We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast, room ok, shame about the bathroom”
Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Staff were lovely, breakfast was good, room was average but the bathroom was awful. Couldn't bring myself to use the shower - it seemed clean but it was so shabby and dated and there was a faint smell of damp. It's a nice building and entrance but the rooms badly need a makeover. The bedroom was large and the bedding immaculate but more than shabby chic as far as furniture and wallpaper. The carpet and wallpaper in the corridor was tatty and it's a shame as it could be lovely with a facelift (mind you, so could I) We'd got a last minute deal on the net for about £55 so I wasn't too fussed but if I'd paid more I'd have felt very cheated.We had a good time out in Durham and it was nice not to have to drive home so it made a night of it, shame it wasn't more of an 'experience'. If it had been nicer I'd stay more often but don't think I'll stay there again even at that price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for the positive comments as regards the team and value. I acknowledge the hotel could do with some investment and thank you for taking the time to use Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very friendly and efficient hotel staff. Rooms very clean, well worth the money we paid. The meals were excellent and the chief "brilliant".
Well situated in the centre.. Would return.

Room Tip: Try for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive comment and I will pass on your comments to the chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights 4 - 6th June 2012. It was a comfortable enough hotel while being very basic. Our room would have had a great view of Durham Cathedral if it was not for the crinkle glass windows. Being in a room looking overthe road, it was very nosiy on a Friday/Saturday night withthe emergancy services hurrying up and down most of the early hours. The room was clean but the bathroom was past its best. The breakfasts were ok. Overall I think the hotel needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to standard. The corridors are long and the stairs can be tiresome for those not fully fit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

I agree the hotel could do with a little investment and I know this is being looked at by the owners. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

just returned from a night to stay with my parner who is working up there so i booked a room to see him. had the worst nights sleep.the location is good for access into town but.our room was directly over a VERY busy road, when the traffic noise slowed (early hours!) then the drunks shouting and creating woke us. maybe double glazing could help. if you like cereals then breakfast is ok but the cooked breakfast was appalling. the "hand held shower" was a joke!! the water was either scalding hot or freezing...no inbetween. can't imagine when the fridge in our room was cleaned/defrosted but the 2inch layer of ice inside totally put us off putting anything in it!! if you like cheap and cheerful it's ok but take earplugs!!!wouldn't recommend it

Room Tip: ?don't know if there are quieter rooms not over the road. we had 225 and the three flights of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janhlarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am sorry your nights were disturbed.I assume you asked if we had a room at the other side of ther hotel,as this would have helped with the noise.
Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just had a bargain 3 night break over Easter weekend staff helpful and friendly the food excellent for the price good choice on menu and was different each night, great breakfast too .The room was huge and a massive bathroom,the furnishings were a bit old fashioned but room was clean, warm and beds comfortable.Location of hotel was great with shops near and not far from Cathedral and castle.We travelled by train and walked from station to hotel about 20 min but there were taxis .Also plenty buses around the town with a stop right outside hotel.We visited the Botanic gardens which was only 20 min walk from hotel,very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience at the hotel . Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the 3 Tuns on thurs 5th April,we were very pleasantly surprised at this lovely old hotel.We found it to be lovely and warm and cosy,(most old hotels are FREEZING) the food and service were extremely good,we had a 3 course evening meal with a bottle of wine, which was delicious,and full english breakfast all for £63 amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed with friends at this hotel on a one night deal on 15th March and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor were rather concerned at making the booking, and very nearly cancelled, but were pleasantly surprised at what we experienced. On entering the hotel the gentleman receptionist was very pleasant, friendly and made us feel very welcome. Yes, I agree, it is an old hotel which could do with some attention and refurbishment, but we found everywhere very clean. Our rooms and bathrooms were huge with king size beds which were very comfortable with lovely bedding. There was tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer and T.V. sofa, armchair & coffee table, dressing table and wardrobe with lots of hanging space for anyone staying for longer periods.
We could not fault our 3 course evening meal from which we had a choice of menu also the breakfast was very enjoyable which was cooked on request. Restaurant staff were very pleasant and friendly at both meals also the bar waiter who was originally from Cyprus made time to have a chat with us in the bar lounge after our meal.
Our room was on the front of the hotel which was very noisy from traffic, but didn't upset us too much when only for one night, on visiting again we would request a room at the back of the hotel, but having a lovely room made up for the noisy traffic.
The hotel is perfectly situated for all the amenities of Durham.
After reading the other reviews of this hotel where guests were very unhappy and had many complaints, perhaps our friends and ourselves were just fortunate to experience our enjoyable one night stay at the Three Tuns Hotel, but realise that every hotel we stay at will have some downside which often can be sorted or overlooked if it is not too major. We were pleased that we did not cancel and will certainly go back when they advertise another good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have a lot of noise from constant traffic. request a quiet room if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and I will pass on your comments to the team.Thank you for taking the time to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing