We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Brilliant location, very helpful staff, superb food, well equipped rooms. Hotel was a bit dated but didn't effect our stay. Only two things that bothered us was the banging of room doors closing, was so load & echoed up the halls. Also the lift was broken most of the weekend, which might effect less able but we were happy walking off the morning breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    525
    262
    124
    51
See reviews for
279
574
54
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Very happy with our stay at the Marriott in Durham. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We stayed in a superior room which had a separate living room. Very spacious and well furnished. Wifi was free and signal was good. The location is fantastic. Right in the heart of this wonderful city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Outstanding location in this quaint, college town. We enjoyed a very efficient check-in/check-out. I can't say enough about the customer service provided by the front desk staff from restaurant recommendations, to help with minor issues.

I had a bit of a tight squeeze in my room, but the queen bed was very comfortable, the internet worked great, the bathroom clean and well appointed.

The buffet breakfast was standard English fare, not very exciting food but filling and cooked well. The fitness area was great, perfect for a business traveler.

If I return to Durham, I will stay here.

Room Tip: They didn't have elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage. See if you can get a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T204raveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Travelled down to Durham for a weekend break on 27th September 2013. Booked this hotel on bed and breakfast basis before we went and got a good deal on the internet.

On arrival, we parked in the hotel car park. Although we were charged for parking it was worth it as we could just lock the car and forget about it for the duration of our stay. Check in was quick and efficient and we were allocated room 18 on the ground floor. The room was large, with a king size bed and was well decorated.

Breakfast both days was the usual self service fare. It was well cooked and there was a good choice.

The hotel also has a leisure centre which we used on the Saturday afternoon. It was well equipped and not too busy.

Durham itself is a delightful city. There are good walks along the river, good shopping, bars and places to eat. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel which is well placed when visiting Durham. The room we were in was comfortable, but the furnishings were showing significant signs of wear and tear and the bathroom was in need of re-grouting.
The hotel bar is like an OAP's sitting room, no atmosphere and uninterested staff.
The reception and breakfast staff courteous and helpful.
Overpriced- yes. Convenient-yes. It will always have high occupancy rate because of it's location, but I for one will always go out of the hotel for evening drinks and meal. Get a b+b deal and it's OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I can safely recommend this hotel to anyone, yes you pay for what you get so maybe it is a little pricey but it's on my `to visit again` list.
On arrival there was a little mix up in that we'd been allocated double rooms instead of twins but the reception staff were more than helpful and promptly arranged for two rooms to be twinned for us. I think the mix up may have been an error on the Marriott group website as I would never have booked doubles for a mum and daughter night away!!!
Once sorted with the right rooms we were amazed at the size of the rooms! We ended up with a queen bed and a double sofa bed - more than perfect!!
We ate in the bar area, the food was lovely, well presented and tasty. There was a little issue with soft crisps on one of the club sandwiches but these were promptly replaced with a full dish of fresh ones.
I have to note that the room we were in did have eternal noise but that's down to the perfect city centre location and to be expected. We still managed a good night's sleep and I'm sure during the week this wouldn't be noticed - we stayed a Friday.
Breakfast was beautiful and we had to sit for some time having had eyes bigger than our bellies - it all just looked so lovely!!! A lady was frying eggs and making omelettes to order which was quite a novelty.
Lastly but by no means least the staff were all absolutely great and a credit to the Marriott name, they were all local people with real Durham accents which was so nice to hear. They were all very attentive and nothing was too much. Even when we were a little disoriented looking for Starbucks a staff member who was clearly just passing by stopped and was happy to show us where to go, right to the door.
I don't think I can say enough nice things about this hotel - we loved it!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 352 but I'm not sure if it was classed as a suite and we got it due to the bed mix u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing