We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned after a bargain break stay at the County. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the hotel staff couldn't be faulted as they had advance notice and reallllllly made the experience worthwhile. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we had room only and there are plenty of cafes etc close to the hotel to test at lower prices.The room was in the Riverside section with king size bed, river view and very modern amenities. Yes the hotel has many corridors but hey its not a small hotel!
We had stayed at the County before some years ago and yes the refurbishment was needed and is now complete. The only gripe we had was the "new" bar which we found quite austere and uninviting if your looking for a nice lounge "snug" type bar with comfy drop in armchairs and sofas. The musak TV was on all the time. The previous bar was more of a homely character and needed a refit, but not we think with minimalist decor. The Marriott in Bristol has Palm and Club bars and these are surely a more welcoming approach with lounge comfort given a priority. That said the restaurant evening meal was excellent, service exemplary and a good choice of menu. All of the sights in Durham City are within walking distance for those able enough, but remember Durham is built on hills! We can recommend a stay here without doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a Riverside room, but prepare for a longer walk from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaveatEmptorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

On arrival upgraded to a Super deluxe room, excellent service by all of the staff,the food was great with breakfast being the best meal of the day, halfway through the holiday my wife broke her foot, room changed to a more convenient location, the loan of a wheelchair,cushions provided during lunch to rest the foot.
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a few days break this week. Clean room,good breakfast and lovely leisure facilities. Most impressed with the staff,everyone was very friendly and helpful. Great location just walk over the bridge to the town centre..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night only. Nice looks. Beautiful rooms. No free internet, poor room service, shower didn't work well and I was leavin too early to inform the staff. Didn't enjoy my stay there. And did I mention the place is built like a maze? Constantly got lost.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Voke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was sorry to read that you experienced poor room service and that your shower didn’t work very well and I am disappointed that we were unable to address this for you prior to your departure.
We do offer our guests free wifi in the bar, lounge, lobby and Starbucks store within the hotel so perhaps you can take advantage of this should you return to the hotel.
Hope we can welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for two nights had a large room, didn't like parking charges or no free internet. Did like gym and pool, also squid starter and pork schnitzel on the night I ate there was fine. Breakfast was excellent haggis being the highlight, staff were very good. Right in town. Also wasn't too keen on the doors for the rooms, heavy as they are fire doors but no quiet closing so idiots who don't think wake everyone up, not the hotels fault I know.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location. Close to downtown. You cross the bridge and you are in the old city, close to the Cathedral built in 1096. Cobble stone streets and several restaurants.
Staff showed care about my issue, which was the wrong reservation. Watch out for additional fees such an internet service. It is not always included. Parking is five British Pounds. Breakfast is great. Comfortable and clean bed. However,it was short for my long body. I had to sleep diagonally. I was by myself. Clean bathroom. I enjoyed the small swimming pool, the sauna, the steam room. Staff is great.

Room Tip: Expensive during the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabah_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant twice. The room was well appointed with a king size bed that was very comfy. Nice view of the cathederal tower BUT there were two weddings while we stayed and the noise was horrendous from the disco which was very near our room.
Reception was most welcoming, but why do we have to pay for parking at a hotel with a car park!!!!
The menu in the restaurant was the same on both nights. I had what was probably the worst cheeseboard ever, fridge cold rubbery rubbish!!!!
I would not return, which is a shame because the location is perfect and I have very fond memories of the hotel in my childhood.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Dorothy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was very disappointed to read that you had been disturbed by noise during your stay and I am sorry that the cheeseboard that was served to you was not to your satisfaction.
It would be a shame if your experience on this occasion would deter you from visiting us again in the future as you kindly say you have fond memories of previous stays.
I do hope that you will reconsider your decision to return to the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County and thank you again for your comments.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
569 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £76 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing