We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, after reading other reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here as part of a wedding party - the hotel was fully booked so was a little anxious especially after reading recent reviews that if the room was dreadful I couldn't ask for a move.
The room was fine - sash windows, one of which was blocked open so the room felt a little cold at first - quick 10 mins from the heater took care of that. During the night though the room was boiling and there isn't any air-con or fans. No mini-bar either, quite a suprise.
The layout in the hotel isn't very well signposted (even the main reception isn't that clearly marked) - you come to plenty of corridors where there are no signs indicating what goes where - so don't try wandering in heels.
Shame there's no leisure side to the hotel aside from the golf, pool and gym are surely the next necessary addition for the non-golfers amongst us.
Wine was £5.20 a glass (250ml) or £15.95 a bottle, can't recall the last time it was cheaper to buy wine by the glass.
Breakfast was ok, plentiful selection - as I said the hotel was full but didn't feel like a school canteen.
Staff were very helpful at all times, although the layout even seems to confuse them - they politely held doors for us only to find they were taking us to the wrong floor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,426 - 2,432 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

At first my expectatoins were high, as from the exterior the hotel looked pleasant and charming, but boy what a let down. The main reception area was tastefully decorated and had a weird atmosphere, i seemed to think it was something to do with the commotion taking place behind the reception desk. The receptionists were helpful and pleasant a little less so than you would think of a four star. There was no porter service. After finding our room the hard way, we settled down for a cup of tea but the kettle did not work, after much complaining nothing was done. We left an old fashionably decorated room, and creaking floorboards to explore, my husband went out to play golf which he found impecable, a high standard of a golf course. None the less there was very little for me to do, so i spent the afternoon feeling rather lost. The rib room was lovely and well decoarated but the food was not up to much. My husbands steak was lovely which to be honest cant be done wrong. There was no evening entertainment which was a shame because we hadn't wanted an early night but that is what we got until being woken at the early hours by rowdy drunken guests. I would go back but not of my own free will i would have to be paid. Not my idea of a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed at the Ramside for a treat and a night away with no kids! On arrival we found the reception staff slighty aloof! bit odd considering this is meant to be a four star hotel. Never told us about breakfast or check out etc. I thought the reception area was revolting to put it midly. A real barrage of my senses, It was an open plan residents lounge and reception area, really bizarre mix of decor and nothing whatsoever matched!!
We went to our room - 211. Avoid this room at all costs, although it has been refurbished and is meant to be contemporary basically they have painted it and put some nice bedding on and then put all the old pictures and furniture in. It was a mix of contemporary and old fashioned BUT not in a good way!! If you are into miserable old paintings in brass picture frames then this may be your cup of tea but certainly not mine! The TV has three normal channels and one sky sports channel. We would never normally watch TV on holiday but when you are just going away to get away from busy and noisy life it is nice to just kick back with a good film, we had planned to buy a film through the TV services but they dont even have any of these!! There was NO information in the room about the hotel at all so we were not sure about where you could walk outside in the garden area because obviously it is a golf course and dd not fancy being hit by a golf ball!!
The bed is lovely, really comfy and huge and that is about the only good thing about this room apart from the lovely bathroom. one funny thing in the bathroom is the automatic light which must be operated through sensing you going into the room - it meant when in the bath the light kept going off until we waved our arms to get it to work again!!!!! very amusing but not very practical. Also means in the middle of the night if you nip in the loo and would normally not put the light on you are rudely awaken by a bright light going off in your face!!!
The next moan is the view - or lack of it!!! considering this was a deluxe room the view was unbelievable. Basically the service entrance was outside our window so there were 6ft trolleys, a huge bin and in the morning we were woken at 7am by the staff pushing the trolleys and chatting. also there is a bright light outside the room that is on all night and a generator which is annoying. This particular room seemed to be at a crossroads in the hotel so we were woken up a few times in the night by the door slamming in the corridor and people having very loud goodnight chats!!!
Not a lot good to report really - breakfast was nice and loads and loads of choice and then when we checked out at 11am nobody even asked if we had a nice stay!!!! my husband said they probably avoided asking cos they knew we would compain about that particular room!!! The other funny thing is after we came in at 11pm from a meal in Durham City the reception staff never even said hello to us when we walked past. You would get friendly staff and better views from the Premier Inn! I would never stay here again and think they have a cheek selling that room as a deluxe - it should have been kept as a laundry room and not a guest room.
The other thing is i saw someone in the hotel with a dog! i hope that they have seperate rooms kept for animal owners cos i would not really like the idea of sleeping in a bed where a dog had been!! no offence to dog owners.
By the way I forgot to say the room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. No radio or music in the room - not even on the TV and no clock in the room. also no pen for us to fill in the breakfast request. No way should this be four star and do not let them give you ROOM 211 whatever you do.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebud78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Excellent very large room. Bathroom in need of renovation.Restuarant ( Rib Room) excellent.
Bar poorly stocked and not enough staff. Very noisey wedding. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allenhaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Ramside Hall is not a hotel to stay in if you are looking for a quiet weekend break, with so many weddings and golfers it is noisy regardless of which room you have allocated to you.

Staff and room quality are okand as expected of a four star hotel, but the carvery area is more like two star. Did not like the internet booking service as it does not offer a breakfast inclusive deal or forgets to mention that you need to pay your full accomodation charges on arrival rather than pre-authorisation model that other hotels operate, perhaps this is due to wedding guests who stay.

Have booked dinner in the restaurant but am hopeful rather than expectant of the quality of food on offer and experience. This is not a hotel I would recommend as a weekend break unless you are a golfer ot a wedding guest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katkins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed in a superior room for 2 nights. The first night with my bridesmaids before my wedding at the hotel and the 2nd night with my new husband.
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Every request was met pleasantly and efficiently - nothing was a problem. Ice buckets, DVD player.Room service.
We had a room on the ground floor with access to the garden on the first night and the staff kindly transferred everything to an upper floor room for the 2nd night.
Both rooms were clean and a good size. Facilities were excellent. Modern bathrooms, with bath and shower. Beds were large and comfortable.
We had breakfast delivered to the room which was well worth the cost. The choice was extensive and everything delivered was of a high standard - the hotel even provided porridge which was not on the choice card.
It definitely was 4 star and the rooms certainly were superior. Both rooms were much nicer, more character, than executive rooms at a well known Newcastle Gateshead hotel.
Can't wait to return for an anniversary treat!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you very mch for your 5 star review of the hotel! I hope its not too long before we see you back at the hotel
Best Regards
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

It's only a matter of time before the bubble bursts on this hotel, we paid £125 for a room as guests at a wedding.
The room - cluttered with pre war furniture and lamps
The decor - tired & worn
The beds - you would be better sleeping on the floor!
The Toilet - the seat & surround were so discoloured ie yellow instead of clean white
The Shower - when turned on nothing came out, then a lovely blast or brown coloured water indicating a problem with the water tanks, imagine rust !!!
The Bathroom -Mould on the bath, cracked floor tiles,dirty mirror,shelf missing,heated towel rack covered in cement!
The bedding - damp and musty
The check in times - 2pm no early check in ?
The check out time - 11pm no late check out - oh and the staff start hoovering at 9am on a sunday!!

Very dangerous if you are taking kids with you as the wooden tables had 2" glass covers on them that were not secured to the actual table thus making the whole lot slide with the smallest knock!

The bar prices - £3.40 a pint £2.20 a coke £2.20 kids fruit shoot!

The bar(s) ran out of kids drinks within an hour of being there, no replacements were sought, no plastic cups, staff unsure of what a "tall glass" is, oh and when the super chilled beer ran out half way through a pint I was asked if it was ok to be topped up with normal lager which ran out before the pint was full.

The food was an utter joke ive tasted better microwave meals, there were chefs running around all day with hot trays of half cooked food whilst weddings were taking place, It was like an episode of fawlty towers the staff all looked like they needed a holiday!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motherwellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
66 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £74 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing