I would certainly put Ramside Hall hotel as one of the best venues I have used. The excellent and testing golf course was presented to a very high standard and it was a nice professional touch that a starter was on hand to welcome us on the first tee and confirm the local rules. Very efficient. Registration and checkout at the hotels reception was excellent with no queues. Rooms were large, clean and with extremely comfortable queen size beds. The evening meal as part of our deal was a carvery with a choice of meats and a full range of fresh vegetables, all served very hot.

The hotel is very easily accessible, being only a mile or so off the A1(M).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night for a treat.

We had the afternoon tea which was excellent, however some of items in the menu were not served such as the smoked salmon sandwiches. Plus most of the cake choice had dried fruit which neither if us particularly like. Overall very good.

We stayed in a four poster room which was excellent, very smart. The bathroom was lovey and clean. Cannot fault at all.

We also had a meal in the rib room restaurant. The food here was ok, we had to send my husbands steak back as it was very fatty. The new steak was much better however by the time it came I had eaten my meal so it was slightly disappointing.

Overall we had an excellent stay and plan to go back. Look out for the deals on their website.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pech020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how pleased you were with your overall stay at our hotel and I would thank you for bringing your comments to our attention.

I hope that you will consider choosing our hotel for your next stay in Durham.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

25 years ago we held our wedding reception at the Ramside Hotel and it was a fabulous venue in 1988. Our silver wedding party was held in the summer marquee on Saturday 15th June, for 160 family and friends and once again the Ramside Hotel staff gave outstanding service and a beautiful high quality venue which everyone at the party commented on. I did price around for a party venue in the Durham area, and found the Ramside excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your silver wedding anniversary celebrations.

We are thrilled to read how pleased you were the overall event and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

After being invited to a Charity function held by Andrew and Calvin a decision was made to stay over! Checkin was superb speedy m yet efficient! Nothing was too much off a problem.

Attending the ball for the first time I didn't quite know what I was expecting from the evening as well as food and service from the hotel! This turned out to be exceptional with all mangers being hands on aswell as the General manager serving soup.

Bar staff were all fantastic and the manager overseeing his staff made sure there were enough staff on the bar at all times so that the 400 ppl attending didn't have a ridiculous wait to be served, outstanding service!

Finally staying overnight the bedroom was spotlessly clean beds extremely comfortable, so much so we missed breakfast! The fantastic reception team soon rectified this and sorted out with the restaurant for us to have something.
Overall a fantastic hotel all staff are very courteous and welcoming and will definitely recommend this superb hotel to everyone. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellavlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club in April.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Living locally I often pass the Ramside without giving it a great deal of thought, I've had an excellent meal there with family on occasion over the years 'especially the carvery', but last night really was something special. On receiving the Invite to a friends wedding reception my wife and I realised we had a great opportunity to sample everything the Ramside had to offer, so rather than of one of us sitting out the festivities and be the designated driver, we chose to stay there for the evening. Upon arrival we were met by friendly staff as if we were visiting family, the girls at reception took care of everything and made checking in an enjoyable and stress free experience. The Opulent surroundings and warm welcoming atmosphere really make you feel comfortable, our room was fantastic, clean plush and a super comfy bed. The wedding reception was amazing, the food was unbelieveable and the choice of drinks available was astounding, I spoke with PAUL DICKSON the food and beverage manager who seemed to be overseeing the festivities, has a vast knowledge of his product and the enthusiasm in which he spoke about it really struck a chord with me, and I was very impressed at how willing he was to chat with me about it, being a foody and a connosseur of brandy It was great to talk shop with a professional. We had a thoroughly good night, the reception went without a hitch and the staff really did make our experience special, checking out was a breeze and we were made to feel special yet again. We really do need to make more excuses to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted that you have discovered our venue and to read what a great time you had with us.

I sincerely hope you will consider a return visit to us very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing