We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott Hotels
US$124
View deal
Booking.comUS$124
Expedia.comUS$123
TripadvisorUS$123
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$123
PricelineUS$124
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveller rating
637
712
372
166
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
637
712
372
166
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park leisure club upgraded to a suite the river leisure centre excellent location per night central location reception staff buffet style breakfast was excellent town centre lovely room cathedral england
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel fairly last minute for our one year anniversary. When we arrived the room was ready nice and early.
The room was clean, spacious and was actually for a cooperate looking hotel very nice.
The bathroom was also clean with toiletries and a nice walk in shower- questionable water pressure but nice and modern all the same.
The hotel area was nice and clean and modern with friendly staff. The bar area was also nice and clean. The spa area was fairly old and busy with few loungers but a nice big pool. It’s not relaxing but nice to do on a rainy day like it was.
The bar area on the evening was full of a rowdy group who were swearing and it was awful as there was children about. Durham has become quite a party city and the hotel was included.
Breakfast the next day was truly terrible to the point where I didn’t eat at all. The cheese was sweaty and off, so I didn’t hold much hope for the yoghurt. The cooked breakfast was greasy and poor quality- my partner ate as was hungry but he said he wished he hadn’t eaten it at all. Very disappointing. The staff in the restaurant weren’t very helpful either when asking for the menu that was at the bar to choose form but brought me a different one altogether - so got food at home. Probably wouldn’t go back, and if i went to Durham it stay somewhere else

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyndseyb22bolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion15213501872, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on a forum such as trip advisor. Firstly, thank you for your kind comments about the bedroom and that you were able to check in nice and early and enjoy Durham. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered from the bar area and the poor breakfast you received. Your comments have been forwarded to our Food and Beverage manager so that a full investigation can be given and further training put in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

Brilliant hotel for us on a weekend visit to Durham. Perfectly located by the river with only a short walk to the town.

Breakfast was fab with everything you could want. Room fabulous staff very helpful will definitely be visiting again.

Tina Sheffield

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

After staying here three years ago, this hotel becomes my home in Durham. Location is central in town. All of their staff are friendly and super helpful. Although my double room was not big, but cozy, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was of high quality. Evening wine in the lobby was a nice touch. Special thanks to the restaurant team Jean, Carol, Ellen .. housekeeper Julie and front desk Martin ( and another young lady whom I forgot her name ). You all are amazing ! This June in Durham was exceptionally cold but your attentiveness and smiles made my three weeks stay unforgettable !

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Covent_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

Staying in the Marriott was a privilege. The staff were so friendly. The room and leisure centre were superb. Great choice for breakfast.
Don’t book an Uber car from the station. Well known for not turning up and still charging you. Good local taxis.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ag00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed for business. Check in was easy, VERY friendly receptionist explained where everything was and also recommended places in Durham. In fact all staff were friendly.

Stayed in a room quite far from reception, but it was worth a walk. Recently refurbished the room was well sized and the bathroom was lovely!
Everything was spotless.

Even provided a fan without being asked!

Breakfast was great with wide variety for everyone.

Would definitely stay again and will recommend to colleagues who travel regularly.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank LJ676_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews