We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$174
US$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,639)
Filter reviews
2,639 results
Traveller rating
1,573
645
237
105
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,573
645
237
105
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomgolf coursefusion restaurantsteakgolf clubgolf breaknew wingdeluxe roomlovely hotelhuge bedreception staffgreat nightevening mealbirthday treatcooked to perfectionfantastic stayspecial occasion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,954 - 1,959 of 2,639 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Have been previously and returned with high expectations. Not in the slightest disappointed. Beautifully appointed twin double bedded room, spotlessly clean and again on the ground floor as requested (with opening door straight on to the grounds of golf course). They kindly provided me with a take out bag for breakfast as leaving at 05:15hrs. on a couple of mornings, which was very welcome! Enjoyed their cooked breakfast one morning also in the hotel. This time also managed to visit Pemberton's for their delicious carvery within the hotel. Offered good choice and when I asked for the chicken, the server put me what she called "half a chicken" on my plate, it was the size of our Christmas turkey, so had to politely decline and asked for a few slices of their roast turkey instead! Good selection of veg and potatoes also available, along with a good salad bar, so a bit spoiled for choice. Carvery cost £9.50 - an excellent choice for a very filling evening meal in lovely surroundings. The internet this time seemed to be very slow and rather hit and miss but probably enjoyed being out of touch for a while to enjoy the surroundings and ambience of the hotel even more. Would I stay there again? Of course, I love it there!

Room Tip: Always nice to be on the ground floor there to open the doors on to the greens, but first floor and above will no doubt have lovely further views of the surrounding grounds!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We got an amazing deal for this hotel and were not disappointed at all - a lovely good sized room, with a comfortable and large bed, good bathroom (with shower above bath) and nice sized room. The hotel is quite large but still feels comfortable and homely - with a combination of sitting rooms, conservatories etc making for some very pleasant places to sit with a coffee and newspaper. We did not have dinner there as we were visiting family, locally, but will certainly try the steak next time we visit, Previous reviews did not rate the breakfast highly, and it didn't look anything special, so we went elsewhere for breakfast. One very small niggle - which is why the cleanliness doesn't get a five - is that the antique furniture in some of the communal areas could have done with a dust! That is a very small thing though and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawaynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We got a fantastic deal that the hotel was running. Ok the lift was not working so we burnt off a few extra calories to the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, bed comfortable and my only complaint was the overuse of cleaning products and polish needing the window to be left open for a couple if hours to get rid of the excessive smell. There was 2 choices of restaurant and Timothy the bar tender knew his drinks. Do avoid the bottled lager as its more expensive for 330cl than it is a pint.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night for Dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel has a quirky layout. You have to walk through from the reception area through the area where the rooms are to the opposite end where the restaurants are located. Its sort of a hotel of two halves. The rooms and the restaurants look like they have been recently refurbished but the reception area and the general areas look very tired and run down. The check in staff were very helpful and the room we had was lovely. Very clean and modern. The bed was huge and there was a nice view over the gardens at the rear of the hotel. We had a meal in the steakhouse in the evening. We pre booked before we went which turned out to be a really good thing as the restaurant was fully booked for that evening. I have to say the food and the service was first class. Thoroughly recommend the steakhouse. Most of the people in the restaurant were not staying in the hotel and its obviously a very popular local restaurant. Good value for money, excellent food and service.
Breakfast in the morning is buffet style and you can pretty much help yourself to as much as you want. Again of a high standard.
Overall the standard of service was very good and the food was excellent. Some of the hotel area's look a little bit tired but the area's that matter like the rooms and the restaurants are spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the car park
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirius3ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Although we only had a short stay, the hotel was beautiful, very clean and full of friendly, helpful staff. We had a 4 poster room, which was gorgeous (and perfect for our Valentine's evening).
Only downsides would be the strange glazed door into the bathroom - a little bit lacking in privacy I thought, and the incredibly hard pillows.

There was also a very loud, prolonged domestic 'situation' in the room next door at 3am, but that's obviously not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithyTAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews