We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel and found the location perfect. It is in the centre of the city and has a car park so no worries there. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy. It is a bit tired in places but the warmth and welcome you receive balances this out. We had a room overlooking the river and spent some time watching all the activities from our room. The weather was glorious and walking along the river was a joy. The food in the hotel was excellent. Do visit Durham and stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: although a room overlooking the river requires a bit of a walk over an internal bridge, trust me, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    560
    287
    132
    55
See reviews for
299
612
58
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We booked here on the day.
Many chain-hotel aspects, in a building with at least some character. Room was standardly comfortable, with nothing special to it. Ditto the extensive buffet breakfast.
Staff were especially pleasant and helpful - found us a phone charger, let us check out late, generally cheery. When the hot water packed up overnight in our wing (these things happen) we were kept informed and given acceptable options.
Charging guests for parking and wifi seems a bit old hat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tombo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have stayed in Marriott hotels so many times, but never in one like this! Very disappointed from the moment we drove into the carpark. This hotel needs major work to bring it up to standard, I know it is an old building and I suppose the uneven floors add character but the maze of narrow corridors (not helped by the fact the lift was broken) reminded me of an old Blackpool hotel. Our room was so dark we needed the lights on through the day (and that is not an exaggeration). Strange marks on the tiles in the bathroom which looked like someone had thrown tea / coffee, toilet had a "knack" to flush it, but worst was when I went to run a bath and there was minging curly hairs in it! Will never ever stay here again, even though I love Durham and will in future book the nearby Radisson Blu which is far better. We were really looking forward to a much needed night away and were gutted we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. My bedroom was stylish and very comfortable. The restaurant was again first class and would recommend eating there as great value for the quality. I love this hotel and will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding. The room was spotless, the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a large Jacuzzi bath (though we never tried it). All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the only downside was the bar prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

this is a fairly standard marriot hotel with nothing to write home about. Food in the bar was routine fayre, but i had to send mine back as they got the order wrong- well what they brought bore no resemblance to what was ordered, but i think the couldnt be bothered- it was only a ploughmans.
Room was good, bed comfortable. Main attraction was the location in the centre of Durham. if you want to explore , this is perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

First thing's first - the building is fantastic - old, traditional, right on the river. However, these characteristics make it somewhat challenging from a hotel perspective, especially for us business travelers who prefer things a little, well efficient. Check in was no hassle, but rooms can be hard to find, as well as being strange shapes and a bit dark (mind you, when isn't it dark in Durham in December!). Breakfast area was not big enough, therefore was too busy. And I assume due to the old nature of the building, the heating was way too high.

And, a major thing with my reviews I know, no free WiFi! Come on people! Charging £15 for hamster wheel internet is just not on!!

I probably would give this hotel a go if staying as a couple for a romantic weekend, but for a business traveler, I prefer their competition in Durham....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreTravels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing