We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and lovely staff”
Review of Days Inn Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Durham
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place and lovely staff”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My family and I have stayed here countless times over the years, starting when it was owned by another company (either Travel Lodge or Premier Inn, I can't remember which) and carrying on through the change in management. The welcome is always very warm, the staff are always lovely, the rooms are always comfortable and clean- overall it's just a really nice place to stay. Where it's part of a service station there's even food and drink about thirty seconds from the door of the hotel. Every time I've been there the people who clean the rooms/make the beds have always tucked my teddy in when they clean! It's just a nice and caring bit of attention to detail that they don't need to do.

I would recommend this to anyone who's going to stay at Durham. However, this is in Durham services, so I should point out that you need a car to be able to get into Durham City.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    88
    48
    25
    12
See reviews for
64
71
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I found this hotel on my phone on a Sunday morning in a supermarket carpark in Stanley. We were travelling from Glasgow to France and had developed mechanical troubles and needed a place to overnight. We booked it at £25 although couldn't print anything obviously.
We turned up at about 1200 - too early for check in - and just sat in the 2 chairs in the small lobby. Quite happy. After a while the cleaners noticed us and asked about our res. but as we were a very late booking they had no details. We were happy to wait until the desk opened at 1500 but they very nicely allocated us a ground floor room and let us in.
Thankyou so much ladies!!!
We later talked to Craig at reception and filled in the forms etc.
The room was spacious with a sofa bed as well as a comfy double and very clean. The shower was an over bath and had good pressure.
I thought that it was a nice friendly place to stay and would stay there again. I wasn't so keen on the food options - McDonalds - but at least we could eat and the WH Smiths was 24 hrs, I don't remember if the McD was. We were told that there were more eating options a short drive away but as our transport was knackered that wasn't possible.
I liked this place and the way we were treated as unexpected guests and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a good overnight/short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at this motel on the A1 at J61 on our recent trip to the GNR. It is ideal for a night stop, no frills but a reasonable clean bed and 15 mins from Durham. The bedroom and bathroom were not spotless and the carpet looked very shabby all very typical of motorway inns. The shower head fell apart but kept working! I couldn't connect to wi-fi and eventually gave up. Only one member of staff in reception and she looked under pressure with several issues at a busy time so I decided she did not need another one. The Inn is with a Roadchef which included McDonalds, Costa, and a WH Smith. We paid a lot for this room probably because it was Great North Run weekend and to be honest it was not value for money. I certianly would not stay there again at the rate we paid but maybe for a better deal.

Room Tip: Our room was motorway side so there was constant road noise. Maybe the car park side would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Its now the second time I have stayed at the Days Inn at Bowburn on the A1 just outside the beautiful City of Durham. A pleasant comfortable friendly motel with decent facilities in the rooms, staffed by locals whom are always happy to help and direct. The only negative thing I could say is that the rooms are all white matt paint which often leaves them open to grubby marks, this can't be helped of course, especially when kids are staying. I think maybe a pastal shade of green or lavender in the rooms would eliminate this minor issue. I will stay there again next time I head up to this beautiful city,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT-Pattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Having pre-booked and pre-paid for a family room for three to take our daughter to the Durham University Open Day we arrived to find no sheets on the sofa bed. When asked the Receptionist told me they had run out as it was busy and she had just given the last quilt away. She then blamed their booking system for not tlling them I had booked for three despite my having clear email confirmation. After expressing my concern I was told I could have a discounted breakfast! I declined and asked for a full refund, which to be fair she immediately gave me. We left to eat in Durham and on our return bedding had been found, though we still only had towels for two. This was less of a problem than it may have been as the shower only expressed water from two small jets either side of a multi-jet shower head at a trickle and it was actually very difficult to get wet at all.
On reflection even with a full refund this was not a place I would recommend for anyone to stay. I have emailed my comments to Head Office and am eagerly awaiting a response to how a hotel can run out of sheets for pre-booked rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 19. Would suggest this is avoided at all costs if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trythealea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Egremont
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a £10 per night deal obtained through the Daily Mirror. The room was large and the bed was comfy, although the pillows were a bit 'lumpy'. We had free Wi-Fi which we managed to connect to quite easily. The hotel is just 7 miles outside Durham and not too much further to the Metro Centre. We didn't eat at the services, we preferred to eat out. We've taken advantage of the £10 per night deal before using other Days Inn hotels and have found the staff at each hotel to be very friendly. Our only complaint is that check in is after 3pm so if you arrive earlier the reception desk is closed so you have to wait for a member of staff (usually a cleaner) to give you your room key.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Spent a saturday night there in a family room with my wife and grand-daughter.Lovely large spacious room with free wi-fi and good clean bathroom.Good supply of tea and coffee.Double bed extremely comfortable and the sofa bed large and comfortable.We bought £10 vouchers for £7 for the cafeteria next door.This was a bad choice as the breakfast charge was £15 for two which did not include tea which was about £2 each so my wife and I had to pay extra for a biscuit.The service wasn't that good and food pathetic so avoid the cafeteria at all costs but would recomend the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 693RobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Durham

Property: Days Inn Durham
Address: Tursdale Road | Roadchef Motorway Service Area, Durham DH6 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Durham 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing