We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Found this on booking.com whilst looking for a one night stay for my husband and I. At £37.50 for the night we had to book it even though it's not that far from where we live. It stated it was a superior double and when we checked into the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious and had a large double and I had the best nights sleep. The room didn't look like the rooms advertised on their website as these look newly refurbished and this one was quite old fashioned in its look but everything seemed of good quality if not looking a bit worn. But for the price we payed we were more than happy. The bathroom did look newer and had an enormous bath much to my delight and the towels were huge,soft and fluffy.
We also got fresh milk and fresh fruit which is a nice touch. We obviously were room only at this price and we chose to eat in the Carvery restaurant which has a more relaxed atmosphere and had a couple singing and playing the piano which was very nice. We didn't have the Carvery but ordered the scampi and fish which are cooked to order. These were both excellent,very large portions and good quality. Had a few drinks and didn't find the prices too expensive. Overall a very pleasant evening.
Didn't have breakfast as we enjoyed a nice lie in as the bed was so comfortable and we didn't experience any noise apart from the guest next door who had a persistent cough which I would be worried about if I was him! Overall I found the service from the staff very good and will definitely be staying here again especially if we can get it at the same price again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf.

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the very near future.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,340)
There are newer reviews for Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,698 - 1,704 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Ramside for 2 nights at the end of December. The rooms were a good size, we chose the four poster bed room. We did however find it strange that there was no mini bar or fridge which was a first, so if you want to bring drinks your out of luck. We also had a family dinner at the Rib Room which we found average and overpriced. One of us ordered a rack of ribs for an entree which came out cold. We were told that the ribs were pre cooked and then re heated in a bag, not what we wanted to hear for a classy restaurant..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

Naturally we are disappointed that your expectations were not met on this occasion but sincerely hope that should you plan a stay in the Durham area again, you will consider a return visit to our hotel.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on a bargain deal (£37.50) for a superior room and we were pleasantly surprised with our room and views. It was a large room and we were checked in early and had free fresh fruit and milk. The hotel had a warm cosy feel to it and the staff were friendly and helpful. Loads of car parking space around so ideal and just off the A1. We ate in the Pemberton carvery but had scampi and cod which were large portions and only £9.50 each. The carvery itself looked a bit dry and Yorkshire puddings a bit on the hard side but I'm sure it would ve tasted fine. It was a pleasant dining experience with a pianist and singer entertaining but just in the background.we thought the Rib Room although tempting was quite expensive. Our bed was huge and really comfortable and the room always warm. Thank you Ramside Hall we definitely will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 319
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club in December.

We are all very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed on New Year's Eve 2013 .We were looking for a replacement to Lumley Castle which is now terrible.
We were treated by a lovely receptionist who was very helpful,We had booked for the Diane Shaw show ,the only problem was that too many people were in the room, the food was lovely,however been next to the dance floor we were getting knocked all of the time,we left the show early and sat in the bar area ,next the the large Christmas tree. All staff were attentive. The breakfast was brilliant. When we checked out the receptionist advised us of this years plans.
We intend to book when the brochure comes out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your New Year's Eve stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the event and look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I booked Ramside Hall on the internet for a Christmas Lunch and overnight stay upon arrival we had pink champagne and canopies for starters, I had wild mushroom risotto and wife had scallops in a sauce, followed by lemon sorbet with melon, then one turkey and one venison plus all the usual accompaniments for dessert creme brûlée and a very very rich chocolate mousse finished with sweet mince pies and coffee
We stayed in the McIntyre suite extremely spacious very comfortable bed and the bathroom wow large bath stacks of room for two, two wash basins, robes, toilet and bidet and a shower cubicle you could have a party in, best hotel I have stayed in for a long long time, all the staff from reception to restaurant everybody you met were smartly dressed, polite, and very attentive to guests needs.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cheffee9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Christmas Day lunch spent at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed spending this very special time with us and hope you will consider a return visit very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband is disabled and uses a powered chair, prior to booking we asked if we could view the room to ensure it was adequate for our needs, we were encouraged to do so. We agreed with the staff member we would take with us some extra grab bars a raised toilet seat and freestanding seat for the shower for my husbands comfort and needs. On this visit the reception staff were very helpful and cheerful the room was booked. We arrived on Christmas Eve for three nights and although reception was busy we were quickly booked into our comfortable room. Christmas Day meals were all very good the service at lunch was efficient and very friendly, an extensive selection of food for the evening buffet.
We had a very good experience at this hotel and would certainly return again.
There was a problem with our door lock and on several occasions I needed to have the card changed (one of the domestic managers stated she had had a problem with this lock) however the reception staff dealt with it with a big smile and apology luckily our room was near reception.
I appreciate peoples disabilities differ greatly and although we managed without too much difficulty my husband would have appreciated a lower soap tray and the ability to stabilise the shower head lower to accommodate him sitting to shower, perhaps next time the bathroom is refurbished this may be achieved.
Throughout our stay all the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and looked happy to be there.
Well done Ramside Hall !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slimshadyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read all the positive comments about your stay with us and sincerely hope you will consider a return visit in the near future.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed over the Christmas break 23-27th December. This was a Titan short break and we cannot fault the hotel. We had a standard twin with large beds,view over the garden, roomy and very clean. The food was very tasty and was piping hot and plenty of it. The staff were very efficient, quick check in and nothing was too much trouble. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on third floor. We walked up the stairs to get some exercise but there was a lift. Very quie...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wightlady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your Titan mini-break to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would consider a return visit in the future.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,427 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,573 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing