We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a leisure weekend Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a leisure weekend Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Ramside Hall is not a hotel to stay in if you are looking for a quiet weekend break, with so many weddings and golfers it is noisy regardless of which room you have allocated to you.

Staff and room quality are okand as expected of a four star hotel, but the carvery area is more like two star. Did not like the internet booking service as it does not offer a breakfast inclusive deal or forgets to mention that you need to pay your full accomodation charges on arrival rather than pre-authorisation model that other hotels operate, perhaps this is due to wedding guests who stay.

Have booked dinner in the restaurant but am hopeful rather than expectant of the quality of food on offer and experience. This is not a hotel I would recommend as a weekend break unless you are a golfer ot a wedding guest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katkins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    542
    188
    84
    64
See reviews for
352
906
38
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed in a superior room for 2 nights. The first night with my bridesmaids before my wedding at the hotel and the 2nd night with my new husband.
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Every request was met pleasantly and efficiently - nothing was a problem. Ice buckets, DVD player.Room service.
We had a room on the ground floor with access to the garden on the first night and the staff kindly transferred everything to an upper floor room for the 2nd night.
Both rooms were clean and a good size. Facilities were excellent. Modern bathrooms, with bath and shower. Beds were large and comfortable.
We had breakfast delivered to the room which was well worth the cost. The choice was extensive and everything delivered was of a high standard - the hotel even provided porridge which was not on the choice card.
It definitely was 4 star and the rooms certainly were superior. Both rooms were much nicer, more character, than executive rooms at a well known Newcastle Gateshead hotel.
Can't wait to return for an anniversary treat!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you very mch for your 5 star review of the hotel! I hope its not too long before we see you back at the hotel
Best Regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

It's only a matter of time before the bubble bursts on this hotel, we paid £125 for a room as guests at a wedding.
The room - cluttered with pre war furniture and lamps
The decor - tired & worn
The beds - you would be better sleeping on the floor!
The Toilet - the seat & surround were so discoloured ie yellow instead of clean white
The Shower - when turned on nothing came out, then a lovely blast or brown coloured water indicating a problem with the water tanks, imagine rust !!!
The Bathroom -Mould on the bath, cracked floor tiles,dirty mirror,shelf missing,heated towel rack covered in cement!
The bedding - damp and musty
The check in times - 2pm no early check in ?
The check out time - 11pm no late check out - oh and the staff start hoovering at 9am on a sunday!!

Very dangerous if you are taking kids with you as the wooden tables had 2" glass covers on them that were not secured to the actual table thus making the whole lot slide with the smallest knock!

The bar prices - £3.40 a pint £2.20 a coke £2.20 kids fruit shoot!

The bar(s) ran out of kids drinks within an hour of being there, no replacements were sought, no plastic cups, staff unsure of what a "tall glass" is, oh and when the super chilled beer ran out half way through a pint I was asked if it was ok to be topped up with normal lager which ran out before the pint was full.

The food was an utter joke ive tasted better microwave meals, there were chefs running around all day with hot trays of half cooked food whilst weddings were taking place, It was like an episode of fawlty towers the staff all looked like they needed a holiday!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherwellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is a gorgeous building, its such a shame that the reception staff with their unprofessional and rude manners let it down somewhat. I appreciate that at the time the hotel were hosting 2 weddings, but this shouldn't mean that they don't give their full attention to each and every one of their guests who are paying to stay there. I wouldn't recommend staying there if you would like at least average customer service as this didn't achieve anywhre near this. Very poor service from the reception staff, the lady in question would certainly benefit from retraining and a course in how to speak to customers as she was very rude, she didn't make eye contact and speak to the customer, more at the customer. A BIG disappointment. After this 'shoddy' servivce checking in to the hotel, I woke in the morning to find there was no water in the room, so was unable to shower, clean my teeth or even flush the toilet. After asking about this at breakfast we were told there were a number of rooms without water and that they had called a plumber out to fix this, but we weren't given any alternative means of washing etc. Basically we were sent home without being able to shower/wash and no suggestions of compensation for our inconvenience, even after suggesting this would be a welcome gesture. In other words, it was just tough luck!! I will never stay here again and I will NOT recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerLa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

When visiting family in Durham, we always had one buffet meal at The Ramside: wonderful service in the busy carvery in a fantastic setting of the Country Club; we didn't mind waiting for tables.... It was with deep disappointment that last week we experienced the dramatic fall in standards at this hotel; at the empty carvery dining room, the meats were cold, with a choice of mash and semi-roasted potatoes in water and over-cooked cabbage and processed peas. The Operations Manager listened to my complaint in silence - the hotel manager was too busy - and offered to look after us "in the next visit"! Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeogieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Nice Hotel, lovely setting. The room was comfortable and with doors opening onto garden we had a nice room.
However I was spoken at, not too at Reception. and she would not make eye contact.
I have stayed at hotels all over the world ( You never get a second chance to make a first impression)
I could go on even more about customer service making people feel valued etc etc.
Breakfast was done on the cheap. and the buffet needs thought especially at the cereal bar which basically log jams the whole room. only one milk! in a dispenser come on!!
You have to look for the Tea coffee waiter. and Toast already on the table ??
We stayed at a well known budget hotel chain the night before this The staff were bubbly
and the breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillandMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

You can chose a 5 star hotel less than 3 miles away from here for more than 3 times the price and it is still not as clean, tidy norprovides the same leisure facilities as Ramside. Fantastic rooms and rates, food is stunning, albeit slighty on the high side. Clearly the chefs here know what they are doing. Excellent overall value, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing