We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,664)
Filter reviews
2,664 results
Traveller rating
1,585
651
241
105
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,585
651
241
105
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomgolf coursefusion restaurantsteakgolf clubgolf breaknew wingdeluxe roomlovely hotelhuge bedreception staffgreat nightevening mealbirthday treatcooked to perfectionfantastic stayspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
2,032 - 2,037 of 2,664 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a classic example of expansion versus service. It's a large hotel and the rooms are well presented, with good bathrooms. The Rib Room restaurant is good, and there are plenty of comfortable bar areas and lounges. On that front it can't be faulted, but the reception service is desultory at best, and the big disaster came at breakfast, when the restaurant is very seriously understaffed. There was a queue of about 30 people waiting for a table! So we headed for reception to order breakfast n our room, and were told casually, with no interest at all, that we were too late (it was 9.40 a.m.). Very fortunately we had paid in advance for room only and paid for our dinner in the Rib Room, so we did not need to check out formally; had we needed to do so it would have taken at least half an hour as there were so many people waiting for attention. Nice facilities, shame about the management and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and will pass on to all concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently stayed here for a function and found it a very friendly and plush hotel.The bar staff really know their trade and it has an extensive and exotic range.The rooms and the shower were excellent as was the breakfast. The lounge areas are in the country house style and in a lovely setting. Best hotel I have stayed in for a good while.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Fatdetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and 5 star rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel oozes quality. The room we had on the top floor was first class and presented and decorated to a high standard. The stars bar was worth a visit.

Breakfast was a disaster. Huge queues, no orange juice, cold tea and constantly running out of food causing further delay.

There were insufficient staff and no control. I requested some milk for my tea and it never arrived. A great hotel let down by poor service at breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We decided to book the DBB deal which gave £50 allowance towards the bill in The Rib Room for a little pre Christmas get away. At point of booking we upgraded our room to a deluxe. The last time we stayed at the hotel was after our wedding in 1997, so we were looking forward to staying again.
After a lovely walk around Durham we headed for the hotel at about 3.30pm. I would describe the check in as very matter of fact, we were given all of the information we needed but there was no personal interaction at all. Don't get me wrong I don't want to stand there and have a chat like we're old friends, but it just felt very impersonal.
As mentioned on TA before, you have to pay up front, I have never had to do this in a hotel before and do not understand why this is the policy here.
We were very pleasantly surprised with our room. It had a lobby area with wardrobe, drawers, kettle etc with the bathroom leading off and then into the bedroom which was huge. It had a wooden floor, huge leather sleigh bed and a sofa, chair and coffee table by the window. The bathroom had obviously been refitted and was very bright and modern.
Rather than going to the hotel lounge we decided to just relax in the room reading the Sunday papers until it was time to get ready and go for dinner.
We were given a nice table at the back corner of the restaurant looking on to the meat larder, everybody had been nicely spaced out. I found it just warm enough but at times a little chilly.
The service was excellent and we enjoyed our food. My king prawn linguine starter was gorgeous, but found the tuna in my nicoise over seasoned and a little too thick for my preference. My husband had the porterhouse steak, which he said was the best he had had. The olive bread that was served before the meal was amazing. We had no room at all for dessert, so just decided to go to the bar for a drink. There weren't any comfy seats available, but again the temperature was on the chilly side so we only stayed for one drink.
The bed was nice and comfy, but the raidiator in the room was quite noisy and I could hear it all through the night. Also because the doors from the room into the lobby area and then into the bathroom are glass panelled if anyone went to the bathroom in the night the light really disturbed the other person.
Breakfast the next morning was very nice, the cooked options were hot and we enjoyed what we had.
Check out again was fine. I think we were asked if everything had been ok.
I think the deal we had was decent value for money (even more so if we hadn't upgraded the room). Would I stay again....I'm not sure, but we certainly had a nice night away and some lovely food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed two nights in a lovely suite,very spacious and beautiful bathroom,really clean.Ate in the steak bar the first night food was well prepared and tasted lovely.breakfast next morning wasn't good bacon and sausages and scrambled egg very well done,been under the hot lights far to long.Ate in the carvery the second night really awful.Soup Luke warm ,the veg for the carvery was worse than awful.the cauliflower turnip and potatoes were swimming in water and soggy. The salad was nice but you don't really want salad with a turkey dinner.Went to breakfast the next day and was worse than the day before, so as we don't live to far away just had coffee and went home for bacon sarnies!We did complain and the manager was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review and comments re the carvery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews