We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at The Marriott Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at The Marriott Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Myself and my partner had an excellent stay at the Marriott Hotel last weekend for my birthday. The moment we walked into reception we were offered a canape whilst we checked in which was a nice touch. The reception staff were attentive, knowledeable and very friendly. Our room was lovely with a huge comfy bed and we were just a stones throw from the centre.

The breakfast was excellent and we made full use of the lovely pool and spa area. This is our second visit here and won't be our last.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100ameliag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    536
    270
    124
    53
See reviews for
291
581
55
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I have previously stayed here for a stag doo, summer 2013. The stay was great, even though we only slept there for 5 hours.

I recently returned with my girlfriend. We stayed in and enjoyed room service, both meow where restaurant standard. We also enjoyed a great £15.50 in room breakfast.

The breakfast was a real delight and well worth the money.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Siwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a poor experience at a different hotel in Scotland so decided to stop in Durham on way back to York. Glad we did - this hotel is in a perfect location for the city centre. Just step out of the door and you are there. Arrived at 12 and room wasn't ready but they went out of their way to get is ready quickly. Reception rang us within 30 minutes to tell us we could check in.
Great room with 2 double beds in - one for us and one for the 12 year old. Didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Breakfast was good though.
The on-site coffee shop (I think its Costa Coffee) appeared to be the only place to get a drink at that time of day. It was full of students on their i-pads hogging all the tables and taking 2 hours to sip their cold coffee. It was jammed to the rafters with them so we had to eat our snack and drink coffee back in the room. I didn't mind but I think that Costa/Hotel needs to be mindful that guests of the hotel would like to eat/drink in the café. But apart from that slight niggle 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Feb- was meant to be a relaxing treat due to a recent bereavement, booked in advance with explanation and subsequent requests. Given that we are locals I have known of the RC and it has always had a consistent reputation hence the booking.
On arrival there was a three deep queue at reception, when we were finally attended to we we're told our room wasn't ready (even though it was check in time). That was it....no offer of a complimentary coffee while we waited or even a chair to sit on. Looking around I noticed two other couples in the same situation looking pretty fed up.
My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a drink in the bar whilst waiting and at nearly £10 for two standard drinks it was a treat. I had read a previous review about the 'state' of the bar and hoped the reviewer wasn't right as I had fond memories of a beautifully dressed bar at The County. On entering I realised the reviewer was spot on - all of the paintings had gone from the wall and the furniture was sparse and randomly placed. The lovely ambience the bar once had was gone and I felt like we were drinking in a train station corridor bar.
On returning to reception twenty minutes later our room still wasn't ready , I was told it was because we had requested a room with disability access facilities ( which we hadn't and not sure why that should make a difference?) Again the response was final we would just have to wait. After pushing for a bit more of a response we were told there was a room available in the hotel annexe (the coach house!) in the car park. I explained we had asked for a quiet room with a river view having booked well in advance but it became pretty obvious this was going to be the only offering .
We got to our room ,placed between a road and the car park, back in the day I'm sure it would have been a lovely fresh Marriott styled room but it was looking tired and worn in places. The cleaning trolley and bags of dirty laundry still lying in the corridor still didn't really help with the ambiance.
Within the room itself some typical Marriott features like the lovely bed/bedding/blackout curtains and bathroom soothed us slightly . Tea and coffee facilities were just that - sorry we did have some custard creams to dunk!- I've had a wider choice in more basic b and b's.
The most annoying part of our stay for me (in addition to having to write this review in the vain hope someone at the hotel might care enough to response)was that my husband had purchased a marriott leisure voucher for the spa a couple of weeks earlier hence us choosing this hotel to stay at. Even though I spoke to the leisure staff twice before and after booking we were never told that this aspect of the hotel facilities was free and included in the price of the room. We were allowed to redeem our voucher as well as paying for the room.
Within the 'spa' area the ladies changing rooms were filthy, floor covered in mud. Even though I alerted the staff to this neither seemed too bothered and said they'd have a look. My husband noted that in the male changers bathers in the pool had a birds eye view of the blokes getting changed (read naked) if they were unfortunate enough as he was to be standing in the wrong place when someone entered the changing room.
We decided to go out for the night and were ready for breakfast the next morning. As we had had to ask for information about breakfast venues and times at reception earlier, because it hadn't been offered (funny how asking for payment happened before we were even given a room) we meandered down to the hotel hoping the times given were correct. We were told we could take breakfast up until 12:00 which we thought a bonus but on arriving at the restaurant we were told there were no tables available and on looking around us several other couples were also hanging around with raffle tickets. Not only were there no tables but we were placed in a queue-luckily we didn't have to rush off but other guests were less understanding and quite rightly so.
After a fair wait a member of staff came along telling us to "come on down!" I wondered if this was a game show after all and I'd slipped into some parallel universe, it certainly hadn't been the pampered hotel experience we're used to at Marriott.
The breakfast was really lovely and plentiful - my husband was a bit put out at being asked why he wanted two fried eggs when the cook had six others to fry, and I had to ask for a clean tea pot as mine had obviously had camomile in before my standard breakfast tea but the buffet section was tasty and offered a great choice of options.
I don't know what's going on at the RC at the moment but I felt really let down and disappointed by the service (or lack of it) during our stay and living in Durham I know there are other higher quality hotels available at a more competitive price. I did mention my above points to the receptionist, on leaving, and I have waited for some sort of response before posting this but it seems the service we received on arrival is pretty much reflective of what you can expect throughout and after your stay.
All in all they're happy to take your payment and that's about it. Would we stay again or recommend? Probably not.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zbee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your stay here at the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County and disappointed that you did not receive the response you were expecting following your departure from the hotel. From your in-depth feedback, we will be able to discuss your experience in detail and I assure you we will take actions where possible to prevent these issues happening again.
Thank you once again and I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in Durham and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very close to the station and also very close to castle and cathedral which I wanted to visit. We just walked around the area and everything was easily accessible. The hotel itself has a nice old English feel to it and the rooms are cozy. The staff is very friendly but I felt they were understaffed specially at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vidhi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The room was ok but the in-room Wi-Fi was the most expensive I have come across anywhere in the world and I have travelled to every continent. The cost was a monstrous 6 GBP per hour which they 'generously' reduced to £15 per day. This is unacceptable and I do hope that this letter causes Marriott to substantially reduce or better still eliminate their Wi-Fi charging. Unless and until they do I will never stay at a Marriott hotel again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that you found the internet connection expensive in your guest room, however, we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel, including the Durham Bar and Starbucks, which you might use on your next stay.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a function in the City. The overwhelming memories of this hotel are the outstanding staff who gave beautiful attentive service and were friendly, engaging and helpful.
We booked with Superbreaks who made an error with our booking (booked 2 rooms, not one) but the staff dealt with it quickly, efficiently & with minimum fuss. A good price.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom, though a little cold in the morning, was large and functional. A large and comfortable bed, decent TV (but only Freeview channels) and reasonable tea making facilities.
Marriott is another hotel that insist on charging for Internet in the rooms, although you can get free wifi in the public areas. I'd thought that the number of chains doing this had reduced (I even got free wifi recently in a Premier Inn!) & I don't think it's justifiable in this day & age. I never pay!
The breakfast was one of the better buffets I've experienced and we ate one evening in the restaurant where the food was very good, although spoilt by an outrageously noisy pre-teens party in the function room above. The staff dealt with this reasonably effectively although they couldn't stop the noise completely. We received a very satisfactory compensating gesture.
Decent swimming pool and poolside spa facilities.
Would I come again? Yes!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing