We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Golf Course attached”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Golf Course attached”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hotel is a bit outside of Durham and has a golf course attached to it. By thew look of the clients coming and going it leaves a very good impression, not played on it myself, though. Staff is friendly, rooms are good and clean. There is a huge breakfast buffet with specials being offered, like Eggs Benedict, Salmon scrambled eggs, etc. Be aware that there is building work ongoing for a while as they extend there building. However, it hasn't been an issue so far. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you agin when the Spa is complete. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    572
    197
    89
    68
See reviews for
376
970
38
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very high quality hotel and golf club. Got reduced rate through a booking agency to stop over for a workshop in the ballroom. All staff were very friendly and the room was very high quality. The restaurant seemed very expensive for a work allowance but the carvery turned out to be a realy good option with exceptional value. Meal and sweet £7.75 is hard to beat. The carvery was very busy though and must be very popular. Breakfast was self service but the food was very good. I would stay again at reduced rates.

Room Tip: My room 201 was on the ground floor and very dark due to the small window surrounded by plants. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived Monday morning and were shown our rooms .very tidy .the golf was good but very badly organised .we had booked tee of times for 3 days in advance .these all had to be changed because of an over book by the hotel .the management didn't seem bothered . We weren't happy . The food was ok ,the staff serving the food were not very welcoming or helpful.the bedrooms were very hot but as it was a hotel the windows didn't open much .( health and safety ) we were woken up in the morning by work men so couldn't even have a lay in .i will say the golf was ok .quite a nice course .all in all a little disappointing .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are sorry to hear about the tee times and must apologise. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another golf stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel at last minute. Very professional and helpful staff. Top quality rooms with luxurious decor. Would've give 5 stars however we asked for complimentary fruit and fresh milk and only got milk. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sorry about the fruit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at ramside when my cousin got married there and the whole experience was lovely. So much so that we booked to stay again for our wedding anniversary. The staff are friendly, the rooms are nice and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast was yummy. I'd recommend people go for steak during their stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moony1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying again with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A magnificent golf course set in Parkland with plenty of trees , sand and water to test all abilities of Golfer ... Not too long a course , the 4th Tee is up in the clouds and offers a magnificent view across the course. We played ( a group of 24 Gents ) in May after a rainy week previous but the course was dry and the Greens run true.
The signature hole , I think , will be the Par3 15th ... A 200yard hole over water to an angled Green protected by several Bunkers . It's Stroke 3 , so we all got a shot in our competition, and needed ! ( by memory, maybe slightly different, but near enough )1

Enjoy , take a few Balls .
A lovely Clubhouse with a good variety of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and golf. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another golfing stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for three night in June 2014. Very nice room overlooking the golf course. Staff were friendly and polite. Tried the carvery on the first evening and wasn't to impress a little dry. The other evening I had the curry and then fish and chips both were very good. Breakfast is buffet style which I don't like but there was an excellent selection of breads and cereals etc, the staff will prepare different eggs if you ask. Overall it is a very nice hotel and I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,394 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,537 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing