We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD ROOMS POOR STAFF” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GOOD ROOMS POOR STAFF”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

The Hotel was of a high standard but the shortage of staff and the lack of trained staff spoiled our Christmas stay ,
An example of the poor staff training was when we asked for crakers to go with our cheese , The waiter brought the crakers in his hand and the spread them over the cheese ! no plates ! poor hygiene ! The lack of staff was a real issue as we spent what was to be a relaxcing christmas holiday chasing staff for coffee tea cups milk etc

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordieinwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    519
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
326
838
37
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham, uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

attended the ramside for a christmas party night. we were seated at the back of the room with a large post directly in between us and the stage. therefore hardly saw any of the entertainment. definately not worth 40 pounds! the food was okay but not fantastic. best part was the salmon parcels, followed by an okay turkey dinner then a dry chocolate cake and overpriced alcohol in dirty glasses. wont be attending next year

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington U.K
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Having read a previous review regarding the Re-Take That Christmas Party,we were a little apprehensive regarding the marquee bearing in mind the temp outside was -4 c, when we entered the heat blew you away literally!! .We were seated to the side of the stage beside the chocolate fountain,which the ladies in our party tasted and said it was divine!.We had to ask a member of staff to try and turn the blowers down as we were starting to melt....The bar service was very slow but you expect this as they use agency staff with no get up and go,I complained and then seemed better. Re-Take were musically brilliant,they even talk like them too,all round a brilliant Christmas show,they posed for pictures with most of the females that attended and were very friendly. The meal was a set Chicken dinner which was hot and tasted ok.We stayed overnight in the hotel,(as we have done on numerous occaisons)the rooms we booked this year were the standard rooms as the premier rooms were sold out,the premier rooms are worth paying the extra but the standard rooms are very good too.The full english breakfast was very good and the staff very helpfull. Roll on next year !!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftumptch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We are a doctors practice and attended the Re-Take That on 3.12.10 - it was a complete disaster from beginning to end - the marquee (which was not advertised on the initial web site only on the PDF file) was freezing, the electricial system broke down several times the food was cold and served with long intervals between each of us on the table. we sat in coats and boots all night. and even then we were cold. The room was not as advertised not themed no chocolate fountain no meet and greet with group The portoloos were so cold you could see your breath - no water no flushing so you can imagine what they were like after a couple of hours. Some of our party came a distance to attend it was very embarrassing the whole night was an absolute disgrace we have to date not been offered any compensation.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at Ramside Hall recently and are astonished by some of the poor reviews. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We ate at the carvery which was good value for money. For an extra £20 we got to see Ray Quinn perform live and have a 2 course meal. Fantastic value for money. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I arrived at 5pm expecting to be able to have a leisurely soak and get ready for an event at the hotel, only to find there was no hot water and the room was cold. I reported this to reception around 6pm. A porter came to room. He said he had switched on the boiler and he turned on the hot water tap and said that he hoped the water would soon start to run throuigh hot. Alas it didn't. I ended up having a cold shower and having to get ready in cold room. There was no hot water the following morning either and the room was exceptionally cold, following a frosty night. I was therefore unable to bathe or shower before I checked out that morning.

I did express my dissatisfaction when I checked out. I did get a rather lame apology from the hotel receptionist. I left the hotel feeling I had not received the level of service expected from a four star hotel. I emailed the hotel director and the reception manager and have not had a response. After a week I emailed again including the generic email address and 2 weeks on I have still not had a response. I can only assume a customers experience is of no concern to them

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

I got a choice of a free hotel night with my mobile contract and as we lived locally we decided to stay here as it had always appealed to us.

Check in was an easy process, we went downstairs and had a snack in the restaurant area. This area could do with updating but was alright. The room was lovely with two big beds and a big TV and the bathroom was lovely as well. I had a greats night sleep here and would recommend it. Unfortunately breakfast was not included so can not comment on that.

The hotel is out of the city but not that far away, would recommend only staying in this hotel if you have a car otherwise it is a bit awkward to get around from there. Otherwise I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing