We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valentine weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“valentine weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

lovely stay at the marriott, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was spotless and comfortable . Only let down was the hot food buffet at breakfast , there was a wait for fresh food, which was a shame as the waitresses were lovely and very helpful. Fantastic location also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    567
    293
    133
    59
See reviews for
307
625
60
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for one night 15 Feb 2014 first impression good nice reception, but you have to pay 5 pound to park in the hotel carpark what's that about ? Quickly booked in and given room 134 on the first floor, told no lift so could we carry out case up the stairs? We had no issue with this as were both able bodied and in good health. The room is in the older part of the hotel and up and down stairs to get there, the room was nice but looked out straight onto a busy road junction but we heard no road noise at all. The bathroom floor had two tiles badly cracked and these could be dangerous and cut your foot, also there was no flannel in the bath. The heating was either too hot or too cold, the bed was OK but very high and soft. After a night out we went back for a drink in the bar, be prepared to pay way above the odds as two baileys cost 9.50p. We slept well in the room and woke up looking forward to breakfast what a let down as its self service the food was cold the only thing warm was the fresh fried eggs, would I stay again? I am sorry to say no l am sure there are better hotels for the money in Durham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleymanScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night last weekend. Location is great as it is just by the river and a 5 minute walk into town centre. The best feature of this hotel has to be the most friendly, welcoming staff. This includes reception, leisure club, bar and breakfast / restaurant. The room on the third floor was lovely and the double glazing blocked all road noise. I'm a light sleeper so the bathroom fan noise was a little annoying though! The buffet breakfast was plentiful. The bar area is over lit and had it not been raining heavily, we would have gone elsewhere!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

arrived at the Marriott to check in after a lovely small wedding.
Upon seeing us in our wedding clothes all staff said congratulations and asked how our day had gone offering us a complimentary drink while we checked in.
After check in we proceeded to find our room only to find we had been upgraded to the presidential suite.
And oh my, what a lovely treat. The room was perfect, bathroom to die for and with it's own balcony.
We left to meet friends and party the night away arriving back at about midnight, staff still so friendly and helpful.
The bath was huge along with the wonderful king size bed.
Slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I brought my dad here for afternoon tea it was so nice the staff were so helpful the place was so relaxing I've read a few reviews esp one saying the Durham bar was bland please try this for yourselves me my partner and dad were so relaxed it was lovely for a Sunday afternoon would just like to say thanku very much for a lovely afternoon worth every penny

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckysuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at the Marriott on a business trip to Durham for three nights this week. The check in at reception was quick and efficient and I was allocated a room on the riverside overlooking the river. Great views of the university rowing crews on their morning and evening outings.The room was huge with a good bathroom and great smelling aromatherapy shampoos etc. Breakfast was also excellent from the reception by very friendly and efficient staff to the friendly egg and omelette chef and the food was great. Checkout again was quick and efficient. The hotel is seconds away from some great inexpensive restaurants and pubs and the hotel has its own car park outside reception.
There is also a great air conditioned gym with good equipment (concept 2 rowers and Life fitness running and cycling machines ) and a pool with jacuzzi ,steam room and sauna which i didn't use but my colleague did and was very impressed.
A faultless stay and one that I hope to repeat.

Room Tip: Riverside if you get a choice but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a lovely treat from our daughter and son in law when we stayed at the hotel last Friday night. We thoroughly enjoyed it, we think it is a beautiful hotel and the staff were very attentive and respectful. We would like to specially mention Stuart and Chelsea on reception, they were very friendly and helpful. They spent time talking to us and made us feel very special as did all the staff. We particularly liked the welcome drink on check in and our wonderful experience started from there. We had a lovely room and the leisure facilities were great. The breakfast was brilliant, great choices and wonderful staff. The location is excellent and Durham is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing