We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding and i wouldn't of rather been anywhere else. i asked for room 227 and we were given this and its gorgeous. I didn't want to leave! We had breakfast which was excellent a great choice to suit everyone. we also had a meal in the rib room which was also excellent. the staff are lovely and i can't wait to go back again. didn't want to leave

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and will pass them on to all concerned and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
There are newer reviews for Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

A present from our family,a night at Ramside Hall, excellent! from arriving to leaving the staff were great. Our family joined us for a meal in the Rib room, delicious. The restaurant was full but the service was first class. We look forward to a return visit.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ramside Hall was the former home of the Pemberton family. It is situated just a few quilometres from Durham, North East England. It is a very nice hotel, with large, confortable and elegant rooms, with scenic views of the countryside. Staff is helpfull and very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Dinner is a bit expensive. I stayed there last summer and will sure return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabeldantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have used the Ramside a number of times now and have found the place to be comfortable and helpful. However on my recent visit I was asked to 'swipe a card'. As always I declined this stating I would use cash only. This has never been an issue in the past.
The Lady on reception this time however stated that "She would stamp my card as 'cash only' this time but policy had changed and in futute I would not be allowed to stay unless I did swipe my credit card".
I explained that my room was booked through the Company I work for and therefore they have all my contact details and insurance should I incur damages etc. This was rejected out of hand.
I went on to explain that I was reluctant to divulge my credit card details because a number of years ago £200 was taken from my card from a hotel and when I queried this they had no records of it. I had become a victim of credit card theft.
The lady on reception restated the policy that if in future I book a room, whether through a company or not, if I refuse to swipe my card then I would not be allowed to stay.

I replied that sadly I would then be forced to book with another hotel. Her response was quite flippant and to the effect that I am free to make that choice.

This has soured my opinion of what was up till now a friendly and helpful Hotel. I shall now book into a central Durham Hotel. Are Hotels doing so well these days that they can alienate customers? Especially customers who work for large companies who can influence the booking policy of their own colleagues as I most certainly will.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your review and will pass your comments on regarding our policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just spent one night at this hotel on a stay and dine package at £129 in a deluxe room on the second floor over looking the golf course, the package included £50 towards dinner in the Rib Restaurant on Saturday evening.
On booking online we received a courtesy call from a very friendly member of staff, which was helpful as I wanted to book Sunday lunch as we were planning entertaining friends who live locally.
On checking-in we were again warmly greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
The room was extremely spacious if not huge with a very large bed, the bathroom having been recently refurbished was contemporary in white brick style tiling, two washbasins and a massive bath more than big enough for two.
The hotel provides a number of bar areas, function rooms and dinning areas, we had a lovely hot beef sandwich for lunch sat in a comfy lounge overlooking the garden and fountain.
Our evening dinner in the Rib Restaurant was excellent again served by friendly and attentive staff, it was busy that evening with over 130 dining in the restaurant. There is also a carvery in another part which is also busy and very popular, the helpings look huge.
Sunday lunch was again first class, good quality cuts of meat, plenty of vegetables.
On checking out the staff were again very helpful and polite.
The hotel is currently expanding with building work to construct a health suite with swimming pool and a further extension of room, none of this work caused any problems during in our stay and when completed in April 2015 will further enhance this excellent hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and 5 star review and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed recently for a one night birthday celebration and have nothing but praise for all involved. Greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff, beautiful clean and comfortable room and a fantastic meal / drinks all made up for an excellent experience. Would have no hesitation to recommend and will definitely return. Only one minor irritation was the wifi signal was very poor and couldn't get a connection but that wouldn't deter me from a future stay at Ramside Hall.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NA1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your review and will pass on your comments to all concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay (only wish it could have been longer) but we have already booked our next stay!!! From arriving until we left everything was superb staff, food and the cleanliness was second to none.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,434 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £87 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing