We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and comfortable but some flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
208 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and comfortable but some flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

As usual, a pleasant stay in a very well-located, comfortable and characterful hotel, but some flaws -

[1.] aircon in the room was unacceptably noisy

[2.] room allocation was careless - had requested 'near elevator' 'cos I have mobility problems, yet the room originally allocated was a route march away, involving two lots of stairs

[3.] lift / elevator [the one to the right of reception as one stands facing the desk] is very old and unreliable in its control - only works correctly when it feels like it. - disconcerting if one is uncomfortable with lifts per se.

But otherwise fine !

  • Liked — high quality
  • Disliked — noisy aircon; geriatric lift
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    526
    262
    124
    51
See reviews for
279
575
54
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rural England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We chose the Marriott because it appeared to be the best hotel in town, and on our walks around Durham we didn't see anything better. We were upgraded on our second night after being given a smokers' room (although our confirmation had guaranteed we would have a smoke-free room). The reception staff were very good, the bar and waiting a bit less interested. But overall, the hotel was clean and the breakfast excellent. The beds (yes, one double bed each!) were fantastic, with lovely linen and heaps of squashy pillows.

Unfortunately, we forgot our swimming gear so didn't take advantage of the leisure facilities. There's lots of bar and lounge space and although the hotel caters for coach parties, it didn't feel crowded or like an airport lounge with people in transit.

The hotel is very well situated for walking round the town and getting to the cathedral and castle. It has a big car park, although we walked from the station - about half a mile, with plenty of steps and cobbles, so a bit of an effort. Opposite are a couple of pubs (bit rough looking) and a cafe/sandwich bar and a good Italian restaurant (Emilios). We had dinner in the hotel on our last night, which was OK. Good choice of dishes and quite reasonable by today's prices, £81 for three courses and a bottle of wine for two.

Good eating places seemed to be one of the biggest down sides of Durham. There's a Pizza Express and Cafe Rouge, a fish and chip place and pubs which do food, and some Chinese, but they were either chains or not very up market. We assumed Durham would be like Canterbury and other cathedral towns/cities, but in fact it's quite a poor place, judging by the shops (all the usuals with BHS as their department store. No John Lewis!). So no nice bistros or independent restaurants. We guess there's places in the surrounding villages, but as we were on foot we didn't find out.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Corridor too narrow for wardrobe to open properly
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belindaruralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

Nine of us stayed for two nights. The staff was wonderful - helping with directions to various sights and answering our many questions. Rooms are not huge, but very comfortable and spotless. Breakfast buffet excellent. Overall, we were extremely pleased.

  • Liked — Room, location, staff, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — parking lot -- small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank th20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

We booked in in a large group for a friends celebrations - they upgraded us to using the presidential suite with a number of triple rooms for other guests - the room I was in was a triple room lovely river view - it was clean - I think the only thing that wasnt great was the camp bed in the triple room for one of my friends - we all paid the same so you sort of expect a proper bed in a proper triple room - but we all enjoyed our stay - breakfasts are AMAZING - yum! The lobby and reception area and bar area are very smart and all very nicely kept - All round a nice hotel - no problems

  • Liked — The old building and river location - bar abd breakfast areas great - all good
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

Our stay here was very memorable for all of the wrong reasons!! They had to swap our mattress because it was sagging everywhere - when the porter came to remove it, what was left of the contents fell out across the room floor!

  • Liked — Durham is a great city
  • Disliked — the bed!
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed here over our wedding weekend and so had a large number of additional family and freinds staying with us too. Overall we had an excellent time and found the hotel to be clean, very comfy with great rooms, a fantastic breakfast and efficient staff. The only let downs were that on arrival I had booked treatments after seeing 'Spa' information advertised on the hotel's official website, and arrived bang on time at the leisure club to be informed that they don't actually do the treatments on site they are in a beauty salon in the town itself! Their website is not very clear about this ( I wasn't the only one to miss this fact) so be warned... also there was one dreaful member of bar / serving staff who seemd incapable of being civil to us let alone serving us and managed to treat all our party members as though they were invisible! Despite this we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to visitors, especially for its excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank factorygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

My Wife and I visited Durham for a long weekend to visit family. I am biased but I love Durham City. The hotel was fantastic with very helpful friendly staff. The staff could not do enough for you. The location for the hotel could not be better, it is a 2 minute walk into the market square or to the castle and cathedral. I stayed in a suite so the room was super, large comfortable bed, etc. The only downside to the room was the view, but every room cannot have the best view. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff were unobtrusive, I have stayed in other hotels were you constantly have housekeeping staff knocking your door or in the corridor outside but none of that here. Great reception staff and bar staff. The car park is always rather full but again staff ensure it is not a problem. It is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel and will not be the last.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Car Park
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickaWestonSuperMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing