We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the royal county yet again. Service as always was superb and breakfast and room service were great. Lovely cosy bar as well. All of that was very 5 star and the location was excellent right in the centre of durham. The car park is far too small though. I arrived at 6pm and got the last space. The building is old so you will experience traditional english heating and plumbing. For those who dont know what that means its not a compliment! Its time marriott refurbished the rooms they really let down what is an otherwise superb hotel. They arent dirty just tired which is a shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

It was a great stay. The spa facilities are nice and well taken care of. Don't expect anything really fancy, but enough to relax have a Sauna, swim and jacuzzi. We also had a lovely dinner and the staff were very kind.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank carrebola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for the cathedral,castle and city centre. The rooms are big although a little dated. On arrival there were no parking spaces due to a conference being held in the day and I stuggled to parl elsewhere. This is worth bearing in mind if you are driving. After finally finding a space I arrived at reception with all my luggage to be told I wasnt in the main hotel but in a small annexe across the carpark so had to carry my cases much further than expected. There was no wifi in this annexe so had to go to the lobby to get internet but then had no phone signal.
I ate in the restaurant, the starter was very nice ( pea soup ) but the Marriot burger was dry and pricey. On the whole it wasnt a bad stay, beds were comfy and breakfast was good. I stayed here on business and wouldnt have an issue if I was booked in to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichSarahHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel for a christmas party which I might add the food was far from 4 star standard. Other than that I really was dissatisfied with the room very clean but coffee and tea making facilities but no kettle a shower that didnt work properly and kept going off a hairdrier that only blew cold air and a ice bucket and water glasses but no water some of our party had gown and slippers and some didnt including us although we all payed the same price on the plus side the leisure facilities were nice and the breakfast was good .far from the best 4 star hotel I have stayed in.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The best hotel in Durham if not the world.

Comfortable and quiet room despite having a window facing straight on to New Elvet and opposite two pubs.

Hearty breakfast and good facilities; vin chaud offered in arrival.

£5 per night parking is taking the mickey though, should be included.

An above average stop for the roving businessmen, a world away from the grotty hotel in which I stayed in Swansea last week!

Room Tip: All are good, chose the cheapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is ideally situated , with own car park - free until 12 on day of departure but then payable .
Rooms are a little jaded and the hotel itself is sprawling , when we were there the lifts were out of action with no signs of anyone attempting repairs ,so to get to and from rooms long walks up, and down and up again- not easy for anyone even slightly infirm .
There are a lot of coach groups using the hotel with the reception chaos that can cause too.
Breakfast - buffet but eggs cooked to order and good selection
Staff on whole very friendly
The rating would have been lower if we had paid the rack rate but we managed to get a deal with breakfast which made it more palatable .

Room Tip: River view is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a great weekend here, great hotel only let down by the rather unreliable lifts that were not working at times on two of the three days we were there. The room we had overlooking the river was great and the staff were very helpful and attentive. The location in the center of Durham is within easy walking distance of the main sites. All in all a great location for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing