We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent food and friendly staff "”
Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"Excellent food and friendly staff "”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just had a bargain 3 night break over Easter weekend staff helpful and friendly the food excellent for the price good choice on menu and was different each night, great breakfast too .The room was huge and a massive bathroom,the furnishings were a bit old fashioned but room was clean, warm and beds comfortable.Location of hotel was great with shops near and not far from Cathedral and castle.We travelled by train and walked from station to hotel about 20 min but there were taxis .Also plenty buses around the town with a stop right outside hotel.We visited the Botanic gardens which was only 20 min walk from hotel,very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience at the hotel . Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    72
    46
    27
See reviews for
24
112
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the 3 Tuns on thurs 5th April,we were very pleasantly surprised at this lovely old hotel.We found it to be lovely and warm and cosy,(most old hotels are FREEZING) the food and service were extremely good,we had a 3 course evening meal with a bottle of wine, which was delicious,and full english breakfast all for £63 amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed with friends at this hotel on a one night deal on 15th March and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor were rather concerned at making the booking, and very nearly cancelled, but were pleasantly surprised at what we experienced. On entering the hotel the gentleman receptionist was very pleasant, friendly and made us feel very welcome. Yes, I agree, it is an old hotel which could do with some attention and refurbishment, but we found everywhere very clean. Our rooms and bathrooms were huge with king size beds which were very comfortable with lovely bedding. There was tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer and T.V. sofa, armchair & coffee table, dressing table and wardrobe with lots of hanging space for anyone staying for longer periods.
We could not fault our 3 course evening meal from which we had a choice of menu also the breakfast was very enjoyable which was cooked on request. Restaurant staff were very pleasant and friendly at both meals also the bar waiter who was originally from Cyprus made time to have a chat with us in the bar lounge after our meal.
Our room was on the front of the hotel which was very noisy from traffic, but didn't upset us too much when only for one night, on visiting again we would request a room at the back of the hotel, but having a lovely room made up for the noisy traffic.
The hotel is perfectly situated for all the amenities of Durham.
After reading the other reviews of this hotel where guests were very unhappy and had many complaints, perhaps our friends and ourselves were just fortunate to experience our enjoyable one night stay at the Three Tuns Hotel, but realise that every hotel we stay at will have some downside which often can be sorted or overlooked if it is not too major. We were pleased that we did not cancel and will certainly go back when they advertise another good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have a lot of noise from constant traffic. request a quiet room if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and I will pass on your comments to the team.Thank you for taking the time to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked an overnight stay with dinner and although we arrived early on Thursday (1pm) we were met by a very pleasant man on reception who told us our room was ready and in fact we'd been upgraded to an executive room. The room was huge and very clean, Although this room was in need of refurbishment I would say this was most apparent in the bathroom. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in with beautiful white sheets and duvet cover. The 3 course meal was very good as was the breakfast on Friday morning and to us that was more important than the fact that the carpets were shabby in places.
The building is 16th century and is fascinating with loads of original features such as a stained glass ceiling, fantastic wood panelling in the dining room and oak beams everywhere.
The final thing that would make us return was that every single member of staff from the reception, the restaurant, the wine waiter to the girl cleaning the rooms was so friendly and in our book that makes a big difference to how you enjoy your experience.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping with any noise, ask for a room at the back which are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanCrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to place a very positive experience at the hotel. I will pass this on to the team and once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great location very near city centre. Pleasant walking route (mostly traffic-free) to city Centre, Castle & Cathedral. Slight downside as hotel is on busy road, but we coped with the street noise and our window overlooked the bus stop.

Room was big, comfortable, with the statutory squeaky floor of an old inn. Plain furnishings, odd shower and toilet, but it all worked. Hotel is on many levels, often only 1 or 2 steps different in level. This is a remnant from the inn early days and the place is full of character and interest. Fair to say that quite a lot of the fabric is tired, bordering on shabby. But - you get what you pay for and you get a bargain here.

Food is served in Browns restaurant which is integral to the hotel. Set menu gives a choice of three items for each course. Every one was a delight. Food is well above the *** grade for this hotel. Staff were helpful, wine inexpensive.

All in all Everything is 4* except for the building itself; but that didn't spoil our 3 days here. Well done, thanks.

PRICES - Rack rate quite expensive for the quality and facilities, but hotel offers bargain breaks either direct or through EasyBreaks.com. This is the value option.

Room Tip: No lift and quirky corridors. Go for first floor room but avoid overlooking the busy main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbaygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Many thanks for your positive review.I'll pass on your observations to the team and we look forward to being of future service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was our second visit to this very old hotel so we knew what to expect. This is NOT the hotel for you if you are going to be upset by faded wallpaper, ancient plumbing BUT if you want to stay in a place steped with history and right in the centre of Durham at a very low cost, then this is for you. Many of the rooms have been updated with new carpet and flat screen television. The rooms are HUGE and even although they overlook a busy street the noise isn't too bad considering this is a university town and there are several bars nearby. The lock on the door of the room we were first given was faulty so we were quickly offered a choice of two other rooms. The one we chose hadn't been upgraded but was still of a good standard with a huge bathroom - complete with a floor level bay window with a good view of passing traffic - and vice versa if you didn't pull the curtains!! I just love the feel of the place - old antique furniture, ancient carvings and rooms dotted around up and down various little stairways. There's even an area which has a partially completed jigsaw thatit's very hard to pass without trying to add a piece or two! Another advantage is it has its own provate parking area through an archway off the main street.
Besides its wonderful position and history, the best thing about this hotel is its food - absolutely superb! It's worth paying the overnight charge just for this and the breakfast! The only downside really? - the bed was so hard it was uncmfortable but for two nights we survived.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the hotel . We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We arrived on Saturday evening place looked run down. not shown to room had to put parking permit in car why? surely by looking through register they can see which cars belong to customers!
The room at first appeared alright water stains on the ceiling and peeling paper, the floorboards noisy when anybody walked along the corridor outside the room woke us up!
Television out of the ark large CRT with very poor picture on a table could not view from bed, requires replacing with modern flat screen mounted on wall.
Bed linen very nice white & crisp mattress had broken spring making it uncomfortable.
Breakfast don't bother although we arrived at 8.00 for breakfast the cooked breakfast was already wrecked the bacon was dried out, sausages burnt on one side scrambled egg all separated. Why they could not have cooked all the breakfast to order it just shows poor standards of service and I don't think the quality of the ingredients were up to value standard of most supermarkets. There was a piece of bacon on floor next to the table from the previous day.
Hotel well past its sell by date avoid at all cost!
The Hotel requires financial investment from Swallow or to close

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to describe your experiences. Due to the anonymity of Trip Advisor you have the advantage of me as regards looking into the matter in the necessary detail.If you require a detailed response please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Property: Three Tuns Hotel
Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing