We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is our second stay at Ramside Hall and it once again it was perfect with great service, rooms and food in the rib room, again we cant wait to return and look forward to returning to this one of a kind hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your return visit to our hotel and hope you will have the opportunity of staying with us again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    537
    184
    83
    64
See reviews for
344
886
38
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbes, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel was excellent and the staff helpful. Room comfortable. The Grill restaurant was excellent.
Would definitely stay again and bring the golf clubs. The only downside was the very expensive breakfast, which we didnt have - we didnt want a cooked full english and £12.95 was excessive for a continental. Perhaps an alternative smaller breakfast and price would be advantageous. However, we did have complimentary fruit in our room on request so we cant complain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback you have given.

Your comments are important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for two nights for our daughter's graduation. The first in a standard room and the second in the presidential suite (we booked late and could only get the latter for our second night!). Both were nicely furnished and the beds were very comfortable. I had trouble sorting the spray on the shower on the first morning and this was attended to within five minutes by housekeeping. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The public rooms were traditionally and tastefully furnished and felt very welcoming. The breakfasts were good. The hotel is close to a Park-and-ride facility which is useful if you do not want to take a car into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your 2-night stay with us and sincerely hope you would consider choosing our hotel again should you be staying in the Durham area again.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We couldn't have picked a better location for a family wedding.The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.The grounds are stunning and the rooms were immaculate.We had lots of family and friends stay overnight the day before the wedding and we all ate together in the carvery where the staff happily arranged the tables so that we could all sit together.The food was very good and and we were made to feel very welcome.The wedding day was amazing,nothing was too much trouble if a request was made the staff were happy to deal with it and we felt very comfortable in the knowledge that whatever we wanted would be done with ease.Ithink the fact that the Bride and Groom rebooked the Mcintyre Suite for their 1st anniversary says it all.It was a fantastic experience for us all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how pleased you were the standard of guest care and services you experienced during the wedding event.

We sincerely hope you will consider a return visit to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Ramside Hotel on a Sunday evening for pleasure and found it very good. The bed was comfortable with very soft pillows (which I like), and the room was spacious and very clean. The staff were pleasant and even though the hotel seemed quite full there was no noise heard at night. We would definitely stay again.

Ann Forth

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annfoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arranged a mixed business meeting and then celebration dinner for 100 people. The venue proved to be excellent and the professionalism and help from the hotel staff was faultless. Late requests for minor changes in numbers and special diet requirements were received and acted upon without issue.
I stayed overnight in a newly refurbished room - again cannot be faulted.
Finally I enjoyed a proper hotel cooked breakfast with all the choices and all the trimmings.
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from an excellent 3 night stay at the Ramside. The first impression is of spacious grounds and golf course with plenty of parking. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful as my wife worked through her list of questions! All the staff were excellent throughout our stay.

We took our dog and were given a garden room which opened out onto the edge of the golf course, where we could walk without getting in the way of golfers. Room quality was very good, with 2 double beds and a very clean en suite.

We ate in the carvery the first night which was good, although the vegetables were generally a bit over cooked for our taste. The second night we ate in the Rib Room which was excellent, the surf and turf was half a lobster and 2 fillet steaks each of excellent quality with a bottle of house wine included in the £44 deal for 2 people.

The hotel is 3.5 miles from Durham, which was perfect for us as we were attending our daughter's graduation (congregation) at the cathedral.

If ever we are up that way again we will definitely stay at the Ramside.

Room Tip: Garden rooms open out onto the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_L628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing