We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top price but top notch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This an ideal location for a Hotel in Durham, close to town, cathedral and all the best restaurants.The rooms great, nice linens and very large rooms, Our room was as big as a suite and felt like one, 2 tele's and huge beds.
Reception very helpful and a glass of wine if you were waiting in a queue. Nice bar, a bit pricy but not too bad. Breakfast was ok, could be improved with hotter food and staff keeping all the dishes full. We didn't eat in the evenings here as it was so close to city restaurants and also quite expensive. We had booked the free evening meal on one night but it wasn't very appealing (table de hote menu only) - we didn't get any refund but not too bothered - so it is better to get a deal when booking other than the free meal.
Overall though we liked position and rooms and thought we had good value for money.
Top tip, get there early, parking is a nightmare!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with two doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Has to be said that i know this hotel a little too well as i spend at least a night a week here with work. The hotel could do with a modern touch as it is starting to look a little dated and the menu never changes, however the staff are excellent and try to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Car parking can be a bit of a problem if you arrive after 6pm as there are not enough spaces

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This may be a Marriott hotel but it's not forgotten its historic place in Durham history and a long tradition of providing the highest levels of personal service.


Check-in was smooth and welcoming. I was on a social package which was clearly explained to me. One part of the advertised package couldn't be honoured by the third party provide, so the hotel substituted something of its own.

Just off the reception area is a small indoor ornamental pond with fish. The decor is in keeping with this hotel's historic standing, do don't expect the usual Marriott look. Yes, it was looking a bit warn in places, but the building is 100s of years old in parts. That said, the painters were moving in as I was checking out.

My room (308) was large with not only the huge Marriott bed, but with a large sofa too, alongside an armchair. The bathroom had a separate shower, as well as a shower over the bath tub. There were also two washbasins. This looked a room for disabled access, judging by the extra handrails, which might also explain the generous room size. Best of all, was the side on view to the river. I don't think this was a "river view" room as such, but added to the enjoyment. The airconditioning worked well and was quiet. The only minor problem was the dim lighting in the bathroom. I much prefer a bright bathroom, especially for shaving and I'm sure, for ladies, applying makeup.

Breakfast was included in my rate. One day any hot choices were prepared to order and my plate was full to bursting. The other day was a buffet. Breakfast service was always friendly and efficient.

I also had one night's dinner included. This was served in the more formal of the hotel's two restaurants. The service here was excellent too. The young staff had been well schooled and it was at this point that I realised that this wasn't your usual Marriott. The food was excellent, as was the wine list and, if you were paying separately, good value for money.

If I had to make one constructive comment, it's that I felt I was ignored too long after I'd finished my dessert and coffee. It took a while before the staff swung by my area of the dining room so I could attract their attention.

The location is perfect. Less than a 10-minute walk from the train station - all downhill - stick to the main ring road to avoid carrying luggage up through the historic town centre. You are then only a short walk to all the sights. I didn't have a car was able to stroll leisurely around the peninsula and out to the Botanical Gardens, Oriental Museum and Light Infantry Museum.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Perhaps you need to buy a compass before getting here since you won't be able to find your room nor the swimming pool so easily. The signs are scarce and don't point at things you need to find.

If you go for breakfast you will be served by (I assume) students who don't really know much about it. You may end up waiting for your eggs quite a long time and your tea will arrive when you are ready to go. No one will say hello nor goodbye.

And what if both of you would like to use internet? Well, not here. You must plug in, as they haven't heard of wireless connection yet.

I will not go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Having read other reviews we were worried about parking at the hotel, but you don't need to worry. There are plenty of spaces, and if they are all full there is plenty of inexpensive on-street parking next to the hotel.

The pool area is excellent, and we spent hours with the children playing in the pool. Staff very helpful and friendly throught the hotel. Breakfast was an eat all you can buffet and was top quality.

The only downside, and hence the 4 rather than 5 out of 5 rating was that some of the rooms are noisy. The first room we were allocated was above some kitchen fan outlets - no smells, but the constant droning noise made us go to reception and ask to change rooms. I couldn't have slept in the first room as the noise was similar to a motorbike engine running outside your window, but the second room was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We've just come back from an overnight stay at the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County and what a lovely stay it was. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute, it is in a great location only a 2 minute walk from the town centre.

We (2 adults + 2 Kids) booked a stay through the Marriott website for 1 night including breakfast at £110 compared to local B&Bs at around £80-£100 we decided to go for it, everything was fantastic, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, we had 2 doubled bed room, which had a separate lounge aswell, very plush.

We ate in the county restaurant, we chise from the 3 course meal deal at £23 each and very nice it was too, the staff were smart, knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. The only downside was the portion control - my wifes dessert was not big enough!!!

Unfortunately we fogot our swimming things as the pool and spa looked lovely - next time.

The breakfast the next day was also very nice, very tasty and plenty of it.

The only slight downside was the car parking 75 car parking spaces for 150 rooms, we parked on the street outside the hotel at a cost of 40p per half hour then free from 6pm saturday evening until monday morning at 8am.

We have never stayed in a Marriott hotel before but we definitely will be staying with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmarsden79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed here for a Saturday night in Mid- July with OH and friends who had a family room/suite.

Arrived about 2.20 and were made to wait until 3pm for our room, yet friends arrived 3 mins after us and were given theirs instantly. Discovered the bar prices were a little on the steep side!

If staying at the weekend be aware that the hotel caters for weddings - both receptions and ceremonies - there was at least one (?2) on the Saturday we were there and this stopped us using the hotel bar after the first drink as it was so full of wedding guests. We were given lots of dirty looks as if we had no right being there!!

Lovely room in the riverside block (352) with views of the cathedral, castle and river. Big bed but not as comfy as the one the night before at the Premier Inn! Our bathroom was clean but still in the 1990's with very old fashioned tiles compared to our friends room.

Pool complex was very good and we all enjoyed relaxing there.

Breakfast was very good although they could have been a little prompter topping up the hot buffet. Had to request more tea and milk for the room and it arrived almost before we put the phone down!

Great location for town and a very pleasant stay. If we hadn't used the pool I think the PI from the previous night would have been a better place to stay (and cheaper!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank northern_rose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £61 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing