We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have stayed in Marriott hotels so many times, but never in one like this! Very disappointed from the moment we drove into the carpark. This hotel needs major work to bring it up to standard, I know it is an old building and I suppose the uneven floors add character but the maze of narrow corridors (not helped by the fact the lift was broken) reminded me of an old Blackpool hotel. Our room was so dark we needed the lights on through the day (and that is not an exaggeration). Strange marks on the tiles in the bathroom which looked like someone had thrown tea / coffee, toilet had a "knack" to flush it, but worst was when I went to run a bath and there was minging curly hairs in it! Will never ever stay here again, even though I love Durham and will in future book the nearby Radisson Blu which is far better. We were really looking forward to a much needed night away and were gutted we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. My bedroom was stylish and very comfortable. The restaurant was again first class and would recommend eating there as great value for the quality. I love this hotel and will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding. The room was spotless, the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a large Jacuzzi bath (though we never tried it). All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the only downside was the bar prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

this is a fairly standard marriot hotel with nothing to write home about. Food in the bar was routine fayre, but i had to send mine back as they got the order wrong- well what they brought bore no resemblance to what was ordered, but i think the couldnt be bothered- it was only a ploughmans.
Room was good, bed comfortable. Main attraction was the location in the centre of Durham. if you want to explore , this is perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

First thing's first - the building is fantastic - old, traditional, right on the river. However, these characteristics make it somewhat challenging from a hotel perspective, especially for us business travelers who prefer things a little, well efficient. Check in was no hassle, but rooms can be hard to find, as well as being strange shapes and a bit dark (mind you, when isn't it dark in Durham in December!). Breakfast area was not big enough, therefore was too busy. And I assume due to the old nature of the building, the heating was way too high.

And, a major thing with my reviews I know, no free WiFi! Come on people! Charging £15 for hamster wheel internet is just not on!!

I probably would give this hotel a go if staying as a couple for a romantic weekend, but for a business traveler, I prefer their competition in Durham....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreTravels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I visited the Durham Marriott hotel along with two colleagues. I knew from reading previous reviews that the hotel entrance was through the car park but my colleagues still found that to be surprising.

There were a couple of people checking in ahead of us but the check-in procedure lasted about two minutes and we were quickly provided with our hotel keys. I was given a suite and headed off to the right of reception whilst one of my colleages went to the left and the other back outside to a seperate building at the end of the car park.

The suite was really nice, and definitely what I would prefer if I were to stay for more than one night (one of my colleagues rooms was really small so only really okay for a couple of nights stay only). The bathroom was surprisingly small considering the size of the room and could have done with a bit of TLC as it was showing the buildings age in places. The 'living room' area was like any other - television, desk, coffee table and sofa. The bedroom area was rather nice with two almost too-firm beds. Basically it was very suited to a business visit.

The cost of the room included breakfast in the County Restaurant which was served from 6.30am. I arrived about 7.30 or so and could see it was quite busy. The couple behind me spent a bit of time moaning about the delay to be seated, but it was only just over a minute from the time the waiter took the person infront of me to thier seat to return to collect me, which I found to be very effecient. Breakfast is self serve though there is a chef there who appears to cook eggs to order. You get the usual fare of cold meats, fruit, croissants and cereal along with the individual makings of a full English breakfast. A previous reviewer noted that the bacon was 'soggy' due to the method with which it is kept warm - I didn't find this to be the case with either the well cooked (crispy) bacon or the just cooked (non-crispy) bacon. I was also very pleased that it was proper orange juice on offer as opposed to the orange 'squash' you so often come across.

Upon check-out there were a lot more staff members - three were checking people out, one was arranging taxis and fielding the general queries whilst another was collecting bags for a large group.

The major let down to this hotel was the lack of free Wi-Fi and the fact that they charge you extra to park in thier car park. These both struck me as rather unnecessary, and if I had needed either a car park space or Wi-Fi would have marred the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyDoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel quite a few times on business, always found the staff to be very helpful and efficient, and the food 1st class.

The rooms are large and clean

Has a great Leisure Club which guests have free accress to, with sauna, steam room and large pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
543 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £71 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing