We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night break at Ramside Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over night break at Ramside Hall”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our stay was part of my Christmas present from my boyfriend, as we had booked the Les Gibson comedy night with his family. We stayed in a four poster deluxe room, which was fantastic. Spacious, beautifully furnished & spotlessly clean with plenty of attention to detail. The Les Gibson event included a 2 course meal before the act which was brilliant and the service was faultless. Everyone in our party received the meal at the same time which was still hot (something that doesn't always happen in a big party) & it was delicious. Really good value for money. The only thing that puts a slight dampener on this hotel, which we felt previously when attending a wedding reception here, is the price of the drinks. There are much more expensive hotels which charge less for standard larger/ wine, but this wouldn't necessarily put us off staying again. I also think there are plans for a Spa to be built?! Really exciting news for me as I love Spa breaks. Hopefully something to look forward to!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcooper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your overnight stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us; plans are in place for the opening of a spa facility here and I hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel once this is open, if not before!

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    559
    194
    85
    67
See reviews for
364
938
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I wanted a very special place to take my wife in her 30 birthday in Durham. After a lot of search I found the restaurant at this hotel. When I went there with my wife I was amazed of how big and how fancy it is. The staff were nice and helped me with my wife birthday surprise. The food was excellent and we both loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your wife's birthday celebrations.

We are all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider a return visit to our hotel very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Found this on booking.com whilst looking for a one night stay for my husband and I. At £37.50 for the night we had to book it even though it's not that far from where we live. It stated it was a superior double and when we checked into the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious and had a large double and I had the best nights sleep. The room didn't look like the rooms advertised on their website as these look newly refurbished and this one was quite old fashioned in its look but everything seemed of good quality if not looking a bit worn. But for the price we payed we were more than happy. The bathroom did look newer and had an enormous bath much to my delight and the towels were huge,soft and fluffy.
We also got fresh milk and fresh fruit which is a nice touch. We obviously were room only at this price and we chose to eat in the Carvery restaurant which has a more relaxed atmosphere and had a couple singing and playing the piano which was very nice. We didn't have the Carvery but ordered the scampi and fish which are cooked to order. These were both excellent,very large portions and good quality. Had a few drinks and didn't find the prices too expensive. Overall a very pleasant evening.
Didn't have breakfast as we enjoyed a nice lie in as the bed was so comfortable and we didn't experience any noise apart from the guest next door who had a persistent cough which I would be worried about if I was him! Overall I found the service from the staff very good and will definitely be staying here again especially if we can get it at the same price again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf.

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the very near future.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Ramside for 2 nights at the end of December. The rooms were a good size, we chose the four poster bed room. We did however find it strange that there was no mini bar or fridge which was a first, so if you want to bring drinks your out of luck. We also had a family dinner at the Rib Room which we found average and overpriced. One of us ordered a rack of ribs for an entree which came out cold. We were told that the ribs were pre cooked and then re heated in a bag, not what we wanted to hear for a classy restaurant..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

Naturally we are disappointed that your expectations were not met on this occasion but sincerely hope that should you plan a stay in the Durham area again, you will consider a return visit to our hotel.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on a bargain deal (£37.50) for a superior room and we were pleasantly surprised with our room and views. It was a large room and we were checked in early and had free fresh fruit and milk. The hotel had a warm cosy feel to it and the staff were friendly and helpful. Loads of car parking space around so ideal and just off the A1. We ate in the Pemberton carvery but had scampi and cod which were large portions and only £9.50 each. The carvery itself looked a bit dry and Yorkshire puddings a bit on the hard side but I'm sure it would ve tasted fine. It was a pleasant dining experience with a pianist and singer entertaining but just in the background.we thought the Rib Room although tempting was quite expensive. Our bed was huge and really comfortable and the room always warm. Thank you Ramside Hall we definitely will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 319
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club in December.

We are all very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed on New Year's Eve 2013 .We were looking for a replacement to Lumley Castle which is now terrible.
We were treated by a lovely receptionist who was very helpful,We had booked for the Diane Shaw show ,the only problem was that too many people were in the room, the food was lovely,however been next to the dance floor we were getting knocked all of the time,we left the show early and sat in the bar area ,next the the large Christmas tree. All staff were attentive. The breakfast was brilliant. When we checked out the receptionist advised us of this years plans.
We intend to book when the brochure comes out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your New Year's Eve stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the event and look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I booked Ramside Hall on the internet for a Christmas Lunch and overnight stay upon arrival we had pink champagne and canopies for starters, I had wild mushroom risotto and wife had scallops in a sauce, followed by lemon sorbet with melon, then one turkey and one venison plus all the usual accompaniments for dessert creme brûlée and a very very rich chocolate mousse finished with sweet mince pies and coffee
We stayed in the McIntyre suite extremely spacious very comfortable bed and the bathroom wow large bath stacks of room for two, two wash basins, robes, toilet and bidet and a shower cubicle you could have a party in, best hotel I have stayed in for a long long time, all the staff from reception to restaurant everybody you met were smartly dressed, polite, and very attentive to guests needs.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cheffee9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Christmas Day lunch spent at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed spending this very special time with us and hope you will consider a return visit very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,366 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,488 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing