We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went for a weekend away and booked the Marriot Hotel. On arriving we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, he was very polite. We were booked into room 257 which was ready for us on arrival. The lift was not working as they were having a new one installed. Our room was spacious as so was the bed. The bathroom was of a good size with everything you would need. There was also a TV, a safe and tea and coffee facilities. I had no problem with this hotel, we had a view overlooking the river too which was lovely. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I would recommend it to my other friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    549
    280
    127
    53
See reviews for
295
601
57
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I, together with my Mother, stayed in two rooms at this hotel on 7th August.

On arrival into the hotel car park, we parked in a disabled spot (as my Mother has some walking difficulties) adjacent to reception and I checked in, very quickly and eficiently, whilst my wife was organising things in the car. The car park has what looks to be an adequate number of ordinary parking spaces together with a good number of disabled spaces. It is always irksome though to be expected to pay for parking in a hotel car park, albeit £5 per night when paying to stay in the hotel anyway.

We had reserved two deluxe rooms and unfortunately one was situated adjacent to the newly insatlled lift which could be clearly heard opening and closing from within our room. Having learned from previous experiences, we asked to move rooms. Our request was facilitated without question but unfortunately the hotel was very busy and the rooms we were re-allocated were much smaller and of lesser quality then those we had reserved, this fact was recognised within our bill.

The hotel was nicely appointed and well maintained, many new and very plush carpets had apparently been laid very recently in the ground floor areas.

The bar was pleasant but a little souless when we were there as we were the only people in there, at 7.30pm.

The breakfast room was very nice and the food was good. It would have been useful had we have been given details of what was on offer when we entered the breakfast room as it wasn't until we had eaten that we noticed a live egg station that we would have made use of had we known of its existence!

The location of the hotel is very good for able people walking to the centre of the City and the Cathedral. We did struggle a little with my Mother as the route is quite steep for an aged person with walking difficulties to negotiate. The hotel staff did offer to organise a taxi to take us to the Cathedral and in hindsight that would have been more appropriate than trying to walk.

All the staff were very freindly and professional in their approach to us, well done to them all.

All in all, this is a nice hotel in a great location which we would gladly return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualitySeekers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have stayed here over a dozen times over the past few months while on business. Marriott Durham is in a great location for all the restaurants and pubs in the city centre. The rooms in the hotel are ok but looking a bit tired. Also, the rooms tend to be pretty noisy if you have people in the room above you. Food is ok but nothing special. Staff at the front desk are normally excellent but a couple of times have experienced pretty rude behaviour which is a shame. Overall a decent hotel at a reasonable price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was sorry to read that you felt the hotel looked tired, we have a dedicated rooms preventative team in place at the hotel to sure all bedrooms are maintained to a high standard, We have also recently completed a refurbishment of the public areas of the hotel which include new carpet, furniture,artwork and the decoration of these areas. I was very disappointed to learn that the reception team have not delievred their usual high standards of service on your recent visits to the hotel. I do hope that your experience this time will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I have to be honest ... all of the staff I encountered at check in, and in the bar and leisure club were brilliant and went out of their way consistently and were a credit to the hotel. It's a pity therefore that the hotel itself was a bit lacking. The modern bar looked out of place in an old building and was soulless. My room in the Coach house annex smelt of both damp and smoke and the water wasn't amazingly hot. I am sure that the fab staff would have tried to sort the room out but when you're only there for 12 or 15 hours in total there wasn't really the opportunity or time. Hotel management: reward your staff and have a good hard look at the hotel itself!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding the team, we pride ourselves on our staff service and it is always a pleasure to receive such kind words. I was sorry to read that you felt the hotel looked tired, we have a dedicated team at the hotel that are continually working on rooms preventative maintenance to ensure our bedrooms are maintained to a high standard, I am sorry on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We have recently refurbished our Lobby and Bar areas and this is part of our public area renovation programme. I do hope that your experience this time will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel in a very convenient position is quite easy (uphill) walking distance of the sights of the city centre.

Our room was very comfortable, although dark furniture made it a bit gloomy and it was a bit cramped for the price. The bed was particularly comfortable, the room was very clean ( the trouser press was very welcome),and although there was no fridge/mini-bar, only an empty cupboard , there was complimentary mineral water, replenished every day. Apart from the dressing-table chair, there was no sort of second chair in the room. It was nice to have a window that could be opened to enjoy fresh air at night..........the sleep quality was good.

Breakfast was outstanding for choice, quality and the attentiveness of the staff. The helpful attitude of staff to guests is a strong feature of the hotel.

There is unlimited free Wi-fi in the public areas. There is a charge for Wi-fi in the bedrooms

Apart from breakfast, we did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. We did consider the bar menu for lunch but it looked rather pretentious, so we did not try it.

This is not a super-luxury hotel, but it is good quality, value for money and cares for its guests. We would use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the reception area look out on the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Came to visit son & watch the rowing - hotel in perfect location for town centre & river. Booking in was pleasant - offered glass of bubbly on arrival! Long walk to our room, but room fine. Views of car park, but at least we weren't woken by the early rowing birds on the river! Room more than adequate. Chose not to have breakfast in hotel - plenty if nearby local quality cafés that provide excellent breakfasts, just two mins from hotel for less than £5. Managed to park in hotel car park all weekend, but I know that's not guaranteed. Would return if visiting son again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madwife007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From start to finish of our one night stay the staff were lovely. Our room (164) was in need of refurbishment and the bathroom had a very unpleasant odour we sprayed it with perfume to cover it as it was only for one night. The cleaners and in-room staff had done their best and the
room was as clean as they could and the bed was made up to perfection.
It was not fair to take this up with the reception as it was a problem with the Marriott itself if they let off a room that is sub standard.
I have stayed in many Marriott hotels and this is the first time that I have not been happy with the room.
The breakfast was also nothing special I am afraid but again the service from the staff was great, I am not going to spoil somebody's day when they do their job properly.
This will not stop me staying at these hotels as its a one off and I am sure that this room will shortly be refurbished.
Ann Lloyd

Room Tip: Do ask to look at your room before staying, I will in future!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was disappointed to read that the condition of the bedroom was not to your complete satisfaction we have a dedicated rooms preventative program in place to sure all bedrooms are maintained to a high standard, I am sorry that on this occasion that we did not execute this to a satisfactory standard.
It is always a delight to read such positive feedback about the team, thank you for your kind words about both our housekeeping and food and beverage teams.
I am pleased that your experience this time will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing