We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a lovely place to spend the last 2 nights. Just 30 seconds from the A1(M) and 3 minutes from Durham centre. Set in it's own grounds. Beautiful setting. Lovely and quiet.
The staff were really friendly.
The residents lounge was gorgeous.
The rib-eye steak, to die for and a really nice, comfy room.

Room Tip: We had a garden room that overlooked the car park but it was still lovely and quiet. The ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    558
    194
    84
    66
See reviews for
363
931
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My Partner and I stayed at this hotel on the 9th Feb for one night. Reception staff made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a deluxe room with a four poster bed which was large, clean and well equipped. we ate in the steakhouse which was worth every penny. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Staff all very pleasant and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Will definitely be returning. very

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel on the nights of 16th and 17th February. Reception made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Room 227 which we had chosen due to the free standing double ended bath which was a lovely way to relax each day. The room itself was beautiful, large, clean, well equipped and recently very tastefully decorated. On the first night we ate in the Rib Room - steaks were perfectly cooked - thick, succulent and tender, fresh from the local farm. Starters excellent and friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast in the main restaurant was a very good choice. The evening meals in this restaurant are cheaper than the Rib Room but the surroundings and food are geared to a larger range of clientele. Would definitely return to 227!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here with my team overnight as we had hired a small conference room for training and development work.
The hotel is so easy to find being just off the A1 so that was a good start.
The conference room itself had everything we needed and some lovely refreshments (especially the cookies!) My room was a little warm but otherwise lovely with a huge and very comfortable bed. The shower was lhot and powerful enough and woke me up well in the morning and I was really very happy with the room. The only complaint was that the hair dryer had hardly any power and so it took me ages to dry my hair.
In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was, I think, French bistro style. It was quirky and I liked it! The food was fantastic. I had the Hartlepool crab and the filet steak with Diane sauce. Cooked to perfection, it was delicious. The service was excellent and we had a very enjoyable evening. The bar, too is a comfortable and stylish place to relax and unwind.
I slept ok as it was both comfortable and quiet. As I said, just a little warm but perhaps I was meant to adjust the heating. Not sure.
I would like to visit again but perhaps for pleasure instead of for business! A lovely grand hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

What a great place Ramside Hall is. All the staff we cam in contact with were all very polite and helpful. The room was well appointed and clean with a good selection of toiletries and a well stocked tea caddy.
We stayed one night and ate in the carvery. The food was plentiful and good quality.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel in the north east.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yogirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stopped here Valentine's night,what can I say overall experience was lovely,staff all really friendly and polite,food in the restaurant was lovely on the evening,and breakfast was equally as good,lots if choice and breakfast staff couldn't have done more for us all were really lovely,room was fab and spotless. Would definitely recommend coming to stay here,and hope to stop again some time :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious & comfortable with a fabulous bathroom, the food excellent,the majority of staff good although we tried to order room service & the gentleman in charge on that particular night was less than helpful informing us that a plain sandwich would cost us just over £9.00 needless to say we didnt bother.
We also felt that the £150.00 deposit for our stay was unreasonable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlexNLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,359 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,482 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing