We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently syayed at this hotel for a short break to Durham. We stayed on one off their packages - Durham Delights" that included £50 credit to their restaurant. This was fantastic food. Hotel bar is well stocked and lots room to relax.
The hotel was clean, and rooms were spacious.
Had tea/coffee, biscuits replanished as well after 1st night.
Brekfast is worth paying for in advance as there is a vasr slection of hot buffett, continental , and different breads.
The hotel is only a 10 min drive into Durham or is very close to the park and ride bus service into durham.
Definitley reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRH160711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    528
    182
    83
    64
See reviews for
336
864
38
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Ramside Hall Hotel for two nights in April. We had a four poster bed and the room itself was the most beautiful and luxurious hotel room I have ever stayed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was top notch with plenty of choice. We had an eve meal in the restaurant which was beautiful and the lounge areas were so elegant but cosy. Presently they are building a Spa next to the hotel so we will definitely return to give that a try.

Room Tip: Go for the extra luxury of a four poster bed room it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here as we were invited to a wedding night. Lovely friendly staff on reception, room was a double delux. It was really spacious and clean only downside was the view (wheelie Bins). That didn't spoil it at all. The bed was so comfy, lovely toiletries in bathroom. There were a few little chips in the bath where things must of been dropped. This wasnt a problem at all but was a shame because the bathroom was lovely. Our friends stayed in room 213 straight opposite 211 this had a lovely view with french doors that opened onto a lovely little terrace. Breakfast was really nice and had a really big selection. We would definitely stay again. When the new spa opens it will be even better!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazytow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We returned this weekend for our 3rd time to this hotel to attend the Moorbenhall charity ball. We looked forward so much to this weekend and were not disappointed at all. The hotel is lovely, in beautiful surroundings and is a lovely place to stay. It has a relaxed atmosphere yet maintains a lovely elegant ambiance. Our room (207) was spotlessly clean and even though it was on the ground floor on a main traffic corridor, we were not disturbed at all. The bed was really comfortable and it seemed a shame that we were only there to enjoy it for one night! The staff were really polite and helpful especially when we were helping set up the room for the charity function when nothing was too much trouble ( especially the man expertly folding serviettes - sorry, dont know his name!) Really looking forward to returning next year and one day trying out the new spa complex being built. Well done Ramside Hall hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed on one of the stay and dine packages, and as always had, overall, a very good stay.
The hotel is certainly not looking its best with the building works going on, but I am sure it will be a superb addition when completed. Check in smooth and efficient, room well appointed. I called reception to ask for some milk ( hate the little containers!) it was delivered promptly by the smiling Colin.
Husband later tried to get the room safe to lock, ended up calling reception, back came Colin.
Last thing was how do you get the tv to play anything but Sky sport, once again Colin to the rescue, still smiling and helpful.Excellent at customer relations and a credit to the hotel.
The meal in the Rib Room was good, as always, and the staff friendly and efficient.
Breakfast----- not such a good experience. We were seated next to the piano, which was tinkling away. When I asked one of the waiters if it could be turned down or if we could be reseated I was told the piano was for the benefit of all the guests not just me, there was no other table! ( There was they just needed clearing) That put me in my place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinkaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your review and will pass on your comments to Colin and will also pass them onto the Breakfast Supervisor and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at Ramside Hall expecting it to be extremely busy being Mother's Day afternoon. Yes it was busy, with every room brimming with life and every available table occupied by happy guests, but there was still a very pleasant feeling of calm and relaxation. There were plenty of attentive staff in the bars and waiting on tables keen to oblige but equally keen to stand back and let people enjoy themselves.
We were taking afternoon tea, so after a drink in the bar we were shown through to our table for five reserved in the conservatory, overlooking the gardens and fountain ... perfect (even without any spring sunshine).
We spent a very pleasant couple of hours helped along by sandwiches, scones, cakes and and endless supply of tea and coffee ... especially appreciated by our 'mums'.
Lovely afternoon in a lovely hotel ... may well be back to sample the golf course and the steak house next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your Mothers Day with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding and i wouldn't of rather been anywhere else. i asked for room 227 and we were given this and its gorgeous. I didn't want to leave! We had breakfast which was excellent a great choice to suit everyone. we also had a meal in the rib room which was also excellent. the staff are lovely and i can't wait to go back again. didn't want to leave

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and will pass them on to all concerned and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing