We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the marriott hotel for two nights over the valentines weekend , was greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and very friendly reception staff.once booked was told that restaurant was fully booked for that night which I found strange as we were staying in the hotel but had to eat somewhere else.nice surprise when entered into our room was a lovely bottle of wine and a birthday card (my 40th) room was spotless and the bed was HUGH,there was plenty to choose at breakfast can't comment on the restaurant as we eat out on both nights.bar prices are a bit expensive but all in all a really nice hotel with great staff would go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckndk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    540
    277
    125
    53
See reviews for
294
591
55
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a double with breakfast on the day of Valentines 2014 through Booking.com for £104. We arrived around 8pm so there were no parking spaces left. Therefore we had to pay to park on the road outside which the manager advised anyway as its cheaper than their own car park!?We were immediately upgraded to a superior room without question. The room was immaculate and tasteful with a large bathroom. The bed was HUGE, high and plush! We ordered breakfast in bed which is given free if not delivered on time... It was, and was lovely. We ordered everything and were unable to finish because there was so much! The staff were really helpful. The spa looked nice in the room brochure but we didn't get chance to visit. Only problems were there was no view from any window and as the room was in the older part of the hotel, the floorboards from the room above were so noisy! However, we had our own corridor and so no other issues. All in all, a great stay in a perfect location to explore Durham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

lovely stay at the marriott, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was spotless and comfortable . Only let down was the hot food buffet at breakfast , there was a wait for fresh food, which was a shame as the waitresses were lovely and very helpful. Fantastic location also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for one night 15 Feb 2014 first impression good nice reception, but you have to pay 5 pound to park in the hotel carpark what's that about ? Quickly booked in and given room 134 on the first floor, told no lift so could we carry out case up the stairs? We had no issue with this as were both able bodied and in good health. The room is in the older part of the hotel and up and down stairs to get there, the room was nice but looked out straight onto a busy road junction but we heard no road noise at all. The bathroom floor had two tiles badly cracked and these could be dangerous and cut your foot, also there was no flannel in the bath. The heating was either too hot or too cold, the bed was OK but very high and soft. After a night out we went back for a drink in the bar, be prepared to pay way above the odds as two baileys cost 9.50p. We slept well in the room and woke up looking forward to breakfast what a let down as its self service the food was cold the only thing warm was the fresh fried eggs, would I stay again? I am sorry to say no l am sure there are better hotels for the money in Durham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleymanScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night last weekend. Location is great as it is just by the river and a 5 minute walk into town centre. The best feature of this hotel has to be the most friendly, welcoming staff. This includes reception, leisure club, bar and breakfast / restaurant. The room on the third floor was lovely and the double glazing blocked all road noise. I'm a light sleeper so the bathroom fan noise was a little annoying though! The buffet breakfast was plentiful. The bar area is over lit and had it not been raining heavily, we would have gone elsewhere!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

arrived at the Marriott to check in after a lovely small wedding.
Upon seeing us in our wedding clothes all staff said congratulations and asked how our day had gone offering us a complimentary drink while we checked in.
After check in we proceeded to find our room only to find we had been upgraded to the presidential suite.
And oh my, what a lovely treat. The room was perfect, bathroom to die for and with it's own balcony.
We left to meet friends and party the night away arriving back at about midnight, staff still so friendly and helpful.
The bath was huge along with the wonderful king size bed.
Slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I brought my dad here for afternoon tea it was so nice the staff were so helpful the place was so relaxing I've read a few reviews esp one saying the Durham bar was bland please try this for yourselves me my partner and dad were so relaxed it was lovely for a Sunday afternoon would just like to say thanku very much for a lovely afternoon worth every penny

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckysuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing