We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sounds nice, but..............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sounds nice, but..............”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

With Marriot being in the name you would think you would be safe but.....Stayed one night in October when returning the daughter to uni. We paid £149.00 for one night, (no meals...just the room). Breakfast would have been £15.00 each, save your self some cash and make the short walk to any of the city centre cafe's or even drive up to the Tesco Express and get an absolute feast for a fraction of the cost. The room was large with a huge bed and plenty of pillows. Now if you want a nice relaxing bath make sure you have one before you leave home. The water pressure from the hot taps was so low the only way to get a hot bath was by using the electric shower. About 30 mins for an inch or two of hot water ! Oh...and dont be fooled by paying extra for a free parking space. Parking at this hotel is a free for all on a first come first served basis. Overall, disappointing for the price tag.......have stayed in better travel lodges.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    540
    278
    125
    53
See reviews for
294
592
55
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ncmmr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

A real pity, the hotel is nice and centrally located but when you try to use the leisure facilities, i.e. sauna, swimming pool etc the state of the place is appaling. The floor of the changing rooms is full of paper tissues and rubbish, the shower dispensers are empty, the fun shower hasn't been working for the last 2 weeks, the sanarium is out of service nearly every month, pools of water everywhere...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncmmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We spent last weekend at this hotel, first class.
Staff could not do more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazenby_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We have just returned from a 4 day trip to Durham staying at the Marriott in the city centre. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. There are two restaurants - one buffet style - and we had two meals in the buffet restaurant and one meal in the other restaurant. I expected the food to be of a higher standard as this was a 4* hotel and the standard was significantly improved in the restaurant with table service. Breakfast was extremely good and well presented. The staff are young and relatively inexperienced which was evidenced by being brought two glasses of white wine when we asked for Cabernet Sauvigon and she didn't know the difference but this could be easily remedied. The hotel is well placed for visiting the local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I have never encountered such rude and unhelpful staff in a 4* hotel! We stayed for one night in July 2009 - we had to queue for 20 minutes at reception to be given our key. Lugged our cases us two flights of stairs (the lift is the size of a postage stamp and there was a queue!) and the key didnt work, so had to go back to reception and queue up again to be told we'd been given a key to someone else's room.

The room was very small and very dated, the bathroom was dirty with hairs in the sink and the air conditioning was non-existant. But worse of all the room was so noisy - it had a view of the road and even with the windows shut you could hear everyone's conversation.

We went downstairs but the hotel was hosting an event and we could not get into the bar because it was so full, there were drunk people spilling out into the lobby and the whole place was strewn with glasses and rubbish, with people smoking indoors and no attempt by the staff to control the situation.

The car park had also been shut and we were told to park in a carpark about 5 minutes walk away. Our room rate included free parking and the hotel refused to reimburse the cost of the other carpark.

Due to the nosie going on into the evening, we had to move hotels to somewhere quieter. The reception staff made it quite clear we would get no refund, and even sending in several letters of complaint they still refuse to accept that the hotel wasn't up to standard.

I stay in various Marriotts about 6 times a month with my job and have never had any problems, but this hotel really puts the name to shame - if you want the standard normally associated with a Marriott do not stay at the Durham Royal County!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funky_bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed for a night recently, along with one child who was looking at the University. I used Marriott points so the room was free ( and I was offered an upgrade). We ate in the bar area and paid £50 for a burger, fish cakes pudding and drinks. Breakfast was a fixed price £14.95 which was too much for what was offered.
Room was quite acceptable; no a/c, but not necessary as is was raining!
Good leisure centre with an excellent (warm!) swimming pool.
I'd recommend it if you want these facilities and the location.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim0thyp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We have stayed at the Royal County quite a few times over the years (including when it was a Swallow hotel) and were really looking forward to our stay. However, we felt it was no longer a 4 star standard hotel and had a number of issues..

Firstly, the positives. The staff in the main hotel were extremely friendly and this is a great location in the centre of the city (which is stunning). Our room overlooked the river which was good. The pool is a decent size. Great idea to put the bill under the door on the last day to allow express checkout.

Sadly we had a longer list of negatives.
- The food was pretty poor on the whole. We had dinner in the County restaurant and the adult meals were adequate. However, I still cannot believe that the "spaghetti in tomato sauce" on the kids' menu was simply tinned spaghetti tipped into a bowl with a bizarre piece of grey-looking chicken on top. Fine for a greasy spoon but not in a 4 star hotel restaurant. Breakfast was ok but the hot food was not great with congealed/watery scrambled egg and no-one volunteered that you could ask for poached/fried eggs (which were good to be fair). We ordered a pot of tea for 2 in the bar which cost £6 and came on a tray with a stained napkin and dirty milk jug.
- The leisure club hasn't been refurbished since I first visited (a good 15 years ago) and is looking rather tired and grubby in places. The pool is a good size and nice and warm but the staff seemed unfriendly and more keen to tell you what you were doing wrong than being welcoming.
- The room was ok with a nice view but quite heavy, old fashioned decor and bathroom very 1990s (grey with pink flowers) but perfectly functional and good power shower. The fridges/mini-bars had all been decommissioned so no place to cool drinks. There was no air-conditioning in the room and we couldn't get the room to a comfortable temperature with the fan/windows opened as far as possible despite fairly cool cloudy weather.
- Reception seemed understaffed and there was often a queue. Equally phoning reception and housekeeping from the room often took a good 5 minutes before the phone was answered.

I know this sounds all very critical but when you charge £150 plus for a night, you should really deliver an equivalent service. We are not serial complainers by nature and we start every holiday presuming that we will enjoy our stay. We have enjoyed Travelodges and Premier Inns through to top-end hotels such as Calcot Manor and The Grove. But the Royal County fell short on this occasion and, despite our love of Durham, we won't be returning unless there are some big changes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing