We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyable nights stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2009

While visiting from Australia we booked last minute for an overnights stay while attending a wedding reception held at the hotel . Got good rates for a family room and staff very helpful. Lived for 25yrs just up the road from hotel but had never stayed there. Wasnt disappointed. Wedding, reception and evening function (also in hotel) all perfect.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    567
    293
    133
    59
See reviews for
307
625
60
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed here whilst my fiancée was on business. I was extremely impressed with the staff on arrival. They were friendly and offered advice without being over powering with information. We stayed in a large room overlooking the river. Ask for riverside when you book as the rooms are huge. The bed was massive and the room was very clean. We ordered room service which was prompt. I ate in the restaurant which was good apart from an over cooked steak but I did receive a lovely new one very quickly. The Leisure club was clean although the pool is definitely not designed for a 'get fit' swim! All in all a good Marriott hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie-must-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I stayed for two nights with my husband and two daughters. We had connecting rooms on the river side. We were on the end so we could see both ways along the river.
Saturday when we returned in the evening, the car park was full so the attendant took our car keys so it could be parked in a parking bay later.
Sunday morning when we went for breakfast at 10:00am the dining room was full, so we were brought fruit juice to the lounge, were we waited for about 20mins until a table was free.
We spent an enjoyable hour in the leisure pools on Saturday night.
We thought the hotel was full of character and situated in a central part of Durham, where one way is the buzz of the city and the other the peace and tranquility of the river.
We thought it was a lovely hotel ....and can't think of any complaints. The car park probably should be bigger though.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpool-lou-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I stayed here the night before my wedding along with the rest of my family. The experience was mixed. The hotel is very old with a series of extensions to the original building that now look particularly dated and out of place. Inside there's little to complain about as it's standard Marriott-issue. I shared a twin room with my best man which was fine apart from being very warm and having a pathetic shower.

My parents were given a tiny room and asked to be moved, as were my brother and sister in law. They made no complaints about their new rooms but my brother raised an issue with the hotel's manager about the food service. On three separate occasions he ordered meals from the bar and the food either didn't turn up at all, had to be sent back as it was wrong or was simply poorly cooked and presented.

For the rates, well over £100 a night for the cheapest room, this hotel presents poor value. Clearly this place is used to having little or no competition in the city and the rates reflect that. Niggles like ineffective air conditioning and trickling showers shouldn't happen at hotels charging this much.

I wouldn't recommend against staying at the Marriott but I'd certainly advise you to check out the competition and weigh up the costs.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Although the bed was comfortable and cleanliness was good, the staff were pleasant and the rooms quiet, we were disappointed with this hotel. Internet was available for 15 pounds per day - it should have been complimentary. Room was cramped and badly laid out - closet was in the small hallway which made walking to the bathroom impossible if the door was open (if a different hinge was used, this problem would have been resolved. There was no clock/radio in the room and when we asked about it, we were told they had never been asked before - and yet they offered one for sale in their in room information. The breakfast was "full English", but Gordon Ramsey would be horrified to see a fried egg prepared in 2" deep fat - unheard of in this day and age!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckytolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I was here on business and we had several rooms booked for a number of nights.
The room itself was typical Mariott - great bead, plenty of space, adequate bathroom. It was clean and the guys on reception were great.
However, the service I received from the woman serving in the bar was DISGRACEFUL. She was so rude that literally every customer in the bar was talking about it. One customer, upon approaching the bar to be served was told in the most abrupt manner "Wait there. I can't do two things at once." At point, there was a queue of 5 people (no table service in here) and she was tutting and huffing and sighing all the way through serving them.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Away_For_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Riding, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

For many years the Marriott was undoubtedly the largest and probably the best hotel in Durham, superbly situated a short walk from the one thousand year old cathedral and nearby castle on the elevated ox-bow of the river Wier. However, suddenly, serious competition has arrived in the shape of a large and contemporary Radisson Blu and a budget Premier Inn, both associated with the new leisure complex just to the north of the city centre.
Back to the Marriott. The old hotel building on the roadside has been extended with more modern additions right down to the riverside and the entrance to reception is made from the internal car park (full at busy times) which is entered via a tunnel off the road. Rooms clearly vary in both size and outlook but ours was of good size and overlooked the river. Comfort and cleanliness were very good with a fair sized bathroom which however lacked such expected toiletries as hair conditioner and body lotion. There was a medium sized pool and associated fitness facilities which appeared well used and was well maintained.
On a DBB basis we were able to sample both breakfast and dinner offerings. The dinner had a large and varied menu and there was no difficulty in selecting an enjoyable and well cooked meal on two occasions. Breakfast was a good buffet offering - with limited bread choice - strange after the extensive choice offered for dinner. Service and friendliness of staff was commendable both in the restaurant and elsewhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing