We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott Hotels
US$124
View deal
Expedia.comUS$124
Booking.comUS$124
PricelineUS$124
Hotels.comUS$124
eDreamsUS$124
TravelocityUS$124
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveller rating
637
712
372
166
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
637
712
372
166
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park leisure club upgraded to a suite the river leisure centre excellent location per night central location reception staff buffet style breakfast was excellent town centre lovely room cathedral england
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2019 via mobile

Can’t beat the location!! Walking distance to everything...all local places. Felt very safe. The rooms were well appointed. Staff was very friendly as well! Really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again. Picture is outside my room.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2019 via mobile

I booked this hotel as I’d previously had a lovely stay in their hotel in Sunderland. We had a deluxe room which had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable. There was an issue with the shower tray as it is very shallow and doesn’t drain quickly. I managed to flood the bathroom. This was sorted quickly though.The room we had had a view of the river which was nice. We ate in the hotel one night sampling the market menu which was not very good. The crispy beef starter was tasty. We both opted for chicken for the main which came with some cheesy rocket concoction, it said it was Parmesan but it didn’t taste like it. The chicken wasn’t seasoned. It wasn’t good. The buffet breakfast however is very good. There is a good selection and everything hot. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Apart from their market menu this is a good stay in a nice hotel which is very central.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MayL189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Centrally located hotel in the heart of Durham with a small car park at the back of it.

We had a room overlooking the river which was great. Checking in and out was very efficient. The car park was £7 for 24 hours.

My only minor criticisms would be the very low water pressure for the shower in the room (if it’s to preserve water then a possible solution could be to add a plumbing adaptor that uses the same amount of water but gives you a better blast out of the shower head) and a slow breakfast service. It was Bank Holiday Monday so they were very busy but we were waiting a while to be seated and then they forgot to bring us our tea and coffee - we had to chase it. They also ran out of breakfast muffins due to how busy they were.

Another suggestion would be to have veggie sausages available with the breakfast buffet food as Hilton hotels often do this (they are available on request though).

Overall it was a really good stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StuWitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

Great location right in the centre of town. Everything is within walking distance so you can park up and forget about driving. Subsidised parking fee for residents (£7 for duration of stay). Nice rooms, relaxing bar area. Plentiful breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else when visiting Durham.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harps345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Great central location in city centre a short walk to the Cathedral and other attractions. Off street parking but charged per night. Deluxe room located a long way from reception/bar/restaurant but lift provided. Bedroom well appointed to usual high standard of Marriott brand.Menu in Market Kitchen was adequate and service good.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank macham162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews