We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
502
622
319
143
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
622
319
143
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure clubthe riverthe hotel car parkelvet bridgeleisure centreexcellent locationa bit tiredper nightsteam roompublic areasreception staffcentral locationbuffet stylebeautiful cityhuge bedsuperior roombreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,175 - 1,180 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

A short trip of 3 days, had an excellent stay, bed was out of this world for comfort, hghly recommended. Wifi expensive but good cafe bar nearby for free wifi. Excellent position within the city, close to shops, cathedral and the river. Close to Newcastle and Northumberland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was the third visit to this hotel which was arranged for a group of 34 of us. It is very central to everything Durham has to offer so ideal for a short break. The rooms are good with everything you could need, nice bathrooms with a large tub, great to relax in after walking all day.
I organised this trip and the young lady whom I dealt with was excellent, no hic ups at all. I was met by the C&B manager and shown where the meeting would be and also our private room for dining. The evening meal was good although the potatos could have been warmer. I suspect this was because the meals had to be transported up from the main kitchen. Breakfast was very good with plenty choice. Staff were all really proffesional and very helpful All in all another good week-end.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I was in Durham for a conference and was with a large group, all of whom were happy with the hotel. The rooms are good and the bathrooms very nice with tubs that you can soak in after a long day. The breakfast was generous and very good. I found the staff very helpful. The pool and spa were great! I liked the location, it's central but still a little to one side so it was also close to the riverside walks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at Durham Marriott for a friends birthday as part of a surprise for her. Staff were very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. Our room was located across the road in the newer section of the hotel. It was spacious, with a huge bed (which was very comfy) and also a sofa. There was also plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space for our clothes.

We stayed B&B and the buffet breakfast was excellent - lots of choice, cereals, porridge, yoghurt, croissants, breads, fruit, continental meats, along with the usual full English breakfast. Your eggs were cooked to order and also you could order omelettes.

The leisure facilities were great and a good additional feature of the hotel.

Hotel was in a fab location for access to the town centre / cathedral / castle etc.

We had an enjoyable stay at the Durham Marriott Royal County and would recommend it for anyone wishing to stay close to the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaToffeeGirl1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had attended a wedding in Beamish Hall the previous night and decided to stay over another night in the area before heading home. The location of this hotel is magnificent for exploration of Durham, but as with everywhere else in said city, parking is difficult and we just about got parked in the hotel car park. Was slightly strange that Marriott do not have exclusive use of their own car park, with so few spaces, it is also a public pay & display. That was the only negative really. The reception staff were friendly and whizzed us through check-in without issue. The room was standard, very comfortable, well appointed and clean. Very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews