We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel pity about the noisey group of kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel pity about the noisey group of kids!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We decided to come to Durham for a long weekend after a stressful couple of weeks. We chose the Marriott county hotel for its location and facilities. The hotel is beautiful and the pool and leisure facilities are great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food is really good in restaurant. We were on inclusive package and choice was excellent. We requested a river view room and got this no problem. We thought this would be peaceful and relaxing. Unfortunately we were staying in rooms next to a huge group of children (under 18s football club) who decided its a good idea to play football in their rooms at horrendous times I.e. after 12am and before 630am on both Friday and Saturday!! The staff were very helpful and did visit the rooms but it continued. Although this is not the fault of the hotel it really did spoil our weekend. In total both evenings we got less than 3 hours sleep which in anyone's book isn't the recipe for a relaxing weekend. I would suggest that the hotel have a rule that children must be supervised by an adult when staying in a room. We never usually complain but this really did put a dampner on the weekend. Oh well, off home for a rest

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegrant182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    549
    281
    127
    53
See reviews for
295
602
57
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the third time we have been back to this hotel in the past 10 years. First time was on our wedding night, second time on our 5th wedding anniversay,and third time was last night. It was our 10 year wedding anniversary in July but due to our son having autism, it has taken 6 months in the planning to get away for a belated celebration. We approached a lovely member of staff just after we arrived to ask if it would be possible, if in the morning our son could come up to the room, as one of his anxieties was not knowing where we were staying and what our room was like. She said it wouldn't be a problem and he was welcome to come. We went out for the evening to return to our room, to find a bottle of wine in a chiller bucket, with a lovely message wishing us a happy anniversary. We were very touch by the thought.
That a side, the hotel is in a lovely location, near to shops, restaurants and the beautiful cathedral/castle. It is also only about a mile from the A1,which makes going to Newcastle, Metro Centre, County Durham,Northumberland or Cleveland all with in easy reach. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was perfect. Due our son seeing the room, we now know we can come to the hotel on every anniversary,so we will be back in July.

Room Tip: We stayed on the high floor in a superior room. Relatively quiet with plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

A short trip of 3 days, had an excellent stay, bed was out of this world for comfort, hghly recommended. Wifi expensive but good cafe bar nearby for free wifi. Excellent position within the city, close to shops, cathedral and the river. Close to Newcastle and Northumberland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was the third visit to this hotel which was arranged for a group of 34 of us. It is very central to everything Durham has to offer so ideal for a short break. The rooms are good with everything you could need, nice bathrooms with a large tub, great to relax in after walking all day.
I organised this trip and the young lady whom I dealt with was excellent, no hic ups at all. I was met by the C&B manager and shown where the meeting would be and also our private room for dining. The evening meal was good although the potatos could have been warmer. I suspect this was because the meals had to be transported up from the main kitchen. Breakfast was very good with plenty choice. Staff were all really proffesional and very helpful All in all another good week-end.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I was in Durham for a conference and was with a large group, all of whom were happy with the hotel. The rooms are good and the bathrooms very nice with tubs that you can soak in after a long day. The breakfast was generous and very good. I found the staff very helpful. The pool and spa were great! I liked the location, it's central but still a little to one side so it was also close to the riverside walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at Durham Marriott for a friends birthday as part of a surprise for her. Staff were very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. Our room was located across the road in the newer section of the hotel. It was spacious, with a huge bed (which was very comfy) and also a sofa. There was also plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space for our clothes.

We stayed B&B and the buffet breakfast was excellent - lots of choice, cereals, porridge, yoghurt, croissants, breads, fruit, continental meats, along with the usual full English breakfast. Your eggs were cooked to order and also you could order omelettes.

The leisure facilities were great and a good additional feature of the hotel.

Hotel was in a fab location for access to the town centre / cathedral / castle etc.

We had an enjoyable stay at the Durham Marriott Royal County and would recommend it for anyone wishing to stay close to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaToffeeGirl1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had attended a wedding in Beamish Hall the previous night and decided to stay over another night in the area before heading home. The location of this hotel is magnificent for exploration of Durham, but as with everywhere else in said city, parking is difficult and we just about got parked in the hotel car park. Was slightly strange that Marriott do not have exclusive use of their own car park, with so few spaces, it is also a public pay & display. That was the only negative really. The reception staff were friendly and whizzed us through check-in without issue. The room was standard, very comfortable, well appointed and clean. Very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing