We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

great location but dissapointed with hotel.a bit shabby could certainly do with an upgrade.the room we stayed in had a kingsize bed with a double mattress on it .which i must say you could feel every spring.the breakfast is an other area that needs looking at .i have never had such thin toast before.no bath mat surely that's a health and safety issue

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
I acknowledge the hotel requires some upgrading and this is in discussion with the owners at the present. Thank you for taking the time to pass on these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    72
    46
    27
See reviews for
24
112
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed her for one night in April 2011. The hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Durham and a small car park which is free to use.
The rooms however are dull and dreary with tired furniture and in desperate need of a refurb. The breakfast was very limited and reminded us of Fawlty Towers!
Ok for somewhere cheap for one night but certainly not enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muaa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass of your comments. I agree some of the rooms require refurbishment and this is being considered by the owners. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

OK, split this hotel in to three. From the front - ugly, nothing to write home about at all, main road, grubby (traffic dirt) and in need of paint.

The bad - upstairs.....OK it is a mass of corridors like a fun house at the fair and our room though VERY well equipped with bath, shower, fridge, chairs etc was a bit 60's and had seen better days. The bathroom was in need of love but it all worked. The TV was 1980 and the remote was missing and channel 4 was missing some of the time (!). The fridge was welcome and the tea tray was fine.

The Good - downstairs - really really nice, had been refurbished about 10 years ago and was wearing well, nice public areas with character. The staff were all great and the food was really really nice.

BUT there is an even better bit. We got this through superbreaks and the price was so good I had to check and check and check again, £105 each for two night bed breakfast AND evening meal INCLUDING return train fare to London - I am sorry but this has to be the best bargain EVER.

Would I go again - YOU BET

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watfordpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
We are pleased you had a good visit and thank you for taking the time to express these views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

It was some trepidation that we booked this hotel due to very mixed reviews. We were greeted with a smile at reception and were allocated comfortable, clean rooms. (Our friends were given a room with a three piece suite and a massive double bed!) The hotel was smart, plenty of comfortable seating around reception and bar area. Food was good and served with a smile and very nice staff. The situation is on a busy road so if this will bother you just ask for rooms at the back. I really cant fault this hotel for value for money, five minutes walk from the city centre and, comfort. Yes, you could spend double the money and not have the rather tired furnishings and decor. Everyone that we spoke to at the hotel was very pleased with it too. Stay there and enjoy beautiful Durham City as we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, U.K
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

The Three Tuns Hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in The rooms are DIRTY dated and very unkept. Our room had 3 broken light bulbs, wallpaper hanging from the ceiling and the towels had holes in. Who gave this hotel 3 stars??? The Breakfast was awful. Would never use this hotel or chain again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaCoventry_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I am a returning guest of the 3 Tuns and have never been disappointed. Great value for money at £40 per night and right in the centre of Durham WITH parking facilities. Rooms are large, airy and charming and the beds are comfortable. Staff are efficient and welcoming. Restaurant was busy and food good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
I am glad you found the hotel satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were staying on a 3 night liesure trip. The hotel is really good value for the city centre but there are issues. Rooms and hotel decor are very run down. The hotel is also on the main road from the city centre to university campus so at 2am when the clubs 'turn-out' it gets noisey (this is not the fault of the hotel but its worth thinking about). The big problem with this hotel is the food. Breakfast consists of a choice of cereals, a few yogurts and a cooked breakfast. If you prefer something lighter or continental then you will be disappointed. Noy a piece of fruit in sight. Chioces in the evening hardly changed. Choice of 3 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts but desserts were the same on 2 nights with only one change of starters and mains. I distrust menus that have 101 choices. So when I see a small menu I generally expect that the kitchen is concentrating on making a small choice but really good food. Sorry to say that the food here is awful. I cannot stress enoguh that you need to avoid eating at this hotel. EG. I had 'haddock in a crispy coating.' It was a piece of supermarket bought fish in batter that was then even of very poor quality. The vegatables were stewed to a pulp! In this day and age, serving this type and quality of food is inexcusable. During our stay I know that there were a young couple planning their wedding.....I can only hope that they think very carefully before having their 'big day' at this hotel. At least check the menu and who will be cooking it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsjamesds271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Please accept my apologies for the problems surrounding the meals. This is being taken up with those concerned as they did not deliver the product you correctly expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Property: Three Tuns Hotel
Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing