We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Durham
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Egremont
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a £10 per night deal obtained through the Daily Mirror. The room was large and the bed was comfy, although the pillows were a bit 'lumpy'. We had free Wi-Fi which we managed to connect to quite easily. The hotel is just 7 miles outside Durham and not too much further to the Metro Centre. We didn't eat at the services, we preferred to eat out. We've taken advantage of the £10 per night deal before using other Days Inn hotels and have found the staff at each hotel to be very friendly. Our only complaint is that check in is after 3pm so if you arrive earlier the reception desk is closed so you have to wait for a member of staff (usually a cleaner) to give you your room key.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    86
    48
    23
    12
See reviews for
62
69
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Spent a saturday night there in a family room with my wife and grand-daughter.Lovely large spacious room with free wi-fi and good clean bathroom.Good supply of tea and coffee.Double bed extremely comfortable and the sofa bed large and comfortable.We bought £10 vouchers for £7 for the cafeteria next door.This was a bad choice as the breakfast charge was £15 for two which did not include tea which was about £2 each so my wife and I had to pay extra for a biscuit.The service wasn't that good and food pathetic so avoid the cafeteria at all costs but would recomend the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 693RobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Decided to take advantage of a visit to Durham for a day/night out - [ & Metro Shooping Centre at Newcastle]. Booked a discounted "Daily Mirror / Days Inn " deal last autumn for £10.00 !!

Arrived at Days Inn [ just off A1], at about 1.30pm - a little before "booking in" time, when unfortunately there is no receptionist, but very nice "cleaning staff} took basic details - but not payment- and allowed me in to Room 5 on ground floor.

You may say standard Travelodge / Premier Inn type room and facilities, but they were all very good, with clear and modern tv, tea / coffee making facilties [ with unlimited supplies of tea/coffee etc], tidt & clean bathroom with really hot water, a very good & comfortable bed.

Generally a very good clean room with full facilities & convenient to the A 1 - even if i had paid full price - and a more so a generous bargain at £10.00.

Can by "meal ticket" for £7.50 which is worth £10.00 in value in meals next door at the services centre - did not try - as we ate out in Durham - and were early away next morning.I understand that on this deal children under 10 eat for free - so for a family, i think it offers reasonable value.

Enjoyed 4 hour visit to Durham including "Cathedral", all of which was a very pleasent place, although quite "hilly city centre". Visit to Metro at Newcastle shopping centre was very good, and which i believe is one of the better shopping "malls" in the UK, even if it is one of the earlier ones.

Good trip out

Room Tip: Room 5 is away from car parking view with no road noise , although it is the first room on the corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Excellent value at £25 for the room. Comnfortable and everything you need bearing in mind the price. Would stay again.

Paying £7.50 for a £10.00 voucher for food in the nearby services seems quite good but the choices available in the servcie area are limited and uninspiring.

Setting uip the free wifi is a bit fiddly but got there in the end. Will it remember me when I stay in a Days Inn again ? We'll see.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Close to motorway but I was not disturbed by the sounds of traffic. I only stayed 2 nights but found it very enjoyable, having two locals on check inn was nice, the room was clean and warm with a standard but clean bathroom. In my room I had a telly with rea/coffee making facilities which does me really. I would use again , my only gripe was the cost as in reality I could get a hotel for the same if not cheaper price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spookylabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed here for a few days, really friendly staff but there was an issue with the hot water and we couldn't have a bath or shower for 2 days. Room clean but a little tired looking. Got a cheap deal and I would have been demading money back if I'd paid full rack rate for no hot water. About a 15 minute drive into Durham city centre. Use the park and ride as a good service. Restaurant in service station was extortionate. Went to the Poachers where the portions were huge but so was the barmaid's attitude towards us. We were made to feel most un-welcome (obviously because we weren't local - like being in Royston Vasey).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bride2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Standard Days Inn accomadation, the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. The room was a reasonable size with a double bed and a sofa bed . Bath with overhead shower ( not power) but adequate. Flat screen TV with freeview challenges, free WIFI which is more than you get in some expensive hotels. Tea and coffee facilities.
Located about 3/4 miles outside Durham in a service area, directly off the A1.
Really can't find anything to complain about, Days Inn offer good clean budget accomadation you basically get what you pay for .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Durham

Property: Days Inn Durham
Address: Tursdale Road | Roadchef Motorway Service Area, Durham DH6 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Durham 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing