We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - thank you”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed earlier this month. Studied at this university 30 years ago and had always promised myself a stay when I was earning. Took a long time, but returned for my daughter's graduation. From the champagne welcome to the adjoining river view rooms everything was perfect. It was all better than I could have imagined. Didn't get lost in corridors ... just followed the signs. OK the lift is past its best but quite charming all the same. Our rooms were spotless. The biggest plus though, are the staff who, without exception, are attentive, helpful and cheerful.
Thank you for a lovely stay. I didn't want anything to marr a very special event and you did everything possible to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    540
    277
    125
    53
See reviews for
294
591
55
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel superb surroundings and fabulous views! Centrally located and within a stone throw of Durham Uni and a few public golf courses! All in all real value for money and I am looking forward to going back in October!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syedarehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Durham is a city of great historical interest. This hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from Durham train station. The staff in this hotel are extremely helpful from reception staff to waiting staff at breakfast, they are fantastic and utilise their customer care skills to the full. Down-side for me was having to pay for wi-fi in the rooms, however free wi-fi in public areas. Staff can't do enough for you - food amazing. Surrounding area safe when out for a walk on your own.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-furbished room. Staff are most helpful. Corner suites are large, sunny and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good city centre location. A bit on the old side and in need of a refurbishment. We had a riverside room which was beautiful but required a complex walk around the hotel. The hotel consists of 3 interlinking buildings so to get to the riverside rooms, you need to go up to the 2nd floor, walk across the corridor and go back down 1 floor. Not the easiest when you have suitcases and not for those who gets lost easily. Breakfast was quite nice. Good selection and hot. No free wifi in the rooms. Free wifi available in public areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextStopTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am sorry if you found the route to our Riverside rooms challenging with your luggage, however I was pleased to read the positive comments about your guest room and breakfast along with the location of the hotel.
Should your travels bring you back to Durham, we would like to welcome you back to the Royal County Hotel.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

the hotel is in desperate need of repairs. Our room was tired and needed updating. Fixtures fall off bathroom walls, we put band aids on the shower head to keep it on. Shame because I enjoy Marriott Hotels but this put a damper on my impression.

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was very sorry to read that the shower in your bathroom was in poor condition. We have a dedicated maintenance team committed to ensuring all of our guest rooms are in good repair and it seems on this occasion we have failed to identify the fault in your room.
I do hope that your experience this time will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
244 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Deserves serious refurbishment. Everything is old and falling apart. Breakfast: they have installed a cook (they call him a chef) baking eggs in the middle of the breakfast area with absolutely no air cleaning, no hood!!! As a result, smoky area, and your fresh clothes ready for the day with a smell of grilled fat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was sorry too read that you found our restaurant during breakfast uncomfortable. We are committed to constantly improving our hotel and have recently refurbished our lobby and bar area. We are currently undergoing the refurbishment of two of our guest elevators and our banqueting suite. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area, when I hope you would be able to see the improvements we have made to our public areas.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Myself, friends and family stayed at this hotel for the weekend for my wedding which elsewhere. From check in the service was excellent. The staff were up & down to our room straight away bringing mini fridge & trying so sort out an early check in for one of our friends. I was also brought a complementary bottle of champagne on ice on the morning of my wedding.
All our rooms were nice. Either smaller rooms with a massive King sized beds or larger rooms with 2 doubles! Beds very comfy & breakfast room service was lush! The bar is a good size and modern & the spa facilities are very good.
10/15min walk from all the restaurants & bars :)
Would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckixlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing