We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

lovely place, Enjoyed all of it great room, great food,tghis hotel is just lovely and great location, Durham City is on the doorsep, sunderland not far away Excellent venue

1  Thank lisatowlaw1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We decided last minute to go for a meal & stay the night !! Ramside hall had a room for £85, & it was lovely, really nice room plenty of room, looked out on to the gargen which are lovel. My only complaint about the room is it was too hot.We had dinner in the Rib Room we had a steak deal,which was ribeye or rump cottle of wine £34 no sides included, it was excellent !!! one of the nicest tasteing steak I have had. Ramside is areally lovely place, I hope to return very soon. Breakfast was good, huge selection to choose from, loads of lovely fresh fruit, they also has honey ccmb I had not had this for years, very enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisatowlaw1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it a memorable one for the both of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just been on a 2 night break 19th-21st May, our room was lovely with a patio door opening on to pretty gardens. Bathroom very modern and spacious and very clean. Our break included an evening meal in the Rib Room Steak House, the actual restaurant décor was very nice and felt "special" but I am afraid that we did not enjoy our meal. We are quite plain eaters and found the starters and main meals too rich, if it hadn't have been part of our break I don't think we would have had a meal in there. The meals are expensive and so was the wine. Our second night we ate in the hotels carvery/grill restaurant, absolutely marvellous, a main meal and sweet for £7.95 each, we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the meats and vegetables were top quality and cooked to perfection, in fact we sent our compliments to the chef and to say that we enjoyed his meals more than we had in the expensive Rib Room Steak House the previous evening. We paid an extra £12.95 per person for breakfasts, it sounds expensive but when you see the variety of food on offer, it was worth it. We found all the staff very polite and helpful and we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. We stayed here because we wanted to visit Durham, by car it is about a 7 minute drive away, but the hotel is more or less opposite the Park and Ride and would recommend that people use this as the parking in Durham centre is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstanley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it a memorable one for the both of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On Sunday evening 18th May 2914 with a friend enjoyed a meal in the Rib Room Steak House and Grill. We both enjoyed a lovely steak followed by an excellent sweet. The food was delicious and well prepared. The service by pleasant staff was also excellent. Would not hesitate in going here again. Another plus is that there are small lounges and bars where you can chill.

Room Tip: Did not stay over on this occasion but have done so in the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal.and hope to see you again in the near future for another meal. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Wonderful hotel, great room with a nice view and lovely bathroom. They are building a spa so you are next to a construction site, this was not mentioned at the time we booked. Lovely food in the steak restaurant. All staff members were very helpful and friendly, except for waiter Jamie in the restaurant, pity.....
Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to Jamie. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

my husband and i arrived on the 9th may for a 3 night stay as we were having a family reunion, lovely friendly staff, we had a meal in the rib room which was very nice,a special mention for the wee girl behind the bar on the sunday nite, natalie, she was on her own for a while and the bar was very busy but she didn't get flustered, and was very polite to everyone, so well done to her, rooms were lovely and clean, self service breakfasts are my pet hate, gone are the days when you get taken to a table, and a menu is presented, i would say it would cut down on a lot of wasted food, i always feel like I'm back at school queuing up, but this hotel is still an 8 out of 10 when i do find a hotel that serves breakfast and i do mean serve then it will get a 10.

Room Tip: our room 320 was quiet so suited fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass over your thanks to Natalie. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found this hotel purely through a sat nav search on our journey to the north. What a lucky find for us.

Had a great room in the old building with a fabulous bay window and a high backed leather chair. Opted for the carvery instead of the award winning steak restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. Mind you with self service you tend to eat too much. They are currently building a new complex to house the gym spa and swimming pool to open in 2015 which will be great when it opens. The building work didn't affect our stay but may not be ideal for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,169 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,491 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing