We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“new year break”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We decided to go somewhere nice for new year and chose the marriott durham as it seemed a nice place to stay.
Car park very full had a bit trouble getting parked but found a space eventually i wished i had been a bit earlier.
Check in was very easy and pleasant but room keys would not work as a few other people on here have already said but new key card was a struggle till maintanance man sorted.
Room 250 was very nice with 3 windows,king size bed,sofa and 2 chairs so very impressed.
Evening meal and entertainment was outstanding.
I can say this is a lovely hotel to stay in right in the heart of durham

Room Tip: ask for room 250 as larger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    549
    280
    127
    53
See reviews for
295
601
57
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Went with Family and friends Im 42 so no young spring chicken but expected some fun . room and Hotel was lovely room very spacious although could not get parked for 40 mins went into Durham for a few drinks but at 10 decided to come back to hotel for the Disco the e-mailed me and raved about. OMG it was like grab a granny it was so bad did not realise it was after 12 till I asked the time and I was just sitting with my mouth open because we were charged £16 pound for 2 vodka and cokes and 1 glass of coke then the next round was 2 vodkas and coke and was charged £18 (the prices were different even when you were getting same drinks) at 12.20 had enough ( had, had enough at 10.30 but thought I would see new year in) went to room to have some drinks to find the radio station on TV was not working. Told reception and they did offer to change my room at that time and as we had inter connecting room declined as I think most would. next morning went to breakfast and was Buffet style take into account if not included in your stay it would have been £15.50 would have been very disappointed if I had paid for it overall think it is a very overpriced nice hotel would never never go for new year or any other time I wanted some fun

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisam1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves recently and have afternoon tea one weekday afternoon here followed by a stroll up to the Cathedral for Evensong. Very English.

We had booked in advance and were the only couple being served tea in the comfortable lounge. So quite why it took about half an hour for the food and drink to come was a bit of a mystery.

When it eventually arrived I had to remind the waitress that we needed milk for our tea and that I wanted sugar. This was then provided.

When it eventually arrived however the food was good and well presented on a three-tiered silver server. There were the traditional small triangular sandwiches (with the crusts cut off, of course) containing cream cheese, salmon and cucumber fillings, a proper scone each with jam and clotted cream, then on the top strawberries and cream - all beautifully laid out.

My lady chose Earl Grey tea and I had Breakfast tea, or "builders" as it is sometimes known. This came in English China with lovely tea-pots, cups and saucers and Sheffield Silver cutlery on a white linen table-cloth. Just how it should be.

The staff were charming and helpful. To be fair, a city centre hotel at Christmas time is a busy place, so service can be slow due to the demands on its workers. However, I think the wait we had was somewhat excessive, hence the 3/5 rating.

A word about parking. Much of the older parts of the city are generally car-free zones for tourists. I used the Riverside Car Park, (DH1 4SL) a multi-storey a few minutes walk from the hotel and went just over the 3 hours, so paid £6. Had I have left within 3 hours it would have cost £2.20. Worth remembering.

If you come for the day to this beautiful city (and I highly recommend it) the park and ride is worth considering. Durham City is served by three Park and Ride sites on the key routes into the city. These are situated at Belmont, Sniperley and Howlands. A direct bus service runs every 10 minutes to the city centre from each site and it's a snip at £2 per car. They're well signposted from the A1.

Do explore the charming (if hilly) cobbled streets of the old part of the city and do make your way up to the wonderful Cathedral. Even if you don't go in (and you should) the sight of this wonderful building floodlit is well worth the effort alone. We sat at the back for Evensong so we could leave early (as I had choir practise to attend back home!). Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Can I top you up, vicar?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I had a recent business trip to NE England in December and based myself at the Marriott for two nights.

The room was very comfortable. The choice at breakfast was good. Location is central in Durham city centre, in what is an old part of the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in a riverside room which was well appointed, roomy and possessing all you would expect from a Marriott. The hotel is an attractive, comfortable old building set in the heart of Durham. Durham is a beautiful city with restricted driving access, so the Royal County, within a short stroll of the castle and Cathedral, is an excellent choice for visitors. We booked on a package to include evening meal and I couldn't recommend such an option. The fare on offer was 'basic', with a host of items involving a supplement - ranging from £8 for sea bass up to £17 for a steak. The food in the County Restaurant was, in any case, only 'cafe standard' and far better value for money and quality could, I'm sure, be found in the city itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I had a night away for my birthday last week. I cannot fault this hotel. The staff, service, rooms, leisure club, breakfast (late check out was brilliant!) and position of this hotel were perfect. What more is there to say!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I booked this centrally located hotel for two nights with other family members. Conviniently located for exploring the city of Durham it was however a bit of a hit and miss with regards the hotel choice. The first problem is finding a space in the hotel car park- nightmare - why not have a designated area for hotel guests? The reception staff whilst efficient were definately not of the smiling variety! Our rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Unfortunately even with the heating turned to the highest setting the room temp was chilly, there was no problem in getting portable heaters which soon helped. The one dissapontment in the rooms was the state of the batroom tiles - black mould around the bath is not a good look in what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The general state of the corridors and lifts suggest that the hotel is due to be updated soon.
Breakfast is buffett style with plenty of choice of both cooked and cold foods. I would like to commend the breakfast greeter on duty on the 14th December who was efficient, courteous and the most friendly face the hotel exhibited during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing