We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, lovely big rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely big rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a very nice city.
The rooms are big with massive comfy beds. Shower and bath available along with tea and coffee in the room. The rooms are very clean and kept well.
If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the river you wont be dissapointed.
The town centre is a 5 min walk away.
The bar and food is quite pricey but plenty of places to go to in the town itself.

Great place to stay for a special weekend away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    525
    262
    124
    51
See reviews for
279
574
54
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed here many times, whilst visiting relatives and have enjoyed all the Hotel has to offer. The rooms are large, more typical of an old Hotel, and the furnishings are lovely and well suited to the building. Everything was comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. The location is excellent for exploring the City, it is steps away from all the attractions.....yet still has a peaceful atmosphere within.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSunshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have stayed twice at this hotel, most recently for my daughter's graduation. The thing that made our stays such a pleasure was the staff. For example, when I arrived I was too early to checkin and sat myself in the lounge. I was immediately offered a drink by a very friendly lady. The waitresses at breakfast were very helpful and the front desk was also slick at getting us what we needed. The beauty salon was really, really good (Clarins) so getting a facial made everything even more relaxing. Finally, I managed to forget some things in the room after we checked out. I have just spoken to Karen in housekeeping who was just fantastic and reassuring; my items are being posted out today.

The hotel is frankly a bit tired in decor and although attempts have been made to renovate parts, the whole still looks short of investment. However, the bed was comfortable and the room had lovely views of the river.

Room Tip: We had 232 which is a junior suite and a huge improvement on the standard bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripplevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Enjoyed three night stay at the hotel ,very comfortable bed and good sized room, leisure facilities overlooking the river also very good. A short walk into town. The room I had was on the riverside so I found it easier to use the leisure center entrance,just go down stairs out the door turn right go through tunnel and up past the Swan and Three Cygnets thus avoiding busy road and allowing for a pint or two of Taddy larger by the river, I found this a lot easier than going through hotel main entrance.

Room Tip: rooms on riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshunter005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Pros:
Comfy bed
Pleasing spa facilities
Nice lobby/bar area
Good breakfast served until 12 on a Sunday (great after a night out)
Late check out (12pm)
Good location for going out in Durham
Riverside view was lovely

Cons:
Slow check in. Simple processes such as a card swipe seemed to take forever.
One room was ready at 1:30, one room was ready at 3:00 and one wasn't ready until 4:15-why such a difference? The claim that it was 'busy' wasn't acceptable-busy should be well planned for!
In one of the rooms the toilet didn't flush properly, the window didn't open and the shower didn't work properly. Not a 4* service.
Clunky/outdated lift

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiggy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was very disappointed that your check-in was slow and your party experienced some maintenance faults within your rooms.
I was also sorry that whilst our Housekeeping team service rooms between 8am – 5pm at weekends and endeavour to have the rooms ready for arrivals by 3pm, on this occasion, one of your rooms was not ready until later.
We’ve just completed the refurbishment of the guest elevator in the existing wing of the hotel and in a couple of weeks, work will commence on the elevator that services the middle part of the hotel which will be finished mid-August.
Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your stay so we hope you will visit us again in the future Thank you again for your comments.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for one night in room 307 a suite. It was so lovely with a separate living area. Two great tv's a lovely comfortable bed. It has a great position in the centre of Durham. The hotel itself has a very lovely feel with high quality fittings everywhere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Accommodation in Durham City can get tight sometimes when there are conferences on or during the University start-of-year and graduation weeks. So we found the Marriott when the popular high-rated B&Bs were all booked out. It proved to be a good location, with its own parking, right in the centre of town. Room was good size (we were given one of the riverside rooms) and reasonably well appointed although getting near due for a refurb. Internet is outrageously expensive at £15 a day, although free in the lobby area. In any case though, like most people these days we just used the 3G signal to get our emails etc. Breakfast was good enough, although the scrambled eggs had a slight suspicion of being....powdered (surely not)! Overall good value (if you don't pay for the internet) and practical for a short stay in Durham. We would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms seem to be bigger than the others (although the river view isn't especially scen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing