We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Unfortunately this hotel sufferred from my stay in a top class B&B on the previous two nights at £10 per day cheaper and a far far superior stay in every way. Check in was straight forward (so i thought), having been directed to my room, i was surprised at the large twin room - i had booked into a single room. I went back to reception and asked if they realised this and was told yes, about 1/2hr later reception called me and asked me if i realised i should not be in there? and would need to move the next day - they did relent and allowed me to stay for the duration. As everyone says it does require a refurbishement, at first glance it looked okay, but very quickly the pealing paint and stained worn carpets become apparent, although it was clean. The TV was a gigantic relic from the 80s, only four channels and the reception was awful. The breakfast was good and the staff were efficient and friendly. There was no information of any kind in the room, I had to ask about Wi-Fi, which is available in the reception area at a cost of £2.99 for 1/2 hr - I thought this was ridiculous, dont bother go to the libary a few minutes walk away and get internet access for free. As i said my stay in the B&B (Fleatham House in St Bees) was far superior in everyway and in comparison this hotel was not worth paying half the price i paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you taking the time to pass on your opinions.
I am pleased the food and staff reached expectation and take on board your comments as regards refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    72
    46
    27
See reviews for
24
112
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

what tasty food! ... and lovely staff great hotel right in the centre just a shame on the decor, hope swallow revamp it because it's got huge potential really enjoyed our stay..
andy

Room Tip: executive rooms a must for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for your positive comments , most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed at the Three Tuns recently with my husband and my brother and his partner. Both rooms that we had were great. They were very large and extremely comfortable. The hotel is right in the centre of the city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, quite enough for u and was served up to 10 am so no rushing about in the morning. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel has the potential to be fabulous -interesting , quirky . Needs a makeover -themed - single colour scheme -one pattern throughout Art that's reflects Durham etc

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
I agree with your observations and thank you for taking the time to post them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed for one night in comfortable room. We arrived early and had coffee in the bar while waiting for our room. The bathroom was in need of renovation but we were fairly happy with it. Enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

On arrival was met by friendly receptionist, and as we were early, we were able to leae our luggage until later. The general decor is tired, make that very tired. The communal areas, although comfy and reasonably clean are really in need of an update.
Our room, generous in its size, had most things you would expect, wardrobe, hairdrier, tv etc... The bathroom wasn't really up to the task.....grotty. broken tiles, huge lumps of silicon sealant holding everything together, and in need of a damned good scrubbing.
Bed was huuuuge, and the bedding clean, and as a fussy sleeper, even I had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast choice, for the size of the hotel, was very limited. Having chosen the full English, I was disappointed to be served a greasy plate of inedible rubbish.
The one redeeming factor to our stay was the location, which is nigh on perfect for exploring this wonderful city.
So all in all, the beauty of Durham didn't disappoint, but this shabby, run down hotel did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
I am pleased the staff were friendly and that the town did not disappoint .I agree the hotel would benefit from some investment and thank you for taking the time to pass on your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Stockton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just had 2 days,here and read some horror stories on here,but i enjoyed my stay,location is great,nice clean room(210) friendly staff,breakfest was just right.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metaltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the team to post these kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Property: Three Tuns Hotel
Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing