We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,639)
Filter reviews
2,639 results
Traveller rating
1,573
645
237
105
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,573
645
237
105
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomgolf coursefusion restaurantsteakgolf clubgolf breaknew wingdeluxe roomlovely hotelhuge bedreception staffgreat nightevening mealbirthday treatcooked to perfectionfantastic stayspecial occasion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,983 - 1,988 of 2,639 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We can highly recommend , family, corporate , mini break, add Ramside Hall places to stay.
We attended the Gala Ball on New Year's Eve , not to be disappointed , arriving at the venue, the trees which line the drive were tastefully decorated with an abundance of magical clear sparkling lights,
Upon entering the Black Tie event in the Ornate Ball room , (a fantastic venue for wedding, Party) you could not miss the magnificent centre piece for the champagne & cocktails upon arrival, a unique ice sculpture surrounded by Silver top hat ice buckets, which impressed everyone and gave all a topic of conversation. The rest of the room look very nice and In keeping with the event.
The service was very well orchestrated impressive & efficient managers Tim , Paul and their team Ensured that all guests received nothing other than a perfection ,exceptional !!!
The choice of top class food was astounding, beef, lamb, pork, lobster, oyster, king prawn , curry, , salad deserts that's just what I could remember , catering for everyone's dietary requirements.
We were entertained , by sensational male vocalist Jerome also a Vegas cabaret show and a disco.

Ramside Hall professional family run business, with passion and attention to detail in order to be the BEST is very apparent.

Fantastic evening, would highly recommend all !!!!!!!!!!!!

What better way to see in 2014

THANK YOU ALL HAPPY NEW YEAR
Andrew,Calvin & Family
booked for 31/12/2014

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Andrew-Bennett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your very generous review of the New Year's Eve Gala Ball - we are always delighted to see you at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

Your lovely comments will be shared with the team who worked so hard over the Christmas and New Year festive season to ensure that everyone had a fabulous experience at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Returned for a mini break to The Ramside.
Got a Re furbished room. Perfect, quiet gentle colours....all fitments and finish, faultless. Large comfortable room.
I did ask to see some of the other rooms on offer, all a touch more expensive. On returning to our allocated room , felt that we had got an absolute bargain. Yes there where a little better,- a four poster bed,a slightly larger room, with a small entrance hall. But....our room was more than adequate.
Staff- all pleasant, and seemed to "enjoy their job, and wanted to do their best".
Meals - perfectly presented, quality ingredients used. All freshly prepared.
Really feel that I could find "just something negative" to balance this review.
Sorry.....even the grass, and gardens where immaculate!
My wife and I will be going back.....and just maybe, "we can catch em out!" (LoL)
More than happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest...ask for a room away from the dining /entertainment areas?
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are always so pleased to read how much our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Second new years eve spent here and again not dissapointed. Brilliant service good food and great show(felt Re Take That last year were better than Suzanne Shaws motown show mind you but she was still good although her band did drown her out some of the time )This was such good value 40 pounds per head and nothing to complain about except maybe the shere volume of people being too much for the dance floor. Well done to the Ramside team one and all .

Room Tip: didn't stay overnight
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittytitteecomittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your New Year's Eve celebrations again this year.

Once again, we are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your night with us and on behalf of the team sincerely hope we will see you again this New Year, if not before!

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at ramside hall on weekend of 17th December 2013. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The lounge area was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room was very good with a huge bed which was so comfy and had every thing we needed. The party itself was great fun, excellent entertainment, nice food and very efficient bar staff . Breakfast next day was a great start to the day with a very good variety of food on offer. All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colind2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your overnight stay and party night at Ramside Hall Hotel in December.

It is always a pleasure to read how much our guests have enjoyed their Christmas celebrations with us and sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed on a quiet Monday evening, from the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and most helpful. Starting at the reception desk our check in was professional and efficient. In the bar area and the reminder of the hotel the standard was maintained.

Our room was spacious and well appointed. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, ample car parking is available outside the reception entrance. Overall we were pleased that we choose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your overnight stay in Durham.

We are delighted to read your kind comments and hope you will consider a return visit to us when you are next in the area.

Tim Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews