We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location. Close to downtown. You cross the bridge and you are in the old city, close to the Cathedral built in 1096. Cobble stone streets and several restaurants.
Staff showed care about my issue, which was the wrong reservation. Watch out for additional fees such an internet service. It is not always included. Parking is five British Pounds. Breakfast is great. Comfortable and clean bed. However,it was short for my long body. I had to sleep diagonally. I was by myself. Clean bathroom. I enjoyed the small swimming pool, the sauna, the steam room. Staff is great.

Room Tip: Expensive during the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabah_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant twice. The room was well appointed with a king size bed that was very comfy. Nice view of the cathederal tower BUT there were two weddings while we stayed and the noise was horrendous from the disco which was very near our room.
Reception was most welcoming, but why do we have to pay for parking at a hotel with a car park!!!!
The menu in the restaurant was the same on both nights. I had what was probably the worst cheeseboard ever, fridge cold rubbery rubbish!!!!
I would not return, which is a shame because the location is perfect and I have very fond memories of the hotel in my childhood.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Dorothy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was very disappointed to read that you had been disturbed by noise during your stay and I am sorry that the cheeseboard that was served to you was not to your satisfaction.
It would be a shame if your experience on this occasion would deter you from visiting us again in the future as you kindly say you have fond memories of previous stays.
I do hope that you will reconsider your decision to return to the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County and thank you again for your comments.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in room 219 on Saturday 26.04.2014 and to be honest, not impressed with the size of the room or the poor view to the rear carpark, having paid for a better room.
Although it never caused us a problem, we were disgusted to find elderly people struggling climbing stairs all Saturday and Sunday up until we left as all lifts were out of service. This is a disgrace.
Our stay based on the price paid was poor already but the Sunday morning breakfast was a totally JOKE!!!! had to wait in a 20 minute queue outside the dining room for breakfast. Not impressed with that, when eventually in my wife then waiting 20 minutes for a poached egg, then when received the egg found that the queue for the food was terrible, to make matters worse when she eventually got to the food, there was very little selection as all the dished has went empty. There were lots of people not happy with this situation.

Unfortunately I personally feel that on this occasion the Marriot actually robbed me, the breakfasts were £15.00 each and not worth £1.50. The room was £109 and again the overall experience does not warrant that amount.

Totally disappointed and disappointed that on checking out, the staff simply said, I am sorry about the breakfasts, we are aware of complaints and will pass your comments onto the Kitchen.

Well really you should have asked a senior member of management to speak with us at check out and then that could have avoided this review.

Room Tip: Don't waist your money on breakfast. Over priced and terrible. Plenty of pubs outside locally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitor227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read about your experience with your guestroom and breakfast throughout your stay and I am very disappointed that we did not respond to your comments in a satisfactory manner. I am grateful for your feedback which we can use as a valuable example in our customer service training.
On a more positive note, I am pleased to advise that work has now commenced on refurbishment of the guest elevators.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel when next travelling to Durham.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel, second time we have stayed here still think its best hotel in north east.fabulous location with parking, staff are very friendly and nothings to much trouble.
Had a lovely room overlooking the river spotless, excellent big bed and lots of very comfy pillows.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneoliver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed as a free night as part of the Marriott Rewards scheme and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Thurlow suite.
This consisted of a separate seating area and very pleasant furnishings
The hotel has been extended over the years and so is a sprawling maze of coridoors. Our room had a partial view of Elvet Bridge and the river so good for people watching.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food. There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel where we had a snack breakfast the next morning.
Ideal central location-hotel has own car park with £5 per night charge

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we stayed for two nights (29/04/14 - 1/05/14 ) , we booked a Supreme room !
Reception staff very helpful , co operative , as some previous reports , some guests got a welcome drink upon their arrival , but not us !!!! .

The was nice and big , spacious , but poorly lite , no view at all .
The room had a sofa to sit on , but if you sat there , you could not see the tv , as a wardrobe was in the way !! . The decor was nice , nice big bed , good night sleep . There was bottles of water , but unsure if they was free or you had to pay for them , no mention of anything next to the water !
Bathroom , bath , separate shower , pleanty of hot water , but tolietrieswre poor , only one small bar of soap , for bath , shower , hand basin ???

No slippers !! , NO FRIDGE why , where do you keep your milk , beer , or wine to keep cold ?
NO WI FI , , over £300 for two nights today you would expect it as standard
Breakfast very good , , hot / cold food , fresh fruit , again the staff helpful , polite

Fitness centre was good , again polite helpful staff
Swimming pool heated , , did not use the gym

Car parking £10 for two full days

we had room 135 , we like the location of the hotel , the hotel had charm , great staff , but seem to lack something , we enjoyed our stay , but would not stop there again

Room Tip: room 135 , big , but poor lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joey023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that your visit to the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion but we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County on your next visit to Durham. Warm regards, Des Caldwell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed for 3 nights,----with a group of 50,-----I was treated as "an individual,important guest"-----not as a "bunch ,on a coach trip"(which does happen).The registration was super-efficient,all meals very generous portions served by very attentive waiters,.The hotel is in a great location for sight-seeing.It "runs smoothly",despite being busy.Every membsr of staff greats you with a smile,and could not be more helpful.The room I had was lovely.I had telehoned before my visit to ask for a "quiet room,with shower",if poss.I think I was given an upgrade,as I had a really gorgeous room ,as quiet as it was possible to organise,with a river view.I appreciated that SO MUCH ----THANKYOU----!!!!!Another wonderful point is that breakfast is served until11am!!!---(very unusual)and welcoming to me as I am a very poor sleeper.The bed and pillows are so comfortable, that on Sat.I slept until 10am.!!!!I expected breakfast to only have little choice at that time-----WRONG!!!There was every choice!!!What else can I say......*************THANKYOU SO MUCH************

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £70 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing