We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim and Depressing”
Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel has seen better days, and I think they were a very long time ago. Everything in the hotel is dirty, worn out or just of very poor quality. The carpets are threadbare, held together with tape, the furniture in the bedrooms is 1970s MFI-type quality, the towels are as thin as tissue paper (OK, slight exaggeration). The bathroom had the most awful musty damp smell and is in need of serious refurbishment. The bed was lumpy, soft and very unfomfortable. Old fashioned TV which was impossible to watch from the bed. We accepted that the room would be very noisy as it is situated on a main road, but we didn't expect the room to be so hot and stuffy that we would need to have the windows open, thus ensuring we were awake for most of the night listening to traffic, drunken students, emergency vehicles and then the dustmen in the morning. The public rooms do have a faded charm, but only barely. Yes, the hotel is in a good location, but if I were you, I would either splash out and stay at the Marriott next door or stay in the city centre Premier Inn, which is probably only a few more minutes walk away from the cathedral, castle etc. Breakfast was OK, really nothing special. Best thing about this hotel was the staff, who were cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

I am sorry you had a disappointing stay and acknowledge the hotel would benefit from investment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

I paid £55 for a single room, including breakfast, city centre parking and nectar points, which was cheaper than any of the local B&Bs or guest houses so my expectations were minimal and predictably, it’s not the Ritz! However, my room was clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was perfect!

My room overlooked the rear car park and had a 1970s retro, “shabby chic” feel, whereas downstairs was all oak beams, huge fire places and a real atmospheric, if slightly faded, historical feel. You really know that you in a 16th century listed building, part of fabric of Durham itself. By way of contrast, the chain motels now buy their rooms from China prefabricated in containers and put them together like a Lego kit. Such buildings will never develop charm or character and within a generation we will have forgotten that we ever had a choice – unless we make the effort to stay in places like the Three Tuns and enjoy them for what they are rather than complain about what they are not!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room if you want to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

A great and thoughtful description of where hospitality is heading and that there is still a place for hotel's like the Tuns. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Was visiting Durham for the Durham Blues Festival, the hotel was within throwing distance of the venue, the hotel itself was a lovely, old worldy, it was clean and spacious, the staff were very helpful and very curtious, the only little complain i have was the bathroom, was very outdated and needs a little money spend on it...... but as i said it was clean and thats was the main thing .Breakfast was very good, you had all the usual cerals, and toast, but the Full English was really really nice, just want you need after a night on the drink...... .. we are planing to visit Durham again next year for the Blues fest, and we will be planing on staying at Three Tuns again....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Having just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel we are disappointed our son had his wedding reception there 9 years ago and I am afraid standards have since slipped considerably. Although the room was spacious the bathroom was dated and with mould all over the bath seal , the toilet would not flush although this was repaired quickly we were kept awake most of the night with people from the hotels Elvet suite function room and also other guests banging on doors in the coridoor. The breakfast room was dated with worn out carpets and breakfast itself very poor 1 sausage and 1 bacon rasher no black pudding as they had run out . On the whole we will not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayandjulie_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

I am sorry to hear of the problems encountered on your recent visit.It is Graduation month and the town does become very lively during this period,hence the noise.I acknowledge the hotel could benefit from investment and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It can’t be easy to remain enthusiastic when you know that the hotel group for which you work is in administration and money is always tight so there’s no cash to make much-needed improvements that would undoubtedly influence customer-perception of both the business and your efforts. Yet, somehow, the staff at The Three Tuns in Durham seem to remain remarkably upbeat. I’d even go so far as to say that the team there is one of the most attentive, caring and pleasant it has been my good fortune to meet in recent years. Whatever your views about the hotel itself, it would be hard to fault their efforts to make you feel welcome. On the other hand, there’s a lot you could say about the hotel itself. In parts, it’s now looking quite tired – er, no, very tired - though efforts are currently being made to rectify that. And, yes, some rooms above the main street suffer at night from traffic noise and early-morning revellers.It's the price you pay, I suppose, for a hotel close to the heart of the city We recently stayed there with friends for three days on a cheap-and-cheerful mid-week break and found the rooms we were allocated both clean and spacious - albeit a route march away from Reception. Service in the restaurant was speedy and the meals were better than some we have had at much pricier hotels. Drinks prices, too, were reasonable and the house red quite potable. If there were an area of concern for us, it would have to be the parking arrangements at the hotel which are limited and certainly influenced our daily sightseeing programmes (we felt we had to return reasonably early each day so that we could find a parking space, although we never actually had a problem). All in all, our break represented great value for money. Our hope now is that the staff get an opportunity to see a decent refurb of what is currently an old and weary building but one which, with a professional makeover, could be a brilliant place to stay and to work. They deserve it. . .

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room overlooking the street. At night, you can be disturbed by both traffic and revel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashovercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

I will pass on your kind comments to the team , many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Right in the centre of Durham, with free parking, this hotel was well situated for getting out and seeing the area. Breakfast was the usual continental or full English. There was a choice of three/four dishes in each course for dinner in the evening. These were varied and well presented as well as plentiful. We went to bed feeling stuffed each night.
The staff were eager to please and very pleasant.
The hotel itself was a bit shabby but painting of corridors was in progress. Our room was very large and quiet facing the back. The bathroom was clean but in need of a good overhaul.
We would certainly return and felt it was excellent value for monry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy as it is on a main road next to traffic lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your positive response to your recent visit,many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Staff were lovely, breakfast was good, room was average but the bathroom was awful. Couldn't bring myself to use the shower - it seemed clean but it was so shabby and dated and there was a faint smell of damp. It's a nice building and entrance but the rooms badly need a makeover. The bedroom was large and the bedding immaculate but more than shabby chic as far as furniture and wallpaper. The carpet and wallpaper in the corridor was tatty and it's a shame as it could be lovely with a facelift (mind you, so could I) We'd got a last minute deal on the net for about £55 so I wasn't too fussed but if I'd paid more I'd have felt very cheated.We had a good time out in Durham and it was nice not to have to drive home so it made a night of it, shame it wasn't more of an 'experience'. If it had been nicer I'd stay more often but don't think I'll stay there again even at that price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for the positive comments as regards the team and value. I acknowledge the hotel could do with some investment and thank you for taking the time to use Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing