We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curates egg. Hotel good. Food bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Curates egg. Hotel good. Food bad.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I grew up near Durham, but hadn't been back for 50 years, so hoped to show off how wonderful I'd remembered it to be. I remembered that the Durham Royal County was the "posh" hotel so obviously had to stay there. The hotel is ideally situated beside the river and very close to the city centre - just a couple of minutes walk away. The room was just fine - overlooking the river.
We had intented to eat out, but it was raining so decided to eat in the hotel. Mistake! - the food was awful, just awful. The menu was just basic pub food, nothing in the least adventurous. The starter was supposedly Portobello mushrooms but they were no more that 4 cms across. The vegetables were grossly overcooked and all tasted of stale cabbage water, the fish I had was stuck to the plate and its (insipid) sauce dried up around the edges.
So disappointing.
The hotel charges £15 for WiFi access - absolutely outrageous.
By all means stay at the hotel and enjoy the delights of Durham City, but do eat elsewhere!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal as it is never our intention that any guest leaves the hotel less than completely satisfied.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future and thank you once again for your comments.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    532
    269
    124
    52
See reviews for
289
578
54
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, couldn't fault it at all. We had a king size bed and it was the best night's sleep I have had in ages. Lovely swimming pool, great breakfast and the service was exceptional. Special mention to the lady who oversees breakfast who is friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sonyaeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived to find a number of cars circling the car park to find a space, even though we were told there was parking. We were told by reception to go out, pay for parking on the street and keep coming down from our room to check for spaces. This created arguments between guests in the car park. The receptionist behaved like a someone out of Stepford Wives - I'm sure most people don't appreciate un-feeling, blanket type responses.

The room was too warm, so we left the windows open only to find many mosquitoes on the ceiling - on inspection you could see, by previously swatted mosquitoes that this had happened before, they could do with warning guests riverside that this can happen.

The TV although big, kept breaking up. Breakfast was pretty bad - it looked like a lot, but if it is possible to buy the cheapest, most tasteless oranges, bread, croissants etc etc they did.

The location is good, but all in all pretty poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you had difficulty with car parking. I am very disappointed that we did not respond to your comments in a satisfactory manner.

I am sorry that you did not find out breakfast selection to be to your complete satisfaction as we always strive to ensure this is the case.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we always use such feedback when training our team to help drive of customer satisfaction forward.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned after a bargain break stay at the County. It was a birthday trip for my wife and the hotel staff couldn't be faulted as they had advance notice and reallllllly made the experience worthwhile. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we had room only and there are plenty of cafes etc close to the hotel to test at lower prices.The room was in the Riverside section with king size bed, river view and very modern amenities. Yes the hotel has many corridors but hey its not a small hotel!
We had stayed at the County before some years ago and yes the refurbishment was needed and is now complete. The only gripe we had was the "new" bar which we found quite austere and uninviting if your looking for a nice lounge "snug" type bar with comfy drop in armchairs and sofas. The musak TV was on all the time. The previous bar was more of a homely character and needed a refit, but not we think with minimalist decor. The Marriott in Bristol has Palm and Club bars and these are surely a more welcoming approach with lounge comfort given a priority. That said the restaurant evening meal was excellent, service exemplary and a good choice of menu. All of the sights in Durham City are within walking distance for those able enough, but remember Durham is built on hills! We can recommend a stay here without doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a Riverside room, but prepare for a longer walk from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaveatEmptorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tula, Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On arrival upgraded to a Super deluxe room, excellent service by all of the staff,the food was great with breakfast being the best meal of the day, halfway through the holiday my wife broke her foot, room changed to a more convenient location, the loan of a wheelchair,cushions provided during lunch to rest the foot.
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a few days break this week. Clean room,good breakfast and lovely leisure facilities. Most impressed with the staff,everyone was very friendly and helpful. Great location just walk over the bridge to the town centre..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night only. Nice looks. Beautiful rooms. No free internet, poor room service, shower didn't work well and I was leavin too early to inform the staff. Didn't enjoy my stay there. And did I mention the place is built like a maze? Constantly got lost.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Voke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was sorry to read that you experienced poor room service and that your shower didn’t work very well and I am disappointed that we were unable to address this for you prior to your departure.
We do offer our guests free wifi in the bar, lounge, lobby and Starbucks store within the hotel so perhaps you can take advantage of this should you return to the hotel.
Hope we can welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing