We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most convenient spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A most convenient spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Marriott Hotel in Durham is very nice and for convenience it is a short walk to shops, restaurants etc. My room was lovely, it was more like a small suite. Everything about the hotel is welcoming. It is not cheap to stay in, and breakfast is £15.50 each (maybe a bit expensive). Staff are very helpful and you always get a warm welcome at the Marriott.

Room Tip: Room 111 was nice, plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    532
    269
    124
    52
See reviews for
289
579
54
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Marriott Royal County last night (19th Jan 13). I haven't done a review for a while but felt the stay, hotel and staff deserve some credit. The positive vibe started from the moment we arrived at reception, the welcome was warm and courteous. As we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast package we were asked when we wanted to book our evening meal at this point. The offer of a complimentary glass of wine was a surprising but a welcome addition. Everything we needed to know was pointed out to us, even the quickest way from our room to the leisure facilities if we wanted to use them. Every time we passed a member of staff, they were friendly, seemed to have time for a chat etc... nothing was too much. The room was spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you'd need for a one night or longer stay. After putting our bags in the room and a small walk around the centre we returned to use the leisure facilities It was quiet, but well attended to. (the steam room was out of order however) The pool was a good size, the spa bath excellent as was the sauna. The evening meal was excellent - as it was part of a package we expected to be limited in what we could choose but this wasn't the case, there were some supplementary costs if you wanted steak etc... but the menu was varied enough for our requirements and we decided to choose without the need to pay extra. The staff were once again very helpful and friendly throughout (shame that some of our fellow diners were not the same but I'll not dwell on that) The food arrived quickly and was of an excellent standard over the three courses we both had. After a good, comfortable nights sleep we decided to go and use the leisure facilities again before breakfast as I had read previously that people had to wait for a seat especially on a Sunday Morning. We ended up going to the restaurant for around 10.15am and we were seated straight away. Once again the staff made sure you were fully informed of what was where when you needed it. The breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I would not hesitate in returning for another stay, the location on the river would also be ideal in Summer and the hotel location was near enough for a gentle stroll into the city centre. I would also consider it to be family friendly, if this is what you are looking for. (little tip - if you're staying on a Saturday night, the hotel car park is £5 per day. If you arrive for a 3pm check in then you can get parked on the road outside (or very near by) - 50p per 30m. Charges only apply until 6pm and it's free on Sunday - therefore it cost £3 for the time we were there)

Room Tip: We stayed in a third storey room which was very quiet and towards the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Overnight stay at County Hotel Durham was so comfortable and relaxing even though it was busy.
Meal at night was with an organise party and they catered for us brilliantly,good food disco after wards , DJ could have played music for all ages but he did not so sometimes long periods with no one on floor.
Breakfast so organised and everything fresh also plenty of it .
I overheard someone recommending the High Tea must go one day.
The bedroom we had was brilliant biggest bed ever and so cosy everything spotlessly clean.
Will recommend this hotel .We did not travel far for this break but worth it.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are much better ,Having stayed a few times before ,this room was by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

If you are looking for an excellent hotel in Durham, you will find a very pleasant stay here. I found the staff very welcoming and helpful. I did not dine in the restaurant in the evening but breakfast was excellent. i would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. The hotel is located on the very edge of the town centre and easy walking from the shops, Cathederal and Castle.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The rooms here were really nice and clean, nice large tv's and nice staff.

Negatives:
* low water pressure in the Riverside building
* expensive breakfasts - had breakfast elsewhere you can get a good cooked breakfast elsewhere for under £5 cooked to order instead of buffet in hotel - I'd recommend the Market Cafe
* very dodgy menu system appearance on the tv's with constant flickering
* Expensive wifi - I think you get an hour free now otherwise it is expensive. You can get unrestricted free wifi near by.
* The main lift for the 3rd floor seems to shake every time the door moves.

It is important do not touch the door as if touched in a certain way it could get stuck and not possible to open on button but its an old refurbished lift up to the third floor and I can't fault it apart from the slamming door and audio unit with a mind of its own thinking the door is moving when its already closed.

Its a good hotel otherwise and I must admit when these faults were mentioned they said they'd fix it. I'd say this is a nice hotel possibly just £20 more than Premier inn but maybe breakfast could be included in the £94 room rate but you get much bigger and nicer rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

My (new) wife and I stayed at 'the County' on our honeymoon night in August (2011). We thought the hotel, generally was nice. The room were copious, the bed, more so. However, we were disappointed by the bathroom. There was mould around the bath...embedded in the sealant. I just thought that this sort of thing is not what you would expect from such an establishment...well in fact, the bathroom really wasn't up to much. When we complained about it to the reception staff, they didn't seem bothered at all.

The best part of the (one night) stay was the morning breakfast. The staff (in the restaurant) were both helpful & courteous, and the food was of a good 'English' standard.

Room Tip: A river view is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurnoutSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Booked on-line and everything went very smoothly. Lovely clean hotel - very comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. They have a 1200 check out which was great, and a gym/pool facility that you can use even once you have checked out. Couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel booked a couple of taxis for me - they seemed to have a great account with a local firm - the taxis were all on time. Very good experience which O would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing